R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-05-2010, 04:42 PM   #11791
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

How are the Tekin Redline motors holding up against the others at the moment?
__________________
Houston,Texas
Serpent 733 EVO
Mikes Hobby shop-Porter Texas/ Gulf coast Raceway"Electric Is For Hairdryers"..Eric Koger
Chris [email protected]
Tha Skinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 05:59 PM   #11792
Tech Elite
 
JPMSRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lost in the Dead Space between my Ears Somewhere around Wamego, KS (OZ Land)
Posts: 3,518
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
Randy posted this about the time 203 came out.
May help the follks new to RS
I talked to Chris at Tekin today and he explained the ramp rates totally different. That .1 is 10th of a sec, .5 is half a sec, and 1.0 is one sec. That is the elaped time before the full turbo timing setting is maxed out.
__________________
I'm around still!!!
JPMSRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 06:07 PM   #11793
Tech Addict
 
lavaandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: hood river or.
Posts: 591
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Donny Lia View Post
Here is what I used to TQ 10.5 1/12th at the Birds.

Push control - 20
Neutral Width- 10
Brake strength- 100
Timing Boost- 43
Turbo Boost- 7
Delay - .1
Start/End - 4000-8500
Ramp- 3.0
Trinity duo-1, Mid timing
32/78, 1.68" tire

Tried uploading setup sheet but file too big. Any questions let me know
Will try to get my Mod setup on here soon too.
you missed profile thanks
__________________
Team Timezone www.Timezoneracing.com Team CRC, Mukune designs
lavaandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 06:26 PM   #11794
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPMSRacing View Post
I talked to Chris at Tekin today and he explained the ramp rates totally different. That .1 is 10th of a sec, .5 is half a sec, and 1.0 is one sec. That is the elaped time before the full turbo timing setting is maxed out.
ramp 1 will take 1 sec to achieve full turbo
ramp 2 will take 1/2 sec or .5 tenths to achieve full turbo
ramp 3 will take 1 1/2 time faster or .3 tenths (est)to reach full turbo

ramp 1 is 2 deg every tenths
ramp 2 is 4 deg ll ll
ramp 3 is 6 deg ll ll
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 06:27 PM   #11795
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tha Skinny View Post
How are the Tekin Redline motors holding up against the others at the moment?
just fine,i wont run anything else
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 06:36 PM   #11796
Tech Elite
 
JPMSRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lost in the Dead Space between my Ears Somewhere around Wamego, KS (OZ Land)
Posts: 3,518
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
ramp 1 will take 1 sec to achieve full turbo
ramp 2 will take 1/2 sec or .5 tenths to achieve full turbo
ramp 3 will take 1 1/2 time faster or .3 tenths (est)to reach full turbo

ramp 1 is 2 deg every tenths
ramp 2 is 4 deg ll ll
ramp 3 is 6 deg ll ll
Maybe I am missing something, are yal looking at the esc or the time you acually type in on hotwire?
__________________
I'm around still!!!
JPMSRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 06:40 PM   #11797
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

what do you mean by time
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 06:48 PM   #11798
Tech Elite
 
JPMSRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lost in the Dead Space between my Ears Somewhere around Wamego, KS (OZ Land)
Posts: 3,518
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
what do you mean by time
When in sensored mode, on the bottom right there is a place to type in the time for the turbo ramp. This is also the newest version of software. Chris at Tekin explained it very well, but on the forum I dont really know how to explain because I was looking at it when he was explaining it to me.
__________________
I'm around still!!!
JPMSRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 06:54 PM   #11799
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

i know what you mean its hard to explain something in writing,i don't really know how to answer i think my post explains how the rates work
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 06:57 PM   #11800
Tech Elite
 
JPMSRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lost in the Dead Space between my Ears Somewhere around Wamego, KS (OZ Land)
Posts: 3,518
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I do have a question why from a stop if you ease into the throttle really slow the motor chatters and makes bad noises before the motor actually takes off. I am sure its a Novak motor sensor problem because I have seen the same thing using the GTB. I just dont know how to correct it. Any ideas out there??
__________________
I'm around still!!!
JPMSRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 07:05 PM   #11801
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

it soulds like a cog,if you roll the drive train and watch 5,6,7 led they should flicker if they dont you have a bad sensor wire or bad sensor on the motor
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 07:19 PM   #11802
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPMSRacing View Post
I talked to Chris at Tekin today and he explained the ramp rates totally different. That .1 is 10th of a sec, .5 is half a sec, and 1.0 is one sec. That is the elaped time before the full turbo timing setting is maxed out.
I believe you misunderstood him. The delay time for turbo is like you've got it written.

However ramp rate is the rate at which the turbo timing is applied:

ramp 1 will take 1 sec to achieve full turbo
ramp 2 will take 1/2 sec or .5 tenths to achieve full turbo
ramp 3 will take 1 1/2 time faster or .3 tenths to reach full turbo

20 Smoke had it right!
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 07:20 PM   #11803
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPMSRacing View Post
I do have a question why from a stop if you ease into the throttle really slow the motor chatters and makes bad noises before the motor actually takes off. I am sure its a Novak motor sensor problem because I have seen the same thing using the GTB. I just dont know how to correct it. Any ideas out there??
This could also mean your start and end rpm aren't set properly.

What motor in what car?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 09:23 PM   #11804
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPMSRacing View Post
I do have a question why from a stop if you ease into the throttle really slow the motor chatters and makes bad noises before the motor actually takes off. I am sure its a Novak motor sensor problem because I have seen the same thing using the GTB. I just dont know how to correct it. Any ideas out there??
just after intalling v203, i had a motor that would 'chatter' under certain conditions and then be fine. it turned out to be the solder connection between the stator coil and power bars. when i removed the cover on the sensor side i touched the bar and it felt 'loose'.
apparently after several collisions the solder joint had been weakened? a local motor guru offered to resolder it for me with high temp solder. i had already redone it with whatever i had laying about, but will definitely take him up on the offer if the problem reoccurs.
__________________
Tony Shimko

Last edited by Kraig; 02-05-2010 at 10:07 PM. Reason: fixed so Randy doesn't get a headache. :)
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 10:02 PM   #11805
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Please don't post that you have V204, that's not possible since it doesn't exsist...

You will start utter Chaos! LOL
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:57 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net