R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2010, 01:37 PM   #11716
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
We are going to replace the throttle profiles on the unit with Timing profiles. This allows most to pick the high profiles for spec motors and low profiles for mod motors and just work on gearing.
Will this include a spec non-timed profile like for VTA and other classes that restrict electronic timing?
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 01:44 PM   #11717
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 1,853
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post

We are going to replace the throttle profiles on the unit with Timing profiles. This allows most to pick the high profiles for spec motors and low profiles for mod motors and just work on gearing.

We also plan to make easy buttons in the hotwire for 1S and 2S for each wind. We are still learning what those setups should be.

We ship the units with version 183 which is safe and has no timing advance abilities. They have to come get the higher versions so we have a chance to make sure they realize you need to drop a lot of gears with increased timing.

Because it is so adjustable you will see some unique setups while we are still learning. Boost and Turbo are completely independent settings, but can be used together in many unique combinations.

Our drivers are pushing the limits to find it all, but for most a basic setup is going to be fine. Unless you are you are as good as Donny Lia, Shreff or Cuffs you should just concentrate on your car and driving and not overcomplicate things. These boys squeeze inches out of the line while most of us are scrubbing and adding feet to the line.

Congrats to all the Tekin Drivers and thank you for helping us get here!

Tekin Prez
WOW! Easy buttons! Now I have a chance!!!!! Thanks Jim. This is just the news I was looking for!
__________________
SMC ( www.smc-racing.com the only place to order your batteries online.), Awesomatix, Gonzo Paints, BN Racing

"Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery."
Advil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 01:46 PM   #11718
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
We are going to replace the throttle profiles on the unit with Timing profiles. This allows most to pick the high profiles for spec motors and low profiles for mod motors and just work on gearing.
Tekin Prez
Does this override the timing boost and rpm ranges?
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 01:53 PM   #11719
Tech Elite
 
motomanpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,181
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
for all tense and purposes, yes they are...if you want to see the actual specs, check the bottom of this page - http://www.teamtekin.com/rs.html

plus the RS is a lower profile speedo then the RS Pro
Thanks but this is about the same response I received last time. Specs are only saying that the on res. is less on the pro????
__________________
POWERED BY CORONA,MARLBORO'S
AND A RC CRACK HABIT
New sponsor YAK SCENT BODY SPRAY(Only the champs use it)
motomanpat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 02:00 PM   #11720
Tech Elite
 
schreff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,015
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to schreff
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by motomanpat View Post
Thanks but this is about the same response I received last time. Specs are only saying that the on res. is less on the pro????
The biggest difference is the number of Fets. The Pro has double the fets the normal RS has... hence why it has no motor limit. While the resistance is lower, you really will see no benefit from a Pro vs. normal RS if you're running higher than a 5.5 BL motor. Both speedos operate identically and feel the same as well. If you can feel a difference in resistance, then you my friend are gifted. We have more battery and motor than we need to worry about that anymore.

Hope that helps.
__________________
-Jason Schreffler-
TLR|Horizon Hobby|Spektrum|AKA|Team CRC|CR Graphics|TQ Wire|Radio Impound Podcast
schreff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 02:01 PM   #11721
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

the couple of times you asked the question, you got the same responses. maybe we are not understanding what you are asking.

the cap you get for both are the same.
the case for the rs pro is different then the rs.
the rs pro has 2 circuit boards, the rs only has 1.
the rs pro has more fets, basically on the second circuit board.
i even believe that the fets are the same.
the solder post are the same.
I believe that the wire harnesses are shared between the 2.
the configuration is the same. basically the foot print and where the wires are soldered and where the sensor ports are.
they share the same firmware
guessing here, but I beleive they share the same processor
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 02:35 PM   #11722
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by motomanpat View Post
Thanks but this is about the same response I received last time. Specs are only saying that the on res. is less on the pro????
A couple others have already responded but here goes. The RS Pro and RS are identical in software. The Pro has 48 fets (2 circuit boards), the RS has 24 fets (1 circuit board). They have the same footprint but the Pro is taller to accomodate the extra height needed for the second fet board. The Pro also has a different sticker on it that says "RS Pro".
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 02:54 PM   #11723
Tech Fanatic
 
TeckLancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Riverside CA
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

i dont know if u guys would know but what would be good starting point gearing for a kyosho fs running a 13.5 on a med traction 10th scale track like west coast here in socal?
__________________
Eric Arellano
TC5,RC18-b,PRO4,FS,EIGHT-E 2.0,TLT,TF-5,Nitro MT
Panther tires, Speedtech r/c, Murfdogg Motorworks
check oout my forsale thread http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/401576-wts-b44-b4-losi-8e-hpi-nitro-mt-few-lipos.html
TeckLancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 03:23 PM   #11724
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
We are going to replace the throttle profiles on the unit with Timing profiles. This allows most to pick the high profiles for spec motors and low profiles for mod motors and just work on gearing.
Will it be possible to change the profiles to your personal profiles?
This because each motor reacts different on each setup.
I found out that the LRP reacts different on a setup than the Tekin and the Speedpassion is also totally different.

I want it also so I can setup different profiles for different tracks. For the big and the small tracks and for different brand of motors.

Can the profiles be saved on the pc?
This would be great to send others your setups or your profiles.
I hope the throttle function stays on the pc so we can still use it.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 03:35 PM   #11725
Tech Regular
 
P.I.M.P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 464
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys looking for a setup for 10.5 sp v3 motor large outdoor track free flowing I have the 203 software loaded.

Regards Clinton
__________________
Vbc wildfire D06
clinton livingstone
P.I.M.P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 03:41 PM   #11726
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Schreff I tried your setup with 0 Turbo delay and I could only test the acceleration and that was great. more wheel spin than I had with my own setup.

Also when I hold my car up in the air, it also accelerates faster.
It feels good. Sunday I now how it really goos.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 05:05 PM   #11727
Tech Elite
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,361
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

hay my pro will be in some day this week so i need a good starting point for a
novak SS 17.5 in a photon please. want to lay some smack down this weekend.
jlfx car audio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 06:37 PM   #11728
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,990
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Advil View Post
WOW! Easy buttons! Now I have a chance!!!!! Thanks Jim. This is just the news I was looking for!
Now you see why I ate my shoe and pulled my head out of you know where??? Where else will you get this type of service. I do reserve the right to put you into the wall welcoming you to the Tekin family once you get one in your car. Tons of fun last time out. See ya soon
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 06:38 PM   #11729
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
Schreff I tried your setup with 0 Turbo delay and I could only test the acceleration and that was great. more wheel spin than I had with my own setup.

Also when I hold my car up in the air, it also accelerates faster.
It feels good. Sunday I now how it really goos.
I believe the holding you're car in the air test is just as efective as using a data logger. Same thing.

Good work.
march to my own is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 07:03 PM   #11730
Tech Elite
 
ShaunMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Loading...
Posts: 3,390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by march to my own View Post
I believe the holding you're car in the air test is just as efective as using a data logger. Same thing.

Good work.
You mean that's not how you check for speed?

Free-Reving for the win! Man that car sounds FAST!
ShaunMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:31 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net