R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-01-2010, 01:08 PM   #11566
Tech Master
 
cwoods34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indy-freakin'-ana
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Ran 17.5 rubber TC yesterday, Duo 2 with 0* on the motor.

Drag Brake: 25
Brake Strength: 100
Throttle Profile: 4
Timing Boost: 50
Turbo Boost: 10
Turbo Delay: .4
Turbo Ramp: 3
Start RPM: ~1500
End RPM: ~6750

Don't know exact track dimensions, but it's a big carpet track (R/CAR, Marion County Fairgrounds in Indy).

FDR was right around 5.8 or 5.9 (can't remember exact number) and the motor came off after 6 minutes around 130*F. I should've went to about a 6.0-6.1 FDR but the car was fast, no one was catching me on the straight (except my friend's 13.5) and I had plenty of rip through the infield. Thanks Tekin

Now I just need to work on my chassis setup!
__________________
Stop holding bitterness deep in your bum soul.
cwoods34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 01:14 PM   #11567
Tech Addict
 
matt d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: hoffman estates, il
Posts: 739
Default

im sure this was discused before but here is the problem i am having. i bought a losi regulator and a thunderpower 2s 350mah lipo. v203 with a novak 13.5ss. i can pull the trigger and throttal works fine. then i pull triger and turn sterring and get all sorts of gogging and stuttering. the 1s box is checked and when i went back to a 2s setting and put my 2s back in the car without reciever pack it works fine. so im kinda lost here. any help would be appreciated. i will try to answer any other information you might need. thank you again
__________________
Sauce it up my Friends

TLR - Team Spektrum - Horizon Hobbies - Team Orion - MIP - Team Gravity RC - Motive RC - F3A Unlimited - Gator RC - Trackside Hobbies&Raceway - HobbyTown USA Lake In THe Hills & TimeWarp Raceway - Windy City RC
matt d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 01:41 PM   #11568
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwoods34 View Post
Ran 17.5 rubber TC yesterday, Duo 2 with 0* on the motor.
Thanks for the setup. I will be running the same motor setup, but on a fairly open asphalt track. I will use your settings as a starting point. Not knowing your track size, any recommendations on things you'd change if you were running on a track with an assumed ~20ft longer straight, and probably a bit less technical? Perhaps one tick of timing on the motor?
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 01:58 PM   #11569
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt d View Post
im sure this was discused before but here is the problem i am having. i bought a losi regulator and a thunderpower 2s 350mah lipo. v203 with a novak 13.5ss. i can pull the trigger and throttal works fine. then i pull triger and turn sterring and get all sorts of gogging and stuttering. the 1s box is checked and when i went back to a 2s setting and put my 2s back in the car without reciever pack it works fine. so im kinda lost here. any help would be appreciated. i will try to answer any other information you might need. thank you again
Ditch the regulator! WE can take the 2s lipo rx pack just fine. It's you servo that may need the help.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 02:18 PM   #11570
Tech Addict
 
matt d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: hoffman estates, il
Posts: 739
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Ditch the regulator! WE can take the 2s lipo rx pack just fine. It's you servo that may need the help.
Thanks Randy. I just want to get this straight so I dont blow anything up. Take the 2s receiver pack ( 7.4 volts) and plug it in right into the receiver? My servo is a futaba 9551 brand new never been used, Futaba 4pk with a 603 receiver. What about a switch for the receiver pack.
__________________
Sauce it up my Friends

TLR - Team Spektrum - Horizon Hobbies - Team Orion - MIP - Team Gravity RC - Motive RC - F3A Unlimited - Gator RC - Trackside Hobbies&Raceway - HobbyTown USA Lake In THe Hills & TimeWarp Raceway - Windy City RC
matt d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 02:21 PM   #11571
Tech Addict
 
matt d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: hoffman estates, il
Posts: 739
Default

reading my post from earlier , I faild to mention that this is for a wgt car wtih a single cell pack. Thats why I have the receiver pack and the regulator
__________________
Sauce it up my Friends

TLR - Team Spektrum - Horizon Hobbies - Team Orion - MIP - Team Gravity RC - Motive RC - F3A Unlimited - Gator RC - Trackside Hobbies&Raceway - HobbyTown USA Lake In THe Hills & TimeWarp Raceway - Windy City RC
matt d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 02:27 PM   #11572
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

btw, futaba says no to 2cell lipo rx packs for their rx and servo
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 02:42 PM   #11573
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,651
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

+1 - Futaba doesn't advise applying over 6V to the receiver and servos. Maybe the regulator is the source of the problem. Try attaching the regulator to the receiver pack, and get a voltage reading from the regulator's output plug. If the voltage is greater than 6 volts, that could be the source of the problem.
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 03:17 PM   #11574
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

I put 8.4v to my futaba servo (s9650) with no issues.

Again, futaba does say not to exceed 6v. So if your servo blows up, don't blame me.
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 03:35 PM   #11575
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 862
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Just need a confirmation-

The only difference between the RS and RS Pro is the internal resistance and the lower motor limit on the Pro, correct? I'm about to order a new speed controller, and around here we never run below a 10.5, so if I can save $50 or so, I wanted to go with the standard RS. I still wanted all of the tuning features offered by the new Vegas software, though. The dynamic timing/boost are added to the regular RS as well once updated with the hotwire, correct?
Serzoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 03:42 PM   #11576
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,651
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serzoni View Post
Just need a confirmation-

The only difference between the RS and RS Pro is the internal resistance and the lower motor limit on the Pro, correct? I'm about to order a new speed controller, and around here we never run below a 10.5, so if I can save $50 or so, I wanted to go with the standard RS. I still wanted all of the tuning features offered by the new Vegas software, though. The dynamic timing/boost are added to the regular RS as well once updated with the hotwire, correct?
You are correct. The RS has all of the functionality of the RS Pro, including the dynamic timing capabilities. The only differences are the # of FETs, size and weight, and the motor limit for the RS (5.5 turn)...
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 03:57 PM   #11577
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serzoni View Post
Just need a confirmation-

The only difference between the RS and RS Pro is the internal resistance and the lower motor limit on the Pro, correct? I'm about to order a new speed controller, and around here we never run below a 10.5, so if I can save $50 or so, I wanted to go with the standard RS. I still wanted all of the tuning features offered by the new Vegas software, though. The dynamic timing/boost are added to the regular RS as well once updated with the hotwire, correct?
Yes.
As you don't go lower than 10,5T the RS is your choice.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 04:33 PM   #11578
Tech Regular
 
LBSR415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: RAZOR GRAPHIX
Posts: 480
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaredevilD View Post
get a short servo extension and unplug it from that instead of the receiver.
ahh did not think of that,,thanks
__________________
Team OHP
Razor Graphix
East Coast R/C
Pantheon Motorsports

These fish,,,are frozen.
LBSR415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 04:42 PM   #11579
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 862
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Thanks fellas. RS and Hotwire ordered.
Serzoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 04:58 PM   #11580
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 234
Default

Yang you have a PM

Thanks
Jeremy Otis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:03 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net