R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-01-2010, 12:49 AM   #11536
Tech Master
 
Magnet Top's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,964
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkspeedo View Post
You are correct Randy, Tekin is doing well and I love the 3 i have but i disagree with Turbo being independent of Boost. Turbo does nothing if Boost is 0 and turbo seems to apply more and more timing as the Boost value increases.

Ex. When I set boost to 5 and Turbo to 15 the free wheel RPM is hardly anything, if I set Boost to 40 and turbo 15 then watch out. The RPM really ramps after the boost timing has been applied.
:
ditto, I found the same a while back and wondered why it was being explained as though turbo and timing boost were independent when my own tests revealed they are tied together.
Magnet Top is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 01:01 AM   #11537
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 26
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Question, If turbo is set to max or 15 why does it do nothing when boost is set to 0 if there independent of each other?
because tekin oversaw a bug in v203. if you want turbo and no boost ( i realy dont see why you whould do that.) then set your boost to 1.
pawmadsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 01:17 AM   #11538
Tech Master
 
Magnet Top's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,964
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pawmadsen View Post
because tekin oversaw a bug in v203. if you want turbo and no boost ( i realy dont see why you whould do that.) then set your boost to 1.
Try stepping from 0 to 10 to 20 to 30 to 40 etc timing boost with a fixed Turbo setting ( like 7 , leave it there for this entire test ) and you'll see that Turbo only ramps a bit at lower timing boost values and peaks quickly. When you get past 30 timing boost the turbo ramps significantly more and if you dare to bench test it at 50 you had better wear safety goggles Timing boost and Turbo boost are indeed tied together. I'm happy someone else ( Bkspeedo ) confirmed what I had found !

oh, and set a really long turbo delay, so you know you aren't just seeing timing boost. It should be obvious when turbo kicks in.

and maybe use a motor you don't care too much about !
Magnet Top is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 02:03 AM   #11539
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 26
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnet Top View Post
Try stepping from 0 to 10 to 20 to 30 to 40 etc timing boost with a fixed Turbo setting ( like 7 , leave it there for this entire test ) and you'll see that Turbo only ramps a bit at lower timing boost values and peaks quickly. When you get past 30 timing boost the turbo ramps significantly more and if you dare to bench test it at 50 you had better wear safety goggles Timing boost and Turbo boost are indeed tied together. I'm happy someone else ( Bkspeedo ) confirmed what I had found !

oh, and set a really long turbo delay, so you know you aren't just seeing timing boost. It should be obvious when turbo kicks in.

and maybe use a motor you don't care too much about !
thats because timming is not liniar. ones you get past 30 degrees the motor will produce alot more rpm's. its not because turbo and boost is linked.
pawmadsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 02:51 AM   #11540
Tech Addict
 
kamen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: earth
Posts: 521
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjc168 View Post
i had do everything i can. clean sensor socket with contact cleaner, change multiple sensor wire, but unlucky none of it work. When I change to other brand motor, the problem gone. example speedpassion v2 and v3, orca. I had tried this team power motor with my club mate tekin esc too, not working as well. Thats why I asked kamen to have a look, whether is this happen to him as well.
yeap... my friend at here using s.p v3 with tekin.. nothing happen.. smooth..

but im having some problems with this team power.. only at starting point...

maybe must change to other motor..
__________________
aku main keta pekak ja.... (-_-)
kamen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 03:46 AM   #11541
Tech Elite
 
mjc168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,808
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kamen View Post
yeap... my friend at here using s.p v3 with tekin.. nothing happen.. smooth..

but im having some problems with this team power.. only at starting point...

maybe must change to other motor..
this may due to the sensor not working between team power motor and tekin esc. pls check the sensor small light in your esc whether blink or not.

if you plan to change your 11.5t motor, i would recommend you buy a 11.5t orca motor. You won't regret with it.
__________________
http://www.pprcc.com/

1/10 On-road Touring: Schumacher MI3 + Tekin RS Pro + Orca RX-1 11.5t BL Motor
1/10 On-road Touring: Xray T3 2011 + Tekin RS Pro + Tekin Redline 10.5t BL Motor
mjc168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 05:38 AM   #11542
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

you still have to unplug it from the rx cause it will still get power,this gets asked about every few months
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 07:19 AM   #11543
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkspeedo View Post
You are correct Randy, Tekin is doing well and I love the 3 i have but i disagree with Turbo being independent of Boost. Turbo does nothing if Boost is 0 and turbo seems to apply more and more timing as the Boost value increases.

Ex. When I set boost to 5 and Turbo to 15 the free wheel RPM is hardly anything, if I set Boost to 40 and turbo 15 then watch out. The RPM really ramps after the boost timing has been applied. Unless the Novak Sentry I have is broke and me ears no longer work, Boost definitely has an effect on how much turbo advances timing. I guess my observation would be ill found if X deg of timing did not generate an x increase in RPM meaning a linear ramp in RPM in relation to "deg of timing". If this a logarithmic relation then your comment would be correct.

Question, If turbo is set to max or 15 why does it do nothing when boost is set to 0 if there independent of each other?

There's nothing wrong with this dependency, but being the analytical type that I am I like to now how much timing I'm actually applying to the motor. People keep saying you don't want to add more than 60 deg to a BL motor but if I set Boost to 50, turbo to 15, and motor static timing to 30, like my Ballistic, that would be 95 deg. This would not be good correct? But this is exactly how I have my car setup with a 7.3 FDR and it's rock fast reaching 40mph after only 90ft with motor temp of ~165 after 6 min.

Congrads to Tekin on all the top finishes at Snowbirds. I guess those AE controller owners are rethinking there high dollar purchase.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnet Top View Post
ditto, I found the same a while back and wondered why it was being explained as though turbo and timing boost were independent when my own tests revealed they are tied together.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnet Top View Post
Try stepping from 0 to 10 to 20 to 30 to 40 etc timing boost with a fixed Turbo setting ( like 7 , leave it there for this entire test ) and you'll see that Turbo only ramps a bit at lower timing boost values and peaks quickly. When you get past 30 timing boost the turbo ramps significantly more and if you dare to bench test it at 50 you had better wear safety goggles Timing boost and Turbo boost are indeed tied together. I'm happy someone else ( Bkspeedo ) confirmed what I had found !

oh, and set a really long turbo delay, so you know you aren't just seeing timing boost. It should be obvious when turbo kicks in.

and maybe use a motor you don't care too much about !
one thing that your sentry fails to see is torque. so what you are missing is that the relationship to torque and rpm are basically inverse functions. think of a 1/x curve. as it approaches 0 your see the slow of the line increase very dramatically, but as it approaces infinity, the slow changes very little. that is what you are seeing and tha 30 degree mark is the point at which the conversion of torque to rpms makes a big difference. if you really want to see the to be true, set the total timing to 70 and see what your sentry reports to you. oh yeah, you will need a new motor after that.

this is the reason why I do not set my start rpm to the slowest point of the track. I actualy want the torque. it allows me to gear up and then let the motor spool up before it gets to the 30degree point where i have very little torque and alot of rpm.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 07:35 AM   #11544
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

yang from your first runs before the data logger with 203 when it was by feel and track testing what are your settings now
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 08:11 AM   #11545
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
yang from your first runs before the data logger with 203 when it was by feel and track testing what are your settings now
hmmm, that takes some though. but basically looking at current setup and past setup, I would have to say that I had the start and end rpm to low when we first started running v203. also, i seam to have my turbo delay too long. how weird is that? but then I was always an advocate of nothing below .5sec so I am running .4 now.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 08:15 AM   #11546
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,179
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

With the newest software are there any issues running mod motors?
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 08:21 AM   #11547
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
With the newest software are there any issues running mod motors?
your a SP guy what are you doing here where are running mod at i thought it was dead in fl.no one has said anything on a mod,baker and toso were using sensored in mod this weekend
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 08:27 AM   #11548
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
hmmm, that takes some though. but basically looking at current setup and past setup, I would have to say that I had the start and end rpm to low when we first started running v203. also, i seam to have my turbo delay too long. how weird is that? but then I was always an advocate of nothing below .5sec so I am running .4 now.
i did notice a little bog the first few runs,i played with the range and it got better but after gearing down it was a rocket.are you using gear to help the spool up and not relying on tmng boost with low start
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 08:34 AM   #11549
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
i did notice a little bog the first few runs,i played with the range and it got better but after gearing down it was a rocket.are you using gear to help the spool up and not relying on tmng boost with low start
i am using gear to use the torque the motor naturally has and that usually give me a faster straight line speed. but there is a balance. If I gear too high, then I never see the MAX rpm of the motor. i drop teeth until the rpm gain does not give me more speed. you have to figure speed based on rpm and roll out.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 08:48 AM   #11550
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
i am using gear to use the torque the motor naturally has and that usually give me a faster straight line speed. but there is a balance. If I gear too high, then I never see the MAX rpm of the motor. i drop teeth until the rpm gain does not give me more speed. you have to figure speed based on rpm and roll out.
your running 1/12
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:53 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net