R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-24-2008, 06:08 PM   #1141
Tech Adept
 
K Feath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny L View Post
K Feath,
I would try turning timing to 0 on motor. Then try these settings with hotwire. If it does same thing try clicking sensored only box try again not changing settings. If you still have any issue lmk
drag = 25
rev = 0
brake = 75
neutral = 10
blfw
throt = 5
volt = 0
push = 0
timing = 100
current = off
OK, everything is set. Did you have any issues when you first installed your RS?
K Feath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 05:56 PM   #1142
Tech Fanatic
 
TimV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In a F8 hauler bag
Posts: 860
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Maybe its just me, but I can't figure out how to change to sensored only mode on the speed control. Anyone have any advice?
__________________
- - - Express Motorsports - - - MW Designs - - - Mimi Wong Clan - - - Final Thoughts Racing - - -
- - - Team AKA - - - RDsquared - - -

It's the year 2010. Shouldn't vacuum cleaners be quieter by now?
TimV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 06:03 PM   #1143
Tech Master
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Are you using Hotwire? Check white box on right hand side seen here in this screen shot from mo's 4wd setup.
__________________
Team Tekin, Ko Propo America
Kenny L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 06:07 PM   #1144
Tech Fanatic
 
TimV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In a F8 hauler bag
Posts: 860
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

I just realised that hotwire was reading it as an R1 instead of an RS. I reinstalled hotwire, and all is good. Thanks for the help.
__________________
- - - Express Motorsports - - - MW Designs - - - Mimi Wong Clan - - - Final Thoughts Racing - - -
- - - Team AKA - - - RDsquared - - -

It's the year 2010. Shouldn't vacuum cleaners be quieter by now?
TimV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 08:26 PM   #1145
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 617
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default push

what exactly is the push control doin? doesnt drag brake sort of act as a push control?
nazman01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 08:33 PM   #1146
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nazman01 View Post
what exactly is the push control doin? doesnt drag brake sort of act as a push control?
Drag brake is a small amount of brake when you let off the throttle, but don't apply the brakes, to try to get a brushless to feel and act like a brushed motor. Push control is adding a little bit of throttle when letting off the throttle (trigger at neutral) to add some powered roll through the turns. You can only use one or the other, since they would fight each other.

Without either, the motor would just coast without slowing the motor. One thing that brushless doesn't need is push control, since most brushless motors have almost zero drag brake naturally. Push control is generally used on brushed motors, drag brake on brushless.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 10:38 PM   #1147
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dresden, germany
Posts: 56
Send a message via MSN to jontang001
Default

Hi All
Do you guys ever try the R1 pro the senserless one?
Does it works better than other senserless ESC?
Thanks for any advise!!!
__________________
TAMIYA TRF416, EVO5MS, TB03 FullOP
Schumacher Mi4LP, CAT SXII, Cougar
jontang001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 11:07 PM   #1148
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 538
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hi Randy,

Any updates on the software?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Hey Stocker,

I spoke to our engineer about this. The version of Hotwire software you have goes about checking for internet differently then the update that's coming out.

Currently the hotwire will look for you network card, internet, then ping our site. The update now just pings the site to verify internet.

Make sure that once you plug in the Hotwire(no speedo) go ahead and click on "check for updates."

Make sure you're running the latest software. The current one can find conflicts in certain network settings and come to the conclusion that there's no interent.

I'll post something when the new Hotwire software is out.
stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 11:46 PM   #1149
Tech Master
 
davepull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange Park, Florida
Posts: 1,180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nazman01 View Post
what exactly is the push control doin? doesnt drag brake sort of act as a push control?

push control is for brushed only. it's like adding forward roll to the car
davepull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 11:50 PM   #1150
Tech Master
 
davepull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange Park, Florida
Posts: 1,180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jontang001 View Post
Hi All
Do you guys ever try the R1 pro the senserless one?
Does it works better than other senserless ESC?
Thanks for any advise!!!

from what i have been told the R1 is awesome with the redline sensorless motors
davepull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 09:58 AM   #1151
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

The R1 is a great sensorless esc. You really can't beat it's size, user interface(right on the unit with full led sequence) as well as it's ability to be updated with any new release software. Running any of the Redline sensorless motors is a very potent combination.

We're working on the Hotwire software update as we speak. We insist on it being rigth so bear with us.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 11:02 AM   #1152
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

As mentioned the R1 is good with sensorless motors.


It will also run sensored motors but there are some issues when you start to use sensored motors which are not of the mod variety. IE anything with a 10.5 or more winds starts to have weird stuff happening.

There is also a minor launch delay when using mod sensored motors.

One thing to however watch out for is that unfortunately the Tekin Sensorless motors are not Roar legal (i think also not legal in most of Europe, i dont think it was EFRA legal).
The Redline Sensored motors are however roar legal
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 03:30 AM   #1153
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
We're still working on Vista 64 bit. It's different enough to cause problems. We also want to test it over and over again and check for bugs.

The Hotwire is due for another update soon. Some new features will be added.

(I'm sorry you had to use your very first post to take a shot at us)

Bummer....
no shot
Keep working at it.
senna1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 07:24 AM   #1154
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by senna1 View Post
no shot
Keep working at it.
I'd make you say please first.
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 07:31 AM   #1155
DJ
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 47
Default

hi guys, im planning to buy Tekin RS ESC,
what brushless motor do you think is compatible to it ? im looking for 19t brush motor equivalent. thanks
DJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:06 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net