R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-22-2008, 11:22 PM   #1126
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Yeah that whipping thing is very cool, thanks too for the description of the process.

So just to confirm, the copper wire actually remains around the outside of the stripped cable doesnt it?


Giorgio, im also thinking that you may have some kind of other issue too if you are blowing up a lot of blue ones. Ultimately the blue stuff is generally speaking quite reliable and for some time has been the workhorse of the brushless escs. Hopefully the RS will change things ;P

Just wondering if you were using the Blue Competition and not the TC it is only rated down to 4.5, and the 4.5 motors available now are a lot more powerfull so its possible it couldnt handle the load. If the esc were to die and lock up the motor at full tilt, i doubt the motor would be particular happy with that.

Just keep in mind that with modified on an RS, you need to get the Pro version and also do a couple of things including mount an extra cap and also mount a fan blowing across the solder posts (not mounted over the case, unfotrunately that means it does take up more chassis space). All up with the fan and extra can the system was still lighter than the blue one and took up a touch less space on my car.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 05:47 AM   #1127
Tech Regular
 
Giorgio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Well if you are frying things that much I'd say you probably have a setup issue of some sort...either over geared or way to much bind in your drive train causing things to overheat badly.
Inspector:
Funny point: I never ever thermaled the system, I'm driving a Losi Type R, 19/94, medium/fast tracks in my area, every one with the same system is on a very similar ratio.
Never able to get a motor in the 70 Celsius.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
If the blue 4.5 was on par for speed then go with the Tekin Redline 4.5 . If you're an a mainer you should be just fine.

I always recomend the Hotwire for tuning purposes outside of the norm.

Odd that you had such an issue with the blue. Any bad bearings in the car?
Randy: car is fine. Under ever point of view.

Mangoman:
I'm blue Tc Spec, 4.5 should be in the range
Giorgio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 07:06 AM   #1128
Tech Elite
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
Most mainstream apps don't even work on Vista 64. I work in IT and I don't even know anyone who runs it. Im surprised you are spending the time on that.
I'd disagree . I work in IT too and i have many people running 64 bit os's (xp64 and vista64) to take advantage of memory over 4gb (3gb physical 1 gb swap). Besides the memory 64 bit os's are a bit less spyware prone and offer some other speed advantages. Eitehr way as ram sizes go up you are going to see more and more vista x64 pre installed, people have already started complaining why they only 3gb ram on a 4gb system microsoft had to release a patch to "show" that the os had 4gb ram.

Very few things don't run in x64 but i have to admit they are major apps, like flash and palm desktop, most other stuff works great or you can convince it that it's on x32 using wow tricks. BTW i've gotten the hotwire to run in vista 64 ... just flaky so i switched back to x32.
__________________
www.skyrocketracing.com quality RC gear!
http://www.rctech.net/forum/racing-forum/555071-2011-skyrocket-invitational-blue-diamond-raceway-october-15-16-a.html <- Great race!
YmeBP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 07:10 AM   #1129
Tech Elite
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
I don't run 64 bit either. However some do and we're working on it.

The Mac stuff is going to be harder I'm sure. There are ways around it and I'm sure most of you Mac guys are familiar with it...

I blame it all on Bill Gates! LOL
Mac stuff (and linux as a by product) won't be so much harder. There is a project call Mono (no not the STD) that is essentially the .Net stack for non-windows operating systems. If you have .Net code you'll be able to port it to mac os x and linux very very soon, i think they started w/ teh client server .net stuff but i'm sure it would extend to desktop apps. Microsoft gave the mono project a bunch of cash recently to speed up the development.

X64 may be a little more difficult becuase of the mandatory DEP and various other security things that x64 has that x32 doesn't.

http://www.mono-project.com/Main_Page
__________________
www.skyrocketracing.com quality RC gear!
http://www.rctech.net/forum/racing-forum/555071-2011-skyrocket-invitational-blue-diamond-raceway-october-15-16-a.html <- Great race!
YmeBP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 09:03 AM   #1130
Tech Fanatic
 
trailranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post

So just to confirm, the copper wire actually remains around the outside of the stripped cable doesnt it?
.
correct,
trailranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 10:43 AM   #1131
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YmeBP View Post
Mac stuff (and linux as a by product) won't be so much harder. There is a project call Mono (no not the STD) that is essentially the .Net stack for non-windows operating systems.
Dude, mono is not an STD.

wikipedia mono
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 11:51 AM   #1132
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Either way guys, we're working on it. 64 bit does pose it's own hurdles.

I was not trying to offend you Giorgio. Sometimes you can get a bad esc.

I look forward to hearing how the Tekin worked for you.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 12:32 PM   #1133
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Yeah sounds like you havent had a lot of luck Giorgio
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 02:12 PM   #1134
Tech Regular
 
Giorgio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
I was not trying to offend you Giorgio. Sometimes you can get a bad esc.

I look forward to hearing how the Tekin worked for you.
Randy, no problem, there are just question, not stupid or clever ones, this is my way.

By the way, you have pm....
Giorgio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 02:59 PM   #1135
Tech Regular
 
Giorgio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
Yeah sounds like you havent had a lot of luck Giorgio
Not that true Mangoman, this season, for the first time in my "career" I become a sponsored driver, by Matrix, Italian tyre maker.

Before my only sponsor would have been my wallet....
Giorgio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 03:27 PM   #1136
Tech Adept
 
K Feath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hey guys, I just got my hot wire, and it installed just fine. My question would be is what are some of the features for? For example, how do I ge the custom profile to work? Also, I set the hot wire for the 17.5 setting in the timing advance section. I also set the drag brake and the brake settings to full.

My issue is that last weekend it seemed like my RS would turn off and then come back on while I was on the track running. I'm running a 17.5 trinity motor. When I spoke to Chris at Tekin he said the hot wire would help tune the RS and it would help with my issue. He also said that I should set the timing of the motor to maximum, which I believe is 20 degrees. Also, Chris said that the factory setting from the factory is in the hybrid mode. Is this corect and if so, do I want to keep it there? Any help would be very greatfull.

I'm running 12th scale, which is a 4 cell class

Last edited by K Feath; 09-24-2008 at 03:46 PM.
K Feath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 03:40 PM   #1137
Tech Master
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

K Feath,
I would try turning timing to 0 on motor. Then try these settings with hotwire. If it does same thing try clicking sensored only box try again not changing settings. If you still have any issue lmk
drag = 25
rev = 0
brake = 75
neutral = 10
blfw
throt = 5
volt = 0
push = 0
timing = 100
current = off
__________________
Team Tekin, Ko Propo America
Kenny L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 03:47 PM   #1138
Tech Adept
 
K Feath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Kenny L, I forgot to mention that I'm running 12th scale 4 cell stock. I edited my last post.
K Feath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 03:49 PM   #1139
Tech Master
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

That is my 4 cell 17.5 setup
__________________
Team Tekin, Ko Propo America
Kenny L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 05:56 PM   #1140
Tech Adept
 
K Feath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny L View Post
That is my 4 cell 17.5 setup
Cool thanks.
K Feath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:28 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net