R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-26-2010, 09:02 PM   #11266
Administrator
 
Matt M.'s Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,410
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

hey guys i have a question for ya,

i am not running onroad, but i thinki can get the info i need here...

i am running an sc10 indoors on carpet with jumps, some are up to 12 feet long.

we are running 17.5 motors, (mine is a duo 2) my settings are as follows

gearing 21, 78
profile 4
timing 40
ramp 2
start 4700
end 11000
delay.03
no turbo

motor temp 150ish

no drag, push or reverse...

the track is 65x 40, no full straight, lots of 180

the question i have is this

i understand that if the "gap" between start and end rpm is smaller it is more punchy and vice versa

but how do i know where the range should be??? how high is too high, how low is too low???

i hope i put that right......

thanks for the help
__________________
Team Losi Racing-Team Tekin-Proline Racing-Motiv-92zero Designs-Jim Neubert Paint Design-LiveRC.com-TFR-Team Dirt Heaven-Gravity RC-Trackside

UNLESS someone like you cares a whole awful lot,nothing is going to get better. It's not. Dr. Seuss
Matt M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 09:25 PM   #11267
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
pretty easy, you need to run at Mike's. Mr Dumas's wife runs the deli at the track and well, I get lunch delivered to my pits by a national champ. lol
Glad someone has a sense of humor around here.
Thanks again bud.
And I agree, at the Tekin website there are already setups to get most folks started in the right direction.
It would help to streamline things here if more peeps would start there first.

Your base setup would have been just fine all day, but I like to tinker, and actually improved on it for the conditions at our track, for that day.
Temps never exceeded 130f, and that was at the warmest point in the day.

It is also interesting how we used to have to use turbo to get top speed.
Now even without turbo, speeds and acceleration have improved.
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 09:33 PM   #11268
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr. losi View Post
hey guys i have a question for ya,

i am not running onroad, but i thinki can get the info i need here...

i am running an sc10 indoors on carpet with jumps, some are up to 12 feet long.

we are running 17.5 motors, (mine is a duo 2) my settings are as follows

gearing 21, 78
profile 4
timing 40
ramp 2
start 4700
end 11000
delay.03
no turbo

motor temp 150ish

no drag, push or reverse...

the track is 65x 40, no full straight, lots of 180

the question i have is this

i understand that if the "gap" between start and end rpm is smaller it is more punchy and vice versa

but how do i know where the range should be??? how high is too high, how low is too low???

i hope i put that right......

thanks for the help
I'll take a stab at this, and feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.
In general terms...
If the rpm range is too small, you may notice cogging, high temps, and an early dump feel.

If the range is to wide, you may not feel the acceleration, or punch you are looking for, and most likely your temps will be quite cool.

However I really have no idea what the correct settings are for your application as I'm of the direct drive genre.
Oh, the ramp, and delay will have no effect with no turbo activated, I assume you know that, just sayin.
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 09:37 PM   #11269
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

For offroad I think you're start and end rpm are too low.

Try this: Start of 5442, end of 20,000

You will get more punch when you're working the motor in the right power band and in the right rpm ranges. You're too low right now and I'd bet are overtiming the motor, therefore losing punch.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 12:19 AM   #11270
Tech Elite
 
motomanpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,181
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

What is the difference between the RS and the RS Pro???
__________________
POWERED BY CORONA,MARLBORO'S
AND A RC CRACK HABIT
New sponsor YAK SCENT BODY SPRAY(Only the champs use it)
motomanpat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 12:23 AM   #11271
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by motomanpat View Post
What is the difference between the RS and the RS Pro???
You can run the lowest turn mod motors on the Pro. The regular RS works for everything else.
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 01:13 AM   #11272
Tech Regular
 
MetalShield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milton, ON. CA
Posts: 409
Default

Problem with my RSpro after applied setting...

I swoop the ESC between two different cars (onroad to offroad and offroad to onroad)... I only have the one esc. Last week I used it for the offroad truck and it worked fine, no problems! This week I'm running onroad (12th)

I got it all installed, reprogrammed the 12th scale setting, wired it to the motor (Tekin 13.5 sensored) all correctly ABC and sensor wire plugged in but no power gets to the motor.... The ESC lights turn on and goes though its normal wakeup flashes but no sounds, I thought that was strange. When I pull the trigger the led lights increase and flash at maximum throttle which is normal, but still no motor. I receive power to the servo and it steers but I don't understand why I'm not getting any current to the motor, it worked great last week.

Could it be a bad sensor wire? Will a sensored motor still run with a damaged or intermittent connection? I noticed some of the plastic coating has worn in a couple of places...

Anyone have any advice??
__________________
Calvin Mercer - MSPvideos
HobbyHobby Racing Team / XXXmain Inc.
MetalShield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 01:22 AM   #11273
Tech Fanatic
 
Amoeba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 755
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Amoeba Send a message via MSN to Amoeba Send a message via Yahoo to Amoeba
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalShield View Post
Problem with my RSpro after applied setting...

I swoop the ESC between two different cars (onroad to offroad and offroad to onroad)... I only have the one esc. Last week I used it for the offroad truck and it worked fine, no problems! This week I'm running onroad (12th)

I got it all installed, reprogrammed the 12th scale setting, wired it to the motor (Tekin 13.5 sensored) all correctly ABC and sensor wire plugged in but no power gets to the motor.... The ESC lights turn on and goes though its normal wakeup flashes but no sounds, I thought that was strange. When I pull the trigger the led lights increase and flash at maximum throttle which is normal, but still no motor. I receive power to the servo and it steers but I don't understand why I'm not getting any current to the motor, it worked great last week.

Could it be a bad sensor wire? Will a sensored motor still run with a damaged or intermittent connection? I noticed some of the plastic coating has worn in a couple of places...

Anyone have any advice??
Just a shot in the dark from a relative RS newbie... Have you gone through the initial setup for your radio sync (neutral/forward/reverse)? It's possible the settings have wandered between the 2 receivers etc. If it's a possible bad sensor wire I believe you can put it in Dual Mode with the 2.03 version. If it works in Dual but not Sensored, your sensor wire may be the culprit.
__________________
Erin Carroll

Do Not Taunt Happy-Fun Ball
Amoeba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 01:40 AM   #11274
Tech Regular
 
MetalShield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milton, ON. CA
Posts: 409
Default

I have the DX3R and use the dsm2 receivers in each car changing only the model setting. I have done it this way many times. The Bind is ok and I have full control of the throttle and steering, but the motor just isn't receiving any current to spool up.
__________________
Calvin Mercer - MSPvideos
HobbyHobby Racing Team / XXXmain Inc.
MetalShield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 02:29 AM   #11275
Tech Elite
 
motomanpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,181
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Still Bill View Post
You can run the lowest turn mod motors on the Pro. The regular RS works for everything else.
So by low do you mean a 6.5 or do you mean lower. I am trying to figure out if the pro is worth it but I for sure will never be running anything lower than a 6.5. Is that really the only difference between the two versions?
__________________
POWERED BY CORONA,MARLBORO'S
AND A RC CRACK HABIT
New sponsor YAK SCENT BODY SPRAY(Only the champs use it)
motomanpat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 04:34 AM   #11276
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalShield View Post
Problem with my RSpro after applied setting...

I swoop the ESC between two different cars (onroad to offroad and offroad to onroad)... I only have the one esc. Last week I used it for the offroad truck and it worked fine, no problems! This week I'm running onroad (12th)

I got it all installed, reprogrammed the 12th scale setting, wired it to the motor (Tekin 13.5 sensored) all correctly ABC and sensor wire plugged in but no power gets to the motor.... The ESC lights turn on and goes though its normal wakeup flashes but no sounds, I thought that was strange. When I pull the trigger the led lights increase and flash at maximum throttle which is normal, but still no motor. I receive power to the servo and it steers but I don't understand why I'm not getting any current to the motor, it worked great last week.

Could it be a bad sensor wire? Will a sensored motor still run with a damaged or intermittent connection? I noticed some of the plastic coating has worn in a couple of places...

Anyone have any advice??
ok, couple things...

no beeps = can't find neutral, re-bind your handset
one other thing... voltage cutoff (if you're using a 1S Lipo or 4-cell pack).. make sure it's not set to 6v or whatever from the buggy.
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 05:14 AM   #11277
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by motomanpat View Post
So by low do you mean a 6.5 or do you mean lower. I am trying to figure out if the pro is worth it but I for sure will never be running anything lower than a 6.5. Is that really the only difference between the two versions?
for all practicality, yes that is the biggest difference between the 2 units - actually the RS can run down to a 5.5

oh that and the RS Pro is a 'taller' speedo then the RS - so if you have space constraints and will never run anything lower then a 6.5, you should probably just go with the RS
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 05:33 AM   #11278
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalShield View Post
I have the DX3R and use the dsm2 receivers in each car changing only the model setting. I have done it this way many times. The Bind is ok and I have full control of the throttle and steering, but the motor just isn't receiving any current to spool up.

I had the same problem 2 weeks ago. I changed the sensor wire and recalibrated my radio. It solved my problem. I found a bad wire on the old sensor wire when I finally got a chance to look at it.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 06:24 AM   #11279
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 904
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalShield View Post
Problem with my RSpro after applied setting...

I swoop the ESC between two different cars (onroad to offroad and offroad to onroad)... I only have the one esc. Last week I used it for the offroad truck and it worked fine, no problems! This week I'm running onroad (12th)

I got it all installed, reprogrammed the 12th scale setting, wired it to the motor (Tekin 13.5 sensored) all correctly ABC and sensor wire plugged in but no power gets to the motor.... The ESC lights turn on and goes though its normal wakeup flashes but no sounds, I thought that was strange. When I pull the trigger the led lights increase and flash at maximum throttle which is normal, but still no motor. I receive power to the servo and it steers but I don't understand why I'm not getting any current to the motor, it worked great last week.

Could it be a bad sensor wire? Will a sensored motor still run with a damaged or intermittent connection? I noticed some of the plastic coating has worn in a couple of places...

Anyone have any advice??

Do you have a rx pack in the 1/12 scale car? I'm assuming that your off road is 2s and 1/12 is 1s packs? If your rx pack is not fully charged it will allow the esc to turn on, find the signal and provide steering but no motor. Either fully charge the rx pack or install a booster and you should be good.

Other possibility is that the voltage cutoff is still set at 2s and the 1s pack is not providing enough voltage.
SteveL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 07:36 AM   #11280
Administrator
 
Matt M.'s Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,410
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
For offroad I think you're start and end rpm are too low.

Try this: Start of 5442, end of 20,000

You will get more punch when you're working the motor in the right power band and in the right rpm ranges. You're too low right now and I'd bet are overtiming the motor, therefore losing punch.

thanks ....that would explain the dead fealing it has at times....

i will raise them....
__________________
Team Losi Racing-Team Tekin-Proline Racing-Motiv-92zero Designs-Jim Neubert Paint Design-LiveRC.com-TFR-Team Dirt Heaven-Gravity RC-Trackside

UNLESS someone like you cares a whole awful lot,nothing is going to get better. It's not. Dr. Seuss
Matt M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:03 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net