R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-22-2008, 06:24 AM   #1111
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
We're still working on Vista 64 bit.
Most mainstream apps don't even work on Vista 64. I work in IT and I don't even know anyone who runs it. Im surprised you are spending the time on that.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 07:33 AM   #1112
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Actually i think you will find that is actually a common misconception and that a lot of apps do actually run, my understanding is that they dont work when the software requires device drivers.

Although i too am surprised that people are running 64 bit windows, although it is the trend of the future.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 12:10 PM   #1113
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,185
Default

I'd be running 64bit now if it wasn't for incompatibilities with my anti-spyware software.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 12:18 PM   #1114
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

I don't run 64 bit either. However some do and we're working on it.

The Mac stuff is going to be harder I'm sure. There are ways around it and I'm sure most of you Mac guys are familiar with it...

I blame it all on Bill Gates! LOL
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 12:23 PM   #1115
Tech Elite
 
rezenclowd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Solvang, CA
Posts: 2,367
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rezenclowd3
Default

The mac programming should be fairly simple as its based on Unix...

In the mean time, if your a Mac user with an Intel processor, snag Win XP and use bootcamp, Parallels or Fusion. Crossover may or may not work, I am not sure.
__________________
OOMSGFX.COM (no longer painting, but take a look for fun!), Roadrunners RC Club
"Racing drivers have balls, unfortunately, none of them are crystal" (David Coulthard)
"I believe the average IQ of a NASCAR fan is only marginally above the things that hit the windscreen during the race. "
rezenclowd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 12:30 PM   #1116
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Yep antivirus, firewall all that kind of stuff needs 64bit versions because they create virtual devices....

But im sure the tekin guys will get there
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 12:59 PM   #1117
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

The long way to do it is use virtual PC 2007 64bit edition, and install xp 32bit in there, launch it when you need to run the hotwire.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 01:10 PM   #1118
Tech Fanatic
 
trailranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trips View Post
I'm curious how you do that... It's probably just my crappy old monitor, but I'm having ahard time seeing the wire ends in the picture... If I had to guess, it looks like you tin them then squeeze them flat before the solder cools? Or do you flatten first and then tin?

Thanx
click the picture, it will show a larger pic.

I have a 30second process that whips and crimps the ends. I came up with this idea about a year ago when I was trying to solve excess wire fraying when I direct solder battery packs. A unintended benifit of the whipped taps is that solder does not flow upthe insulated part of the wire making it hard. I now use this any time I solder: Dean Plugs, Motors Connections, Battery Connection, and Now ESC connections.

I'll leave Wiki to explian "Whipping"

Step 1. Strip 1/4 to 3/8" of insulation off wire and loosed the stands.
Step 2. Wrap 26ga bare copper wire around the wire to be whipped.
Step 3. In one qucik motion Flatten the end using smooth jawed pliers.
Step 4. Flip the wire over and squeeze again
Step 5. Test fit the wire into ESC terminal slot, Repeat Step 4 tab is too thick.
Step 6. Hold tab in slot and solder inplace. **Once the end is soldered, you can no longer flatten and thin the profile.**

On step 3 i normally do the first flattening with a pair of larger pliers. In between the handles is a thin gap that helps get more leverage than the jaw alone. Some pliers have that gap with teeth, so don't use those.

A flat punch and a hammer will also work well on an anvil. Careful since you can hammer the whipped end foil thin. I would know.

Last edited by trailranger; 09-22-2008 at 01:31 PM.
trailranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 02:30 PM   #1119
Tech Elite
 
ta_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,359
Trader Rating: 151 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trailranger View Post
Step 6. Hold tab in slot and solder inplace. **Once the end is soldered, you can no longer flatten and thin the profile.**
I don't think I have ever tried to get my whipped wire ends that thin (I'll find out when I get my Tekin RS) but I crush mine in a 6 inch bench vise after they are tinned. It has a lot more leverage than pliers.
ta_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 03:51 PM   #1120
Tech Regular
 
Giorgio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 303
Default

Well, I might say I'm looking for an advice...
Try to make a long story short: not the fastest guy of the bunch, but a decent A-mainer at our club.
This year rules allows us to run touring, with lipo, BL, foam over asphalt.
So I grab a blue one, a 4.5 motor (blue as well).

First one: toasted in 4 laps... armature exploded... also the blue esc is gone.

Second one (warranty of the first package): 6 meeting plus some test. Then, out a turn...no more power. And the motor gone as well (simply times slower than before), finish the race with an orange esc, and a new blue 4.5 motor.

Third one: warranty over the second... 1 meeting and half. Same as 2nd. and motor as well same as above...

I start to have enough.... reliability is crucial as well the performance...
what will be the tekin package to go?

The Pro and which motor?

Any suggestion will be much appreciated...thanks
Giorgio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 04:12 PM   #1121
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,185
Default

Well if you are frying things that much I'd say you probably have a setup issue of some sort...either over geared or way to much bind in your drive train causing things to overheat badly.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 05:31 PM   #1122
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

If the blue 4.5 was on par for speed then go with the Tekin Redline 4.5 . If you're an a mainer you should be just fine.

I always recomend the Hotwire for tuning purposes outside of the norm.

Odd that you had such an issue with the blue. Any bad bearings in the car?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 05:58 PM   #1123
Tech Fanatic
 
trailranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ta_man View Post
I don't think I have ever tried to get my whipped wire ends that thin (I'll find out when I get my Tekin RS) but I crush mine in a 6 inch bench vise after they are tinned. It has a lot more leverage than pliers.
Pliers work fine for up to 12ga.
trailranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 06:06 PM   #1124
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,185
Default

Hey Trailranger that looks great...your description doesn't mention but do you pre-tin the wires? It looks like they have solder all across them like they were tinned before getting soldered in.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 06:27 PM   #1125
Tech Fanatic
 
trailranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 946
Default

no pre tinning. Once I know the tab fits the slot, I solder in place and the flux and bare copper will wick the solder into the joint. If you want to pretin or are reattaching wires the you would have to place the tab over the slot and flow the present solder while pushing the tab inplace. It is not a big deal if you use a solder-bulb to remove as much excess solder in the slot and tab first.

here is a better profile pic. click the picture for a larger view. Marco Shots are tough to focus..


Last edited by trailranger; 09-22-2008 at 08:10 PM.
trailranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:32 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net