R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-24-2010, 06:32 PM   #11116
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhavlena View Post
Hi Guys:

Running a TC, 2S, 17.5 Novak SS Pro, V.203, FDR = 5.0 (track approx 75'X34'), timing boost = 50, turbo = 10. Spektrum receiver

Due to my new settigs mentioned above with V.203, I recently added a motor fan (integy) to keep motor cool, just ran 2 qualifiers with no problem, 1st race there was two moments where the car cogged or hesitated momentarily. Didn't happen on the next race, albeit, I did lower the timing boost to 40.

Some say the sensor harness might have been involved, some say that perhaps a capacitor may help.

Could this be due to the spektrum receiver going below min voltage, therefore shutting on and off? In this case, the capacitor could help? Temps on the motor are not too high....

Any comments / advice would be greatly appreciated.
Regards,
MH
Could be a bad sensor wire, dirty sensor board or LVC on the spektrum. You could try a different wire, clean the motor or install a spektrum voltage regulator. (plug in capacitor)
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 06:33 PM   #11117
Tech Elite
 
Kash$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sykesville, MD
Posts: 2,687
Trader Rating: 51 (98%+)
Default

Thanks Mark , got with Arvin today , he forgot the computer ,lol. Yeah I got the fan and yeah it's alot better. 9.5's dogg Arvin hit em to. Thanks for taking the time to help. Lots of Luck at the Birds Mark !!
__________________
Kash "Money" Krickler .
Mugen Seiki / J Concepts / Airtronics/Sanwa USA / LC Racing , Baton Inc. / VIPER / REDS Racing USA / VP Racing Fuels / Tekno RC / Boca Bearings / G's Raceway & Hobbies / Waldorf RC / Upgrade RC / Kal Gaurd Lubricants /
Kash$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 06:54 PM   #11118
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
the novak ss has around 25deg of timing and with 50 time boost that 75,i would lower the timing boost to 30-35 gear down a tooth and turn of turbo for now.start rpm 2-3k end 9-10k.is the track ft or meters
Appreciate the quick reply...so you're saying that motor cogging/hesitation could be caused by being overtimed? even though there wasn't excessive heat?

You also mentioned that the Novak SS has 25 deg stock timing....according to Mark Brown, it is around 15 degrees, perhaps a mistake by Mark? perhaps my misunderstanding?

What about voltage drop too large on the receiver? I have first generation spektrum receiver.

Thx!!!
mhavlena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 06:56 PM   #11119
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

what color ring black or orange.
i see it yellow so it may be 15.take in consideration v200 max timing was 30 203 max is around 56
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:03 PM   #11120
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
what color ring black or orange
timing ring on the Novak SS Pro 17.5 is yellow...if that 's your question....
mhavlena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:04 PM   #11121
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhavlena View Post
timing ring on the Novak SS Pro 17.5 is yellow...if that 's your question....
yes, i was editing my post went to novaks site
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:08 PM   #11122
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
Could be a bad sensor wire, dirty sensor board or LVC on the spektrum. You could try a different wire, clean the motor or install a spektrum voltage regulator. (plug in capacitor)
Thanks for the info!
When you say dirty sensor board, are you talking about the female portion of the connection on the ESC?

Unfortunately for me, I cannot replace the sensor wire on the SS Pro....crap, perhaps unplugging it and just blowing it out with a compressor would help?

LCV on receiver, is this a normal occurrance when using a 17.5? many racers use one? perhaps the newly installed motor fan didn't help, what do you think?

Maybe I need to upgrade to a Ballistic motor, opinions?

Thx
mhavlena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:14 PM   #11123
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

I would upgrade to a Tekin Redline!
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:15 PM   #11124
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
I would upgrade to a Tekin Redline!
dam straight
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:26 PM   #11125
Tech Regular
 
Dragula426's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 351
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhavlena View Post
Hi Guys:

Running a TC, 2S, 17.5 Novak SS Pro, V.203, FDR = 5.0 (track approx 75'X34'), timing boost = 50, turbo = 10. Spektrum receiver

Due to my new settigs mentioned above with V.203, I recently added a motor fan (integy) to keep motor cool, just ran 2 qualifiers with no problem, 1st race there was two moments where the car cogged or hesitated momentarily. Didn't happen on the next race, albeit, I did lower the timing boost to 40.

Some say the sensor harness might have been involved, some say that perhaps a capacitor may help.

Could this be due to the spektrum receiver going below min voltage, therefore shutting on and off? In this case, the capacitor could help? Temps on the motor are not too high....

Any comments / advice would be greatly appreciated.
Regards,
MH

Do not run v203 without a cap on it.....

1-I do not remember how much you can vary the timing on the Novak motors, but set it at zero if possible. That will keep motor temps as low as possible. If you can't set it that low, get a Tekin Redline 17.5, mine have been rockets.

2-I have seen a cogging effect a couple of times. 1st is usually a bad sensor wire, switch to a new one and go from there. Next, the turbo set at 10* is a lot, and depending on your set-up, it can hit pretty hard, I would drop that to 0* for now. I don't believe you need that much on such a short track. What are your rpm settings?
__________________
Team Tekin
Jeffery Racing Concepts
Little 'O' Speedway
Extreme Graffix
Dragula426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:28 PM   #11126
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
I would upgrade to a Tekin Redline!
Good point Randy! I should also start thinking about purchasing a spare RS Pro....but it seems to be out of stock everywhere...is Tekin having demand issues at the factory?

Thanks!!!

BTW...even thought the car bogged a couple of times, I took the victory anyway..awesome product!!!
mhavlena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:32 PM   #11127
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragula426 View Post
Do not run v203 without a cap on it.....

1-I do not remember how much you can vary the timing on the Novak motors, but set it at zero if possible. That will keep motor temps as low as possible. If you can't set it that low, get a Tekin Redline 17.5, mine have been rockets.

2-I have seen a cogging effect a couple of times. 1st is usually a bad sensor wire, switch to a new one and go from there. Next, the turbo set at 10* is a lot, and depending on your set-up, it can hit pretty hard, I would drop that to 0* for now. I don't believe you need that much on such a short track. What are your rpm settings?
OK thanks! Spektrum cap on order..I would assume that you are using one?

Start RPM = 4500, End RPM = 12,500
mhavlena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:54 PM   #11128
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
Sitting trackside and after practicing and running 1 round of qualifying all I can say is FUN,FUN,FUN. I myself am slightly off pace (car set up) but the speedo settings are fun to play with. gearing, turbo, and rpm settings seem to be what everyone is mostly playing with. My boy "TEAM PINK" is TQ and geared 5.6 while others who are fast are at 6.4 That's a huge difference but everyone has different driving styles and car set up's. They are only taking the top 7 into the A-main so I have to step it up to make it. You guys should see all the Tekins being run out here.
Haha to bad you were in the b main
__________________
R1 Wurks/Awesomatix USA/Roche USA/Protoform/Solaris/Mo Speed/Speedworld Raceway
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 08:26 PM   #11129
Tech Fanatic
 
jammincrtjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jammincrtjames View Post
last night racing i made some changes on the speedo. I turned everything off then back on again and I only had servo movement, but not throttle. I thought it might be that the radio needed to be re-calibrated, but once I tried to re-calibrate, the speedo never found the neutral point.

I hooked the hotwire back up, hit apply settings again, closed out everything, turned everything back on and then the car worked.

Does anybody have any idea what might have been going on? I have also had the speedo lose the calibration once after a setting change. Is this normal?
anyone?
__________________
NEXUS RACING www.nexusracing.com | FANTOM RACING www.fantomracing.com
ORCA www.orcarc.com | TURTLE TRAX / www.turtletraxraceway.com
--------------------------------------------------
"If you're not first...you're last!"
jammincrtjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 08:29 PM   #11130
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

If your radio is close to the car (as it would be on the bench), the Tx might be overloading the Rx. This could cause the ESC to not see the neutral signal. If the ESC doesn't see neutral at powerup, it won't arm, so the motor won't run. If you move the Tx a few feet away, I'd bet that it would be just fine. Been there, done that.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:34 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net