R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-22-2010, 01:18 PM   #11011
Tech Addict
 
georgec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 624
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default RS When???

When will Tekin ship new stock to the LHS's so Ampdraw can ship my RS to me? I hope before 1/12 scale season is over
georgec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 01:22 PM   #11012
Tech Elite
 
JLock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,455
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukil View Post
I read somewhere that with v203, you "would" gear your 17.5 like your 13.5 with v200 initially. Then tweak it from there depending on your track.

My 17.5 is geared at 6.2, and it's plenty fast.
Depending on motor, a 6.2 on our size track will get you lapped a bit. I am running about 5.0, running just behind my track's fastest 17.5 racer, and comming off the track less than 130 F degrees. I am will be experimenting more this coming weekend with different FDRs, different setting tweaks, and watching motor temps very closely.
__________________
Texas 5
It's not what you know; it's what you can prove.
The only thing that is for sure is that nothing is for sure!!!
The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few, or the one.
There are 2 things in life that are infinite: the universe and stupidity.
JLock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 01:22 PM   #11013
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JLock View Post
At the carpet track that I run on, we had been running FDRs in the low fours. However, when I lost my Checkpoint motor, my FDR was between 4.7 and 5.5. My Pulse motor was at 4.71 FDR. It was apparent that I hit that initial glitch in v203 where the start/end rpm changed after setting (this was discussed a few pages back). When I rechecked my setting, the rpm range was not what I initially had set (closed the gap considerably between start and end rpm). If that rpm range is too close/short, it will build up heat very quickly and then poof, no motor. Now, I triple check it and have not had an issue since my Pulse incident.
JLock (Juan) - That FDR is too high. I have my Sedan's FDR at 5.7 using a Novak 17.5 Ballistic with Tekin 203 software.

My car was probably the fastest on the track last weekend, if I could only drive.

Your starting and ending RPM's need to be about 4000 - 12000, and timing at 50-deg. Add 10-deg Turbo with a .6 delay.
kn7671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 01:27 PM   #11014
Tech Elite
 
JLock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,455
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kn7671 View Post
JLock (Juan) - That FDR is too high. I have my Sedan's FDR at 5.7 using a Novak 17.5 Ballistic with Tekin 203 software.

My car was probably the fastest on the track last weekend, if I could only drive.
Kelly,

Well, your car's IR and mine are a bit different (1.7 to 2.16). With more conservative v203 settings, at 4.9, my motor temps did not get above 130 F degrees and I qualified second this past weekend and was hanging with Gilbert much of the early part of the main. Again, I will be experimenting with my car more this coming weekend to find a better sweet spot.
__________________
Texas 5
It's not what you know; it's what you can prove.
The only thing that is for sure is that nothing is for sure!!!
The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few, or the one.
There are 2 things in life that are infinite: the universe and stupidity.

Last edited by JLock; 01-22-2010 at 01:44 PM.
JLock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 01:43 PM   #11015
Tech Elite
 
JLock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,455
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kn7671 View Post
.....Your starting and ending RPM's need to be about 4000 - 12000, and timing at 50-deg. Add 10-deg Turbo with a .6 delay.
Thanks for this tidbit of info. I will incorporate this in my testing this coming weekend.
__________________
Texas 5
It's not what you know; it's what you can prove.
The only thing that is for sure is that nothing is for sure!!!
The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few, or the one.
There are 2 things in life that are infinite: the universe and stupidity.
JLock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 02:15 PM   #11016
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Was thinking of getting the newest Asus Netbook with Windows 7 Starter. Has a faster Atom processor. Will Windows 7 Starter work with the 2.03 Tekin Hotwire?
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 03:00 PM   #11017
Tech Regular
 
clparsons123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 323
Default

i just got a tekin what kind of setup should i start with for 17.5 on a carpet track the size is 100ft/65ft
motor is a duo 2
__________________
EAM (TEAM EA MOTORSPORTS),ORCA, RC AMERICA, XRAY,HUDY,EZ CUSTOMS, RSD (REFLEX RACING) , JEFFS RC STUDIO, RCTVLIVE
Cory parsons
clparsons123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 03:20 PM   #11018
Tech Elite
 
JLock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,455
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clparsons123 View Post
i just got a tekin what kind of setup should i start with for 17.5 on a carpet track the size is 100ft/65ft
motor is a duo 2
Try what kn7671 posted a few post earlier and work around it from there. What brand of car are you running? Also, with the Duo 2, you might want to retard the motor timing on the can a little to help in keeping motor temps down with certain settings.
__________________
Texas 5
It's not what you know; it's what you can prove.
The only thing that is for sure is that nothing is for sure!!!
The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few, or the one.
There are 2 things in life that are infinite: the universe and stupidity.
JLock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 03:33 PM   #11019
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 904
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyBlazin View Post
that was a mistake,i have rollout down,just the start/ finish rpm for 13.5 1/12..203 software...just not sure of how high i go,and low i could start, the rest ill get to..thanks
On our small track, 66' straight, I have the start rpm at 2,490 and end at 9,000, boost at 45 and no turbo. Roll out is 64-65mm with a Duo 2 timing set to one notch above middle. Car is very fast and temps end up around 130-150 after 8 minutes. I tried the timing on the motor at 0* but it was just slow. I also smoked a Duo 2 with the boost at Max and Turbo at 10 so there is a window that you need to be in, just not sure where that window is for your track.
SteveL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 05:15 PM   #11020
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Indy
Posts: 1,140
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AxiomJacob
Default

What is a recommended FDR for a 80x50 carpet track 13.5 rubber for v203? I'm thinking 45 for timing on the speedo and the rest im wondering, first time racing onroad in 7 years.
__________________
Jacob

Proline Racing
AxiomJacob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 05:50 PM   #11021
Tech Regular
 
clparsons123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 323
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JLock View Post
Try what kn7671 posted a few post earlier and work around it from there. What brand of car are you running? Also, with the Duo 2, you might want to retard the motor timing on the can a little to help in keeping motor temps down with certain settings.
an xray t2 009
__________________
EAM (TEAM EA MOTORSPORTS),ORCA, RC AMERICA, XRAY,HUDY,EZ CUSTOMS, RSD (REFLEX RACING) , JEFFS RC STUDIO, RCTVLIVE
Cory parsons
clparsons123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 06:30 PM   #11022
Tech Master
 
el salvador's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Western Seattle Bucko!
Posts: 1,072
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Still Bill View Post
Was thinking of getting the newest Asus Netbook with Windows 7 Starter. Has a faster Atom processor. Will Windows 7 Starter work with the 2.03 Tekin Hotwire?
I have this exact Netbook, and everythings good !
__________________
ARC R8 X2/ Max RP9 or O.S. R2101 ,Capricorn LAB C02-TOP Elite R, ARC R11....

"Every Cemetery in Chicago Votes Democrat!"
el salvador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 06:30 PM   #11023
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AxiomJacob View Post
What is a recommended FDR for a 80x50 carpet track 13.5 rubber for v203? I'm thinking 45 for timing on the speedo and the rest im wondering, first time racing onroad in 7 years.
i would gear around a 7.0 to start
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 07:57 PM   #11024
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by el salvador View Post
I have this exact Netbook, and everythings good !
Many thanks El Salvador.
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 10:07 PM   #11025
Tech Master
 
PDX-Spike's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 42
Posts: 1,440
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JLock View Post
Try what kn7671 posted a few post earlier and work around it from there. What brand of car are you running? Also, with the Duo 2, you might want to retard the motor timing on the can a little to help in keeping motor temps down with certain settings.
From what I understand, the "long" timing mark on the endbell of the Duo 2 is not zero degrees of timing. If you look at the endbell with the timing marks oriented at the bottom of the endbell, the mark to the right of the long mark is 0 timing.
__________________
Roger Christal - Team Timezone (Hooligans), Rose City Scale Racing, ROAR Member until 9/16/2012
Support the locals: Timezone Raceway, Timezone II, R/C Plus, Portland RC Raceway
McKune Design, Slapmaster Tools, Houston's Engine Service
PDX-Spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:47 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net