R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-22-2010, 10:29 AM   #10996
Tech Elite
 
JLock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,455
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

From what I have been reading on this thread, it seems like we need to retard the timing some on the motors to prevent smoking them with this v203 Tekin software. I have smoked two 17.5 motors within 6 days since jumping from v200 to v203. I will be experimenting with retarding motor timing this weekend to see if the speed and performance stays constant but lowers the motor temps in the process.
__________________
Texas 5
It's not what you know; it's what you can prove.
The only thing that is for sure is that nothing is for sure!!!
The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few, or the one.
There are 2 things in life that are infinite: the universe and stupidity.
JLock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 10:40 AM   #10997
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

What motors?
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 10:47 AM   #10998
Tech Elite
 
JLock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,455
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
What motors?
One was a Checkpoint 17.5 and the second one was a Trinity Pulse 17.5. I am currently running the Novak Ballistic 17.5 and with a better understanding of v203, I am keeping my engine temps between 110 to 130 degrees (down from 140 to 160 degrees).
__________________
Texas 5
It's not what you know; it's what you can prove.
The only thing that is for sure is that nothing is for sure!!!
The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few, or the one.
There are 2 things in life that are infinite: the universe and stupidity.
JLock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 11:01 AM   #10999
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Pulses burn up easy anyway but it probably would have liked neg timing. I know nothing about Novak motors but might be worth a try. Nemesis sounds like it has to have neg timing to run right. Tekins and Duos seem the best to me.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 11:01 AM   #11000
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

How are you guys smoking your motors? What's your FDR?
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 11:12 AM   #11001
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HB Moose View Post
The new software fixed that for me. Now runs fine on a Dell laptop with the 64 bit windows 7.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevCoult View Post
Strange Peter, that's exactly what I've done with my netbook with exactly the same results! (Plus install a proper copy of MS Office.) Now I know you are good enough with computers I'll get you to set up our race timing laptop to dual boot Vista and XP with no XP drivers next time we need to do it so I don't have to do it again myself!

I've never had a problem with any aspect of HotWire on any PC unless it was my own fault, though I admit I've not tried 64 bit.

Trev
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_dono View Post
Step 1 of any new pc purchase is to remove the rubbish it comes with




Only issue I've had with it is on a dual-boot win7/xp machine where the USB cable isn't picked up on the win7 installation, it's not a hotwire issue though as it doesn't find the GM cable either.
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgec View Post
My problems all happened on a very clean 64bit system! I also shut down AVG prior to install! It must be a small hiccup with MS 64bit OS?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred_B View Post
I had no issues installing Hotwire on a 64 bit Win 7 machine. That's Win 7 Premium not Win 7 "starter".
Quote:
Originally Posted by MUDVAYNE View Post
God I love my little Acer laptop with windows XP!
Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
dell notebook
Laptops, I use HP w/XP, friend uses Dell with Windows 7 premium. I trying to get it work on HP Pavilions Elite w/ windows 7 ultimate desktop. it won't connect with. Any suggestion will be appreciated, before seeking help w Tekin support.

Thanks.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 11:56 AM   #11002
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

windows 7 ultimate works for me without any problems
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 12:11 PM   #11003
Tech Elite
 
TommyBlazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: jersey
Posts: 2,580
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyBlazin View Post
rollout for 13.5 1c 2,500-10,500 sound alright? small track
Yes? No?
__________________
Thinking on maybe a Tekno 1/8 Nitro Buggy?
TommyBlazin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 12:15 PM   #11004
Tech Elite
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyBlazin View Post
Yes? No?

what your describing isnt rollout, it's timing advance start and end rpms.. if you want rollout, what class 12th sclale or wgt. if timing rpm's i'm at around 3500-7500 in my wgt..
__________________
WWW.STORMERHOBBIES.COM helping keep pan cars alive!

Turns out not where, but who your with that really matters... DMB
tallyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 12:19 PM   #11005
Tech Elite
 
JLock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,455
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukil View Post
How are you guys smoking your motors? What's your FDR?
At the carpet track that I run on, we had been running FDRs in the low fours. However, when I lost my Checkpoint motor, my FDR was between 4.7 and 5.5. My Pulse motor was at 4.71 FDR. It was apparent that I hit that initial glitch in v203 where the start/end rpm changed after setting (this was discussed a few pages back). When I rechecked my setting, the rpm range was not what I initially had set (closed the gap considerably between start and end rpm). If that rpm range is too close/short, it will build up heat very quickly and then poof, no motor. Now, I triple check it and have not had an issue since my Pulse incident.
__________________
Texas 5
It's not what you know; it's what you can prove.
The only thing that is for sure is that nothing is for sure!!!
The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few, or the one.
There are 2 things in life that are infinite: the universe and stupidity.
JLock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 12:26 PM   #11006
Tech Elite
 
TommyBlazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: jersey
Posts: 2,580
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tallyrc View Post
what your describing isnt rollout, it's timing advance start and end rpms.. if you want rollout, what class 12th sclale or wgt. if timing rpm's i'm at around 3500-7500 in my wgt..
that was a mistake,i have rollout down,just the start/ finish rpm for 13.5 1/12..203 software...just not sure of how high i go,and low i could start, the rest ill get to..thanks
__________________
Thinking on maybe a Tekno 1/8 Nitro Buggy?
TommyBlazin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 12:29 PM   #11007
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 267
Default

Jlock - looking forward to what the other guys on here say, but if you are running on the carpet track I think you are an FDR of 4.7 seems really low...I agree, the narrow rpm range will quickly build heat, but if over geared it will build even faster as its struggling to get on top of the gear. For 17.5 I won't go below about 5.4ish... for what its worth...
markg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 12:32 PM   #11008
Tech Elite
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyBlazin View Post
that was a mistake,i have rollout down,just the start/ finish rpm for 13.5 1/12..203 software...just not sure of how high i go,and low i could start, the rest ill get to..thanks
i don't run 12th but i pit next to some fast folks that do and they are starting around 2500 and ending around 6500-7000.. 45-50 timing advance very low turbo.. with that setting i'd work the start rpms up before i worked the end rpms down.. good luck.. can't remember his rollout..
__________________
WWW.STORMERHOBBIES.COM helping keep pan cars alive!

Turns out not where, but who your with that really matters... DMB
tallyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 12:50 PM   #11009
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JLock View Post
At the carpet track that I run on, we had been running FDRs in the low fours. However, when I lost my Checkpoint motor, my FDR was between 4.7 and 5.5. My Pulse motor was at 4.71 FDR. It was apparent that I hit that initial glitch in v203 where the start/end rpm changed after setting (this was discussed a few pages back). When I rechecked my setting, the rpm range was not what I initially had set (closed the gap considerably between start and end rpm). If that rpm range is too close/short, it will build up heat very quickly and then poof, no motor. Now, I triple check it and have not had an issue since my Pulse incident.
I read somewhere that with v203, you "would" gear your 17.5 like your 13.5 with v200 initially. Then tweak it from there depending on your track.

My 17.5 is geared at 6.2, and it's plenty fast.
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 01:15 PM   #11010
Tech Elite
 
JLock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,455
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markg View Post
Jlock - looking forward to what the other guys on here say, but if you are running on the carpet track I think you are an FDR of 4.7 seems really low...I agree, the narrow rpm range will quickly build heat, but if over geared it will build even faster as its struggling to get on top of the gear. For 17.5 I won't go below about 5.4ish... for what its worth...
With v200, my FDR of 4.5 to 4.8 was fine and motor temps were around 125 to 145 degrees. Our carpet track is bigger than what some of you are running (ours is about 75ft wide to apprx 90ft/100ft long). Much of my issue was due to the glitch that narrowed the rpm range that I did not know had happened. Now that I know that and am educating myself on the v203 software, this should not be an issue again.
__________________
Texas 5
It's not what you know; it's what you can prove.
The only thing that is for sure is that nothing is for sure!!!
The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few, or the one.
There are 2 things in life that are infinite: the universe and stupidity.
JLock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:42 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net