R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-20-2010, 06:20 AM   #10906
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grippgoat View Post
I can't sleep, so I'm looking at some sentry logs I took in the parking garage back on v200. I wrote a program to parse the XML that the sentry software writes, and converts it to a .CSV with time, throttle, rpm, and delta rpm. Excel blows, but it seems to show a little more detail on the RPM data than Sentry does.

HPI Pro 3 set up for RCGT. No body on when I was testing.
4.6 FDR
Venom 3600 NiMH battery
Tekin Redline 21.5, 0 motor timing
Vegas 200. I'm pretty sure it was 30 timing boost, and I think about 15 turbo at a delay somewhere between .5 and .7. The turbo isn't too terribly relevant to what I'm looking at right now, though.

The single most interesting thing to me is that the motor goes from a dead stop to 4000 rpm in about .2 seconds. In another .2 seconds, it's going about 5500 rpm. According to Randy, at that point the full 30 degrees of timing boost would already have been applied. In another .3 seconds, it's going 7800 rpm.

From stop
0 seconds = 0 rpm
.2 seconds = 4000 rpm
.4 seconds = 5500 rpm
.6 seconds = 7800 rpm
1 seconds = 9700 rpm
1.5 seconds = 11800 rpm
2.0 seconds = 12300 rpm
2.2 seconds = 12750 rpm, which is about where it peaked

-Mike
Hi, do you perhaps have readings for 13.5T and 17.5T motors
splarity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 10:14 AM   #10907
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,906
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Did anyone try to make a bypass for the receiver wires? Mines fit very snug and have to use pliers to take off. Would be nice if you can just plug the hotwire to an open connector.
inpuressa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 10:14 AM   #10908
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by niznai View Post
Couple of quick questions, sorry if already answered.

I had a quick look last night at v203 and it seems boost does not have a ramp choice or start/end RPM. Is this correct? ----------------------------you use the start and end rpm settings for boost.

If no choice is made for start/end RPM for turbo, does turbo still kick in (there is no turbo check box as in v200)?
----------------------------Yes if you watch the screen carefull you only get turbo when the slider is 1 or more. On 0 there is no turbo as turbo is 0. Turbo is not effected by start rpm. It is effected by delay and ramp. When there is zero turbo (timing) on the slider i gues there is no turbo. When you do use turbo then turbo will come into effect after the delay and ramp you have chosen

Cheers

You switched the normal boost and turbo settings. You use rpm with boost and .....ramp and delay for the turbo (extra timing after a certain delay)
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 10:28 AM   #10909
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
I asked also for that info and Randy told me that they can't give it because each motor is a bit different.
The numbers are like the LRP motors.
That's pretty much obvious if you are talking about differences within a manufacturer tolerance. But then it's not understandable why not give a number?

If the numbers on the other hand are so different that they exceed such a tolerance, then there's something seriously wrong and a lot of customers have the right to know why they get the weaker motors when others get the more powerful ones.

Neither possibility makes sense.

Every other manufacturer has a number given with every class of their motors, and I am pretty sure if you took ten motors from each manufacturer they will have slightly different numbers. That's normal. Which is why I find it curious to not have a number. The more so since with the release of the new software this becomes a factor in tuning the ESC setting (see Krio's tunning suggestion a few pages back).

I really hope Tekin Team can help us here.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.

Last edited by niznai; 01-20-2010 at 10:39 AM.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 10:36 AM   #10910
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inpuressa View Post
Did anyone try to make a bypass for the receiver wires? Mines fit very snug and have to use pliers to take off. Would be nice if you can just plug the hotwire to an open connector.
I'm going to be installing a 3" servo extension in between my RX and the RS on my TC for this very reason. Easier to grip without pulling the wires, and less chance of bending pins on the receiver from frequent changes.
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 10:46 AM   #10911
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lynnwood, Washington
Posts: 791
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

You don't want advanced timing in the tight/slow sections of the track.

Lower timing = more torque
Higher timing= more RPM/Top speed

For TC I would never run anything below 3k unless it's a very big wide open track where you rarely slow down.


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
by lowering the StartRPM value, you'll get the timing to start earlier you'll also give the timing advance more 'range' to increase the value...To me the lower value, gives the impression of a quicker overall car - since the timing will be starting even on the 'slower' sections of the track

I'm not a 'smooth trottle finger' guy, so I have my StartRPM set around the 1k mark on both my 12th scale and TC...and on both cars, I ran MAX timing and very low turbo (6/7 on the 12th scale and 10 on the TC) and my delay is .8 on the 12th and (i think) .7/.8 on the TC
malkiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 11:29 AM   #10912
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 267
Default

HarryLeach - I did exactly what you are talking about with the servo extension. Shortest I could find was 6", so I wadded up the wire and confined it with shrink wrap, and made an extension about 1.5" long. If you're good with soldering you could do it by cutting and splicing also. Its way better than plugging and unplugging from the receiver, which made me worry about yanking out the wires or messing up the receiver. Have used it now at the track without problems, including adjusting settings. Extension cost was about $2.99 I think, and well worth it.
markg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 11:32 AM   #10913
Tech Elite
 
JLock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,455
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markg View Post
HarryLeach - I did exactly what you are talking about with the servo extension. Shortest I could find was 6", so I wadded up the wire and confined it with shrink wrap, and made an extension about 1.5" long. If you're good with soldering you could do it by cutting and splicing also. Its way better than plugging and unplugging from the receiver, which made me worry about yanking out the wires or messing up the receiver. Have used it now at the track without problems, including adjusting settings. Extension cost was about $2.99 I think, and well worth it.
There is a company that makes a 3in extension but I can't think of the name right now. Have your LHS look into it with their distributors.
__________________
Texas 5
It's not what you know; it's what you can prove.
The only thing that is for sure is that nothing is for sure!!!
The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few, or the one.
There are 2 things in life that are infinite: the universe and stupidity.
JLock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 11:43 AM   #10914
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JLock View Post
There is a company that makes a 3in extension but I can't think of the name right now. Have your LHS look into it with their distributors.
Go to your LHS. Online shopping go to electrodynam.com. That will help ya.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 01:40 PM   #10915
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

I made my own with some connectors and a length of wire I had cut to shorten my steering servo wire. It's easy to do, you can just crimp the connectors with needle-nose pliers. I got it to the exact length I wanted, no messy wires
__________________
Agama A8 Evo | GRP .21 | Spektrum | Savox

My car just hit 88mph. I hope it comes back soon....
JR007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 01:51 PM   #10916
Tech Apprentice
 
rayhoe1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 79
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

why not a y 2 males and female?
rayhoe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 01:55 PM   #10917
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splarity View Post
Hi, do you perhaps have readings for 13.5T and 17.5T motors
I don't unfortunately. I think someone posted a log from a 17.5 several pages back, though.

I did just get a 17.5 setup for a 2nd car I'm getting set up, but it'll be a while before I get around to taking any logs from it.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 03:05 PM   #10918
Tech Master
 
PDX-Spike's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 42
Posts: 1,440
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayhoe1 View Post
why not a y 2 males and female?
I talked with my local full service LHS about getting one of those. They could not find any supplier that makes one. I got a 6" extension instead.

If anyone knows of a supplier that carries a Y connector with 2 males, let us know.
__________________
Roger Christal - Team Timezone (Hooligans), Rose City Scale Racing, ROAR Member until 9/16/2012
Support the locals: Timezone Raceway, Timezone II, R/C Plus, Portland RC Raceway
McKune Design, Slapmaster Tools, Houston's Engine Service
PDX-Spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 03:08 PM   #10919
Tech Champion
 
morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: jersey shore pa
Posts: 5,564
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

so basically i can turn down the turbo boost but up my timing to the max.
and it will still go pretty fast?

on another note if i left the turbo on and say started it at 2000 rpm vs 5400 that the turbo will kick in sooner?

and the throttle profiles do what.
as i am using 3 now.
__________________
AE/VIPER/XPERT/DIRTCHEAPRC.COM/JCONCEPTS
A big thx to all the tracks that I race at:cause if it wasnt for these guys..we wouldnt have a place to race our r/c cars!!!
morris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 03:22 PM   #10920
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by morris View Post
so basically i can turn down the turbo boost but up my timing to the max.
and it will still go pretty fast?

on another note if i left the turbo on and say started it at 2000 rpm vs 5400 that the turbo will kick in sooner?

and the throttle profiles do what.
as i am using 3 now.
the profiles are like throttle expo 1 giving a negative expo effect (smoother)and 5 giving a positive effect (more aggresive)
boosta1276 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:57 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net