R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-18-2010, 11:13 AM   #10816
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by niznai View Post
This one is for the Tekin team.
What would you say the ramp was for boost and turbo before v203? (I mean is it equivalent to 1, 2 or 3 in v203?). I need to decide what ramp to start with.

Thanks
Turbo ramp was 1 with the V200. Boost started in the V200 ad 4000RPM and came in very fast. Don't now till how many RPM.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 11:16 AM   #10817
Tech Fanatic
 
jammincrtjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thank you Tekin for such a great speed control. I ran it for the first time at the Minnreg race in Florida and the car was ridiculously fast!
__________________
NEXUS RACING www.nexusracing.com | FANTOM RACING www.fantomracing.com
ORCA www.orcarc.com | TURTLE TRAX / www.turtletraxraceway.com
--------------------------------------------------
"If you're not first...you're last!"
jammincrtjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 11:30 AM   #10818
Tech Apprentice
 
mark79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 74
Default

Randy from tekin posted the following on Oople.com and it helped me understand the ramp up better (amongst other things!):

''Motor Timing: Launch

Motor timing is an absolute. Itís effective throughout the entire range of the cars speed. This is the adjustment that should be made for the first few feet of car travel.


Timing Boost: Acceleration

The ideal start/end rpm for boost will depend on the platform/chassis being used along with track size and motor wind. The size of the range will also affect how the car pulls. A narrow rpm range will effectively produce a faster rate of boost vs. a wide range will have a slower rate of boost:

1000rpm start / 6000 end with 50 timing boost will provide 10 degrees of boost per 1000 rpm vs.
1000rpm start / 11000 end with 50 timing boost will provide 5 degrees of boost per 1000 rpm.

Spec Motors:

So far pan cars are using between 1,000 and 7,000 on most tracks. This is due to not having a gearbox and being direct drive.

TCís are showing a useable range of 2,000 to 13,000 on most tracks. This is due to having a reduction gear box.

Offroad spec is showing a range from 5,000 to 20,000 is ideal on most tracks.

Turbo Timing: Top speed

Turbo Delay: This is the time that must expire at wide open throttle to engage turbo. This is NOT dependant on RPMís in any way. Ideally this should be NO lower than .2 and in all likelyhood will be set at .4 or more. Tracks that have straights less than 80ft will likely NOT need turbo.

Turbo Ramp Rate: This is the literal ramp rate of whatever your turbo timing is set. So:

A turbo setting of 20 will give you the following reaction:
1.0 Ramp rate = 20 degrees in 1 second applied
2.0 Ramp rate = 20 degrees in .5 seconds applied
3.0 Ramp rate = 20 degrees in .30 seconds applied

So if you run timing it will just change the total applied, not the speed at which itís applied.''
__________________
AE RC8.2 powered by Picco Boost.
mark79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 01:23 PM   #10819
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

When will places like Great Planes and Horizon have the Tekin RS in stock again? Looks like there is quite a shortage right now.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 01:24 PM   #10820
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Norwalk CA
Posts: 257
Trader Rating: 21 (89%+)
Default

Aight guys.. this ESC is awesome. I used it on the track for a race this weekend.. and although it rained.. i took TQ with my xray t2 009 Didnt run the main because it started raining.

Took second qualifier with my TC5R which also has an RS. Both cars were fast.. just need a tad bit better overall setup on my tc5r.. it was a little loose.

Thanks for all your help...my sons car will soon get an RS.
RC4ODC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 01:42 PM   #10821
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 582
Default

Just got back from the North East Grand Slam race in Cincy - and tried the Rs V203 in my car and all I can say is "WOW" it's fast. Jim you got a game changer in your corner. Job well done Sir.
__________________
Awesomatix USA, AVID, Serpent USA / Desoto Racing, Team Scream, LRP, Psycho Cells Racing, Sweep Racing, T.Q. Wire, Hurricane Motorsports, Core Creations, Hobbytown USA of K.C., 2mm Design and ProLevel
BSYDOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 01:49 PM   #10822
Tech Elite
 
speedybill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belpre, Ohio
Posts: 2,346
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
When will places like Great Planes and Horizon have the Tekin RS in stock again? Looks like there is quite a shortage right now.
1/19/10
SUPPOSEDLY
thankx Bill
__________________
ROAR member #5-120259
www.speedybillsrc.com
www.ovrccc.com
Sweep Racing Tires
speedybill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 02:18 PM   #10823
Tech Master
 
Chris Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dallas,Texas
Posts: 1,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kn7671 View Post
Several people at my track are running their 13.5 motors with the following Tekin RS settings:

Timing Boost - 50
Turbo - 10
Delay - 0.8
Turbo Ramp - 3
Start RPM - 5000
End RPM - 15000
Kelly, Im running a .3 delay. Everything else is correct. FDR of 6.08
__________________
TEXASEOS.net, RcAmerica, Xray, Hudy, Protoform, Orca, Avid, 2mm Designs, Ulti Tires America

Texas EOS 2018!
Chris Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 02:51 PM   #10824
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 267
Default

Ran the RS in race environment for the first time this weekend...man that thing is fast. Had to learn how to drive the car all over again, and even though I was driving a 17.5, had to treat it more like a mod motor, with limited use of WOT.

With that said, I started to feel like the Delay was more annoying than anything. Had to plan for when it would kick in. Why wouldn't it be better to set the delay to 0.1, and control it using your throttle finger. When I hit WOT, I want the thing to go, not wait 20 or 40 ft and explode...

But man, when it goes, it GOES! At first I thought I had a problem, because it didn't seem to be going like I had thought it would from reading posts. Then I realized I wasn't actually pulling the trigger all the way. The first time I did it and it exploded I almost slammed into the boards at the end of the straight...

Can't imagine what this thing would be like with a 5.5....

Nice job Tekin...
markg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 02:54 PM   #10825
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 267
Default

Oh yeah - once I finally learned how to drive it, took TQ, then got sloppy and broke my car warming up for the main...D'oh...have to constantly remind myself to drive it like a mod motor. Too much throttle out of a corner and the sucker will push to the boards...

No worries - buddy at the track also running the RS took the main
markg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 03:38 PM   #10826
Tech Master
 
Danny-b23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 1,335
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Having a bit of a problem with my RS Pro. When I power up the car, I have steering, but the ESC lights do not flash, there is no tone, and I have no throttle. If I push the "Mode" button, the lights run up and down the light board a couple times and then go to LED1. I still have no throttle. The ESC will connect to hotwire, but none of the settings stick.

Anyone have this problem and fix it on their own? Or am I looking at sending in for repair?
Thanks in advance,

Danny
__________________
RC America|XRAY|ORCA|Motiv|EA Motorsports
Danny Buck
WCICS Rep - Round 1, Saskatoon, SK
Danny-b23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 03:42 PM   #10827
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny-b23 View Post
Having a bit of a problem with my RS Pro. When I power up the car, I have steering, but the ESC lights do not flash, there is no tone, and I have no throttle. If I push the "Mode" button, the lights run up and down the light board a couple times and then go to LED1. I still have no throttle. The ESC will connect to hotwire, but none of the settings stick.

Anyone have this problem and fix it on their own? Or am I looking at sending in for repair?
Thanks in advance,

Danny
Did you put the cable the right way in to the receiver?
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 03:51 PM   #10828
Tech Master
 
PDX-Spike's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 42
Posts: 1,440
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny-b23 View Post
Having a bit of a problem with my RS Pro. When I power up the car, I have steering, but the ESC lights do not flash, there is no tone, and I have no throttle. If I push the "Mode" button, the lights run up and down the light board a couple times and then go to LED1. I still have no throttle. The ESC will connect to hotwire, but none of the settings stick.

Anyone have this problem and fix it on their own? Or am I looking at sending in for repair?
Thanks in advance,

Danny
Did you re-bind your radio to the ESC after downloading your settings?
__________________
Roger Christal - Team Timezone (Hooligans), Rose City Scale Racing, ROAR Member until 9/16/2012
Support the locals: Timezone Raceway, Timezone II, R/C Plus, Portland RC Raceway
McKune Design, Slapmaster Tools, Houston's Engine Service
PDX-Spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 04:23 PM   #10829
Tech Master
 
Danny-b23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 1,335
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PDX-Spike View Post
Did you re-bind your radio to the ESC after downloading your settings?
The ESC won't even power up.
__________________
RC America|XRAY|ORCA|Motiv|EA Motorsports
Danny Buck
WCICS Rep - Round 1, Saskatoon, SK
Danny-b23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 04:53 PM   #10830
Tech Initiate
 
ioyasm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: chatham ont canada
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny-b23 View Post
The ESC won't even power up.

i sort of have the same problem , i downloaded a profile and safed it then went back in to put another profile on it and the speed control went blank even tryed to go in to speed control manually and there is nothing there no lights nothing .
ioyasm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:40 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net