R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-17-2010, 09:08 PM   #10771
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Go Yang!
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:12 PM   #10772
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

here is the setup that I sent Randy. but remember, this is setup for Mike's Hobby Shop in Carrolton, Texas. Your milage will vary.

AWD, I was so busy the last couple of weekends when we race, i have not even looked at my charger. just listen for it to beep that it is done. I will charge up both my cars tomorrow and let you know how much I used in stock and 13.5 I want to say that my stock car was about the same as yours. but I will let you know later tomorrow
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Tekin-v203_12th_stock.20100117.pdf (250.2 KB, 239 views)
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:13 PM   #10773
Tech Elite
 
Goingfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,454
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
i don't have a before and after. as I said earlier, I ran a practice run with no timing and no turbo and started my setting from there.
first run

timing 50
turbo 10
delay .6
rpm end 7200
rpm start 3500

ended
timing 50
turbo 6
delay .8
rpm end 6799
rpm start 3561

dropped 1 tooth to get higher rpm on straight and found not drop in rpm on infield section. if we had a way to set exactly start and end, I wanted 3000 - 6700
question how long the straight away and when you say drop one teeth ,are you running 64 or 48 pitch gear pinion?

what is you Turbo ramp?
__________________
Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.

AE 12R5.1,Tekin RS PRO
17.5 super stock T.O.P PHOTON , TAMIYA M05 Mini
CEFX.. High Velocity Racing Motor
Goingfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:19 PM   #10774
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goingfast View Post
question how long the straight away and when you say drop one teeth ,are you running 64 or 48 pitch gear pinion?

3561 is your start low RPM..is the kinda high??
What motor are you using and what is your timing on motor
the straight is 100', but with my car setup and the setup of the track. we are basically run 3/4 of an oval that is 100 x 40. I think. you can go to www.mikeshobbyshop.com and click on track camera and look at the track. the whole track is 5 rolls of carpet and I though someone told me 100' - 110'. we block off 1 roll of carpet

64 pitch. so it make it about a 91mm roll out.

i thought so as well, but when looking at the data. I was only dropping down to 2500 rpm at the very slowest point on the track. I usually run a taller rollout then most at the track, so I figured it was not bad to start timing a little later. you do not want to really add timing until the motor has time to spool. so my only other choice was in the 2300 i think.

0 can timing on a eXpress duo 17.5. the motor has like a million runs on it.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:20 PM   #10775
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goingfast View Post
question how long the straight away and when you say drop one teeth ,are you running 64 or 48 pitch gear pinion?

3561 is your start low RPM..is the kinda high??
What motor are you using and what is your timing on motor
about 100' straight
1 tooth on a 64 p pinion
after seeing the preliminary data from his sentry at our track, 3500 looks about right. Duo 1 17.5 motor with no timing in motor.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:22 PM   #10776
Tech Elite
 
Goingfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,454
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
about 100' straight
1 tooth on a 64 p pinion
after seeing the preliminary data from his sentry at our track, 3500 looks about right. Duo 2 17.5 motor with no timing in motor.
his roll out or rear tire is 40mm... ...Thanks
__________________
Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.

AE 12R5.1,Tekin RS PRO
17.5 super stock T.O.P PHOTON , TAMIYA M05 Mini
CEFX.. High Velocity Racing Motor
Goingfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:25 PM   #10777
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goingfast View Post
his roll out or rear tire is 40mm...wow the is tall...Thanks
no. roll out is 91mm. running a 40mm tire. the wheel is like 38.3

duo 1. the old stuff.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:27 PM   #10778
Tech Elite
 
Goingfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,454
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
no roll out is 91mm running a 40mm tire

duo 1. the old stuff.
got it ...Thanks
__________________
Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.

AE 12R5.1,Tekin RS PRO
17.5 super stock T.O.P PHOTON , TAMIYA M05 Mini
CEFX.. High Velocity Racing Motor
Goingfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:46 PM   #10779
Tech Master
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jer7469 View Post
was running my tekin rs today and started acting up. have been running the 203 software since it came out. it now flashes lights 1-2 and 6-7 which means wrong motor selected. i checked and brushless fw only was selected. i changed sensor wires. i changed motor also... tried 2 of each.... also put v200 program back into it and still the same issues. then put 203 back into it. reprogrammed esc 5-8 times with the same 4 lamps flashing 1-2 and 6-7. it will go into program mode for neutral-full and brake for trigger control. tried a different capacitor also with no luck. looks like this unit might need service. or does anyone else have something to try. jeremy
I purchased my Tekin RS Pro last night. I installed it and was able to get one run out of it and the same thing happened. I changed motor and sensor wire with no result. Jeff Cuffs checked it several and after doing the same you did found that if the car was on, the red wire on the motor had to be unsoldered, somehow the speedo reset itself, then solder it back on without turning the car off and it would work but when giving it throttle it wouldn't stay running. I am calling Tekin tomorrow to see what will be done as it is not even a day old. This happened to another guy at the track too.
gonzo416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:48 PM   #10780
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Am I the only one that finds it funny that Tekin's latest development has helped Novak sell a bunch of product?

Maybe they will keep producing them now that people are buying them.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:59 PM   #10781
Tech Fanatic
 
CHRIS CHAVEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Weekend Warrior
Posts: 962
Default

I need some help choosing a Tekin speedo. I only race sedan (rubber tire 13.5,17.5) on asphalt and very soon carpet. I was wondering if the "RS" was better/faster for "strictly" stock rubber sedan racing compared to the "RS-Pro"?

Have any of you guys actually tried to do an A/B type of test with the two different speedo's using the same car/motor/battery combo to see which is faster for Stock racing?
__________________
"Dirt is for growing Potatoes"
TQ RC Racing
CHRIS CHAVEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 10:11 PM   #10782
Tech Elite
 
Goingfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,454
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRIS CHAVEZ View Post
I need some help choosing a Tekin speedo. I only race sedan (rubber tire 13.5,17.5) on asphalt and very soon carpet. I was wondering if the "RS" was better/faster for "strictly" stock rubber sedan racing compared to the "RS-Pro"?

Have any of you guys actually tried to do an A/B type of test with the two different speedo's using the same car/motor/battery combo to see which is faster for Stock racing?
If you going to run mod get the RS Pro...perfomance is no differnce between two..
__________________
Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.

AE 12R5.1,Tekin RS PRO
17.5 super stock T.O.P PHOTON , TAMIYA M05 Mini
CEFX.. High Velocity Racing Motor
Goingfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 10:30 PM   #10783
Administrator
 
Matt M.'s Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,410
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo416 View Post
I purchased my Tekin RS Pro last night. I installed it and was able to get one run out of it and the same thing happened. I changed motor and sensor wire with no result. Jeff Cuffs checked it several and after doing the same you did found that if the car was on, the red wire on the motor had to be unsoldered, somehow the speedo reset itself, then solder it back on without turning the car off and it would work but when giving it throttle it wouldn't stay running. I am calling Tekin tomorrow to see what will be done as it is not even a day old. This happened to another guy at the track too.
so that is 4 of them....mine sat jeremy today and your 2....

wonder what it is???
__________________
Team Losi Racing-Team Tekin-Proline Racing-Motiv-92zero Designs-Jim Neubert Paint Design-LiveRC.com-TFR-Team Dirt Heaven-Gravity RC-Trackside

UNLESS someone like you cares a whole awful lot,nothing is going to get better. It's not. Dr. Seuss
Matt M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 10:42 PM   #10784
oze
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
if you guys don't own a data logger, you need to get one. it was amazing what the difference with guessing where to apply the timing and knowing when to apply the timing. I can tell you that if you want every bit out of your v203, you need the data logger. and the start and end rpm is track specific.
Where do you install the rpm sensor? Can you post a picture?
oze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 10:49 PM   #10785
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

The Sentry reads the RPM's via the motors sensor board. It plugs in-line with the sensor wire.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:53 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net