R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-17-2010, 05:15 PM   #10741
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 103
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Running v203 software in the weekend in 13.5 class and was amazed at the power this had. We were running outside on a 60m x 22m track with a very technical infield doing 22sec laps. My car was doing the same lap times as .12 4wd nitro class cars within 0.05 sec !!! Great work Tekin
Toolmannz2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 06:26 PM   #10742
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

if you guys don't own a data logger, you need to get one. it was amazing what the difference with guessing where to apply the timing and knowing when to apply the timing. I can tell you that if you want every bit out of your v203, you need the data logger. and the start and end rpm is track specific.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 06:40 PM   #10743
Tech Master
 
WIITA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,589
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
if you guys don't own a data logger, you need to get one. it was amazing what the difference with guessing where to apply the timing and knowing when to apply the timing. I can tell you that if you want every bit out of your v203, you need the data logger. and the start and end rpm is track specific.
Where can we pick one up and which one do you reccomend? Thanks.
WIITA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 06:44 PM   #10744
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 325
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WIITA View Post
Where can we pick one up and which one do you reccomend? Thanks.
I like my Eagle Tree Micro Logger. I think it is better than the Novak. They have been doing Datalogging for a long time....

Http://www.eagletreesystems.com

Steve Dunn
sdunnmcp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 06:45 PM   #10745
Tech Elite
 
mike ivy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Comin at ya from a distant galaxy
Posts: 2,795
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone have a Tekin setup using a Novak Ballistic 13.5 for 1/12th 1s 3.7 lipo? any help would be appreciated
__________________
[-eXpress motorsports-] [-TQ Wire-]

1/12th Fo' Life!!! R.I.P Mike Reedy, R.I.P John Williams

[-Horsham RC-] [-Jackson RC-] [-RC Car World-] [ Black Out Free 2015 ]
mike ivy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 06:48 PM   #10746
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
if you guys don't own a data logger, you need to get one. it was amazing what the difference with guessing where to apply the timing and knowing when to apply the timing. I can tell you that if you want every bit out of your v203, you need the data logger. and the start and end rpm is track specific.
what technique do you use to determine the optimal values using the data logger?
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 06:52 PM   #10747
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

i have no preference in logger because I was only looking at rpm and throttle input. so I went with novak. they had a deal on them from their site. they were 49.99, but I think all the guys at our track purchased them all because I heard they were sold out around 2pm cst today.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 06:54 PM   #10748
Moderator
 
J.Whiting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: a very small town in wisconsin that is in the middle of absolutely no where
Posts: 4,536
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

was running my tekin rs today and started acting up. have been running the 203 software since it came out. it now flashes lights 1-2 and 6-7 which means wrong motor selected. i checked and brushless fw only was selected. i changed sensor wires. i changed motor also... tried 2 of each.... also put v200 program back into it and still the same issues. then put 203 back into it. reprogrammed esc 5-8 times with the same 4 lamps flashing 1-2 and 6-7. it will go into program mode for neutral-full and brake for trigger control. tried a different capacitor also with no luck. looks like this unit might need service. or does anyone else have something to try. jeremy
__________________
Jeremy Whiting - serpent america - desoto racing - apicco race engines - RcRenew - jconcepts - Rc Pro Products - ko propo eurus - ko propo servos - VP PowerMaster Fuels - Answer-rc usa - advantage racing products - Parma/pse bodies - serpent 811 2.1 - 811t
J.Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 06:57 PM   #10749
Administrator
 
Matt M.'s Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,409
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jer7469 View Post
was running my tekin rs today and started acting up. have been running the 203 software since it came out. it now flashes lights 1-2 and 6-7 which means wrong motor selected. i checked and brushless fw only was selected. i changed sensor wires. i changed motor also... tried 2 of each.... also put v200 program back into it and still the same issues. then put 203 back into it. reprogrammed esc 5-8 times with the same 4 lamps flashing 1-2 and 6-7. it will go into program mode for neutral-full and brake for trigger control. tried a different capacitor also with no luck. looks like this unit might need service. or does anyone else have something to try. jeremy
same here jeremy

i will call you

matt
__________________
Team Losi Racing-Team Tekin-Proline Racing-Motiv-92zero Designs-Jim Neubert Paint Design-LiveRC.com-TFR-Team Dirt Heaven-Gravity RC-Trackside

UNLESS someone like you cares a whole awful lot,nothing is going to get better. It's not. Dr. Seuss
Matt M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 06:57 PM   #10750
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
what technique do you use to determine the optimal values using the data logger?
so run your car around the track with 0 timing and 0 turbo. you will be able to tell where the infield is. at this point I look at the low rpm and the high rpm of the infield. i start my timing 500 above the low and 1000 below I get to high. also with your data you should be able to see when you hit full throttle and when the motor tops out. look at the time it takes to get there from initial full throttle and that should be your delay for turbo. so now the only thing you are guessing is how much timing and how much turbo. timing I did what kelly said earlier. I ran on the bench the motor with 10,20,30,40,50 timing and then 0,5,10,15,20 turbo. to see what this did to rpms on the bench. I use that information to see how much turbo I can add. timing advance is all about feel. I find that anything more then 50 timing boost with a duo 1 and 0 can timing felt soft to me. so that is usually what I run for timing.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 07:01 PM   #10751
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
so run your car around the track with 0 timing and 0 turbo. you will be able to tell where the infield is. at this point I look at the low rpm and the high rpm of the infield. i start my timing 500 above the low and 1000 below I get to high. also with your data you should be able to see when you hit full throttle and when the motor tops out. look at the time it takes to get there from initial full throttle and that should be your delay for turbo. so now the only thing you are guessing is how much timing and how much turbo. timing I did what kelly said earlier. I ran on the bench the motor with 10,20,30,40,50 timing and then 0,5,10,15,20 turbo. to see what this did to rpms on the bench. I use that information to see how much turbo I can add. timing advance is all about feel. I find that anything more then 50 timing boost with a duo 1 and 0 can timing felt soft to me. so that is usually what I run for timing.
How do you gear the car while testing with the data logger?
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 07:05 PM   #10752
Moderator
 
J.Whiting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: a very small town in wisconsin that is in the middle of absolutely no where
Posts: 4,536
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr. losi View Post
same here jeremy

i will call you

matt
i am at home.. jeremy
__________________
Jeremy Whiting - serpent america - desoto racing - apicco race engines - RcRenew - jconcepts - Rc Pro Products - ko propo eurus - ko propo servos - VP PowerMaster Fuels - Answer-rc usa - advantage racing products - Parma/pse bodies - serpent 811 2.1 - 811t
J.Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 07:07 PM   #10753
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
How do you gear the car while testing with the data logger?
the initial run should be done as if you were running a speedo with no timing advance. that is what i used for all my testing. and then once I had the rpm, timing, turbo, and delay. that is when I played with gearing. i went down 1 tooth and saw that the motor spooled up 3000 rpm more then my previous run. I would keep doing that until I see the motor plateau at max rpm. at that point you may be able to add more turbo and see if the rpm continues to increase.

the thing you have to remember is that one change affects all the other setting as well. but it should just be refinements on where you were.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 07:14 PM   #10754
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
the initial run should be done as if you were running a speedo with no timing advance. that is what i used for all my testing. and then once I had the rpm, timing, turbo, and delay. that is when I played with gearing. i went down 1 tooth and saw that the motor spooled up 3000 rpm more then my previous run. I would keep doing that until I see the motor plateau at max rpm. at that point you may be able to add more turbo and see if the rpm continues to increase.

the thing you have to remember is that one change affects all the other setting as well. but it should just be refinements on where you were.
awesome, thanks for the reply! So in the end, after finding the optimal settings, how did your overall lap times improve?
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 07:27 PM   #10755
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

i had couple of fast laps in my first 2 run of 11.1. by the main, I had it down to a 10.779. That was the fastest lap on the track. I actually turned only 10.8 with my 13.5 car. also the motor was more even on power for the entire 8 min run. I think the laptime just dropped .4-.5sec from start to finish. it worked so well, I think every racer at the track went online through out the day to purchase a novak sentry. lol
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:50 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net