R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-17-2010, 04:02 AM   #10711
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pattojnr View Post
is my 30.48 no good for a small track ? it didnt feel as though it was still winding up at any stage.

With the V203 software larger rollouts are of no use. They will bog it down and no high speed. Yes I know it sounds back the front but that is the way it is.

Your 30.48? Try slightly higher rollout and compare. That is the great part about the Tekin. You can chnage it easily with a laptop
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 04:43 AM   #10712
Tech Elite
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
With the V203 software larger rollouts are of no use. They will bog it down and no high speed. Yes I know it sounds back the front but that is the way it is.

Your 30.48? Try slightly higher rollout and compare. That is the great part about the Tekin. You can chnage it easily with a laptop
i can swap the pinion off another car i have. that would make it a roll out of 36.02, is this the right direction ?
__________________
Serpent - Walter RC
Serpent E Power ..... Serpent 747 Reds M3T
Serpent 966-TE Reds M7T .... S411ERYX Speedpassion 3.5T, T-Shox
Serpent 811-TE REDs R5T
Pattojnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 05:45 AM   #10713
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowAu View Post
I must be the only one out here that thinks this update sucks... at least so far...

I spent 4 hours today trying to get my car to even match the speed and feel of v200 and couldn't even get close...

My setup when I gave up was -
Touring Car
Tekin 17.5
0 motor
40 boost
0 turbo
start rpm 3??? (don't remember the exact number)
end rpm 12000

Gearing was 4.66FDR which is probably still a little high but a fair way down from where I was with v200(down 2 teeth on the pinion and up 3 on the spur - one of the vagaries of the Tigermoth car is limited motor movement) but the car just wasn't working for me on the straight which is about 20m (65feet) long on a small but fast flowing track... yes I had HEAPS more punch out of the tighter turns but it seemed to run out of puff down the straight... basically like an under-geared brushed motor would..

motor temp was about 65C (150F)on a 36C day (track temp near 50C)..

Any useful thoughts?
what size is the track
most setups are in the 45-55 timing boost motor 0-10
5-10 turbo .5 delay 2 ramp
start rpm 3500-5k end 10-14k
a easy thing to do is if you are having isues with 203 go back to your 200 setup take out turbo and bump timing boost check temps regear if needed then add turbo
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 06:27 AM   #10714
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Yesterday I was making changes and noticed my "1s" box was checked. I don't have any 1s batteries. I unchecked it and applied settings. I always disconnect and reconnect to make sure that my settings take but the 1s box was checked again. I tried a different laptop with the same results. I updated my speedo again with 203 and the problem went away. Not sure why it did that but just wanted to put out the info if anyone else has the same problem. Car ran great regardless of the box.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 07:15 AM   #10715
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
Yesterday I was making changes and noticed my "1s" box was checked. I don't have any 1s batteries. I unchecked it and applied settings. I always disconnect and reconnect to make sure that my settings take but the 1s box was checked again. I tried a different laptop with the same results. I updated my speedo again with 203 and the problem went away. Not sure why it did that but just wanted to put out the info if anyone else has the same problem. Car ran great regardless of the box.
It must be something in the air at Debbies. Ricky had the same thing happen.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 08:14 AM   #10716
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
It must be something in the air at Debbies. Ricky had the same thing happen.
I think Melvin is sabotaging everyone. Just trying to keep up with his KO.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 08:17 AM   #10717
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 95
Default

After reading much on here, I tried out v203 with a Ballistic 17.5 in TC. I ran a 5.4 FDR, 50 boost, 10 turbo, ramp 2, start 4000-ish, end 12500. I had the motor set to -3 notches (furthest negative notch) after reading much about turning it all the way to the edge of the sticker, etc.

I fought with having no power in the infield all day long. I could run the entire infield with full trigger.

I set the motor back to 'N' and the car came alive. I couldn't believe how fast it was. After a six minute main and about 55* outdoor temps the motor came off at 110*. Somebody at the track suggested even going to between N and 3 positive notches (middle positive notch).

Hope that helps.
liquiddog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 08:20 AM   #10718
Tech Addict
 
Mugen10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 551
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Mugen10 Send a message via Skype™ to Mugen10
Default

That is good info on the Ballistic. That is close to what I was thinking it would be. I run the Ballistic 17.5 in 1s 12th scale and other then the RPM settings it is close to my settings. That seems to be the sweet spot for most classes and track sizes.
the only thing I would think would be better would be a higher start RPM to give it a bit more punch.
__________________
Central Kentucky Racing
$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
Xray T4
Mugen10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 08:38 AM   #10719
Administrator
 
Matt M.'s Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,410
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

hey guys....

i feer my 6 pack old rs is dead....i sent a pm to randy to ask his thoughts, but i will ask you guys also

so, here is what is happening, the 1,2-6,7 led blinks constantly...which per the manula is the wrong motor setting, i checked on the hotwire and it is in bl-fw, so it should be ok...

here is what i have tried to do to rectify the stuation.
1, swapped packs
2, swapped motors to a known working one
3, swapped the receiver
4, loaded version 200, still did it, so i reloaded 203
5, swapped sensor wires

the lights do not blink when thee is no motor attached to the esc

during the last race i used it, the truck(sc10 17.5 duo2 motor) the truck lost bottom end, i assumed it was the diff shims going bad, in reality it must have been cogging...

i fear it is in need of replacement...or am i missing something.

again, i sent a pm to randy, and tommorrow morning i will call tekin, i am just looking to see if i missed any thing....

thanks for the help
__________________
Team Losi Racing-Team Tekin-Proline Racing-Motiv-92zero Designs-Jim Neubert Paint Design-LiveRC.com-TFR-Team Dirt Heaven-Gravity RC-Trackside

UNLESS someone like you cares a whole awful lot,nothing is going to get better. It's not. Dr. Seuss
Matt M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:36 AM   #10720
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr. losi View Post
hey guys....

i feer my 6 pack old rs is dead....i sent a pm to randy to ask his thoughts, but i will ask you guys also

so, here is what is happening, the 1,2-6,7 led blinks constantly...which per the manula is the wrong motor setting, i checked on the hotwire and it is in bl-fw, so it should be ok...

here is what i have tried to do to rectify the stuation.
1, swapped packs
2, swapped motors to a known working one
3, swapped the receiver
4, loaded version 200, still did it, so i reloaded 203
5, swapped sensor wires

the lights do not blink when thee is no motor attached to the esc

during the last race i used it, the truck(sc10 17.5 duo2 motor) the truck lost bottom end, i assumed it was the diff shims going bad, in reality it must have been cogging...

i fear it is in need of replacement...or am i missing something.

again, i sent a pm to randy, and tommorrow morning i will call tekin, i am just looking to see if i missed any thing....

thanks for the help
I've had this twice now. The first was with an R1 that I had to send back for repair. The second was with the RS. If you have any solder (could be a very small sliver) that is grounding out two poles, the speedo will see brushed mode. I rewired mine and found a very small sliver of solder at the base of two poles. Cleaned it up and replaced the wires... problem solved.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:40 AM   #10721
Administrator
 
Matt M.'s Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,410
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
I've had this twice now. The first was with an R1 that I had to send back for repair. The second was with the RS. If you have any solder (could be a very small sliver) that is grounding out two poles, the speedo will see brushed mode. I rewired mine and found a very small sliver of solder at the base of two poles. Cleaned it up and replaced the wires... problem solved.
i will go look....thanks...
__________________
Team Losi Racing-Team Tekin-Proline Racing-Motiv-92zero Designs-Jim Neubert Paint Design-LiveRC.com-TFR-Team Dirt Heaven-Gravity RC-Trackside

UNLESS someone like you cares a whole awful lot,nothing is going to get better. It's not. Dr. Seuss
Matt M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:45 AM   #10722
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

My 12th scale 10.5 setup for 203 from the Chesterfield club meeting last night. No sweepers so I decided to try without any turbo boost. Worked well, maybe will try a little more timing boost next time.

Trev
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS ESC sensored-chesterfield1100116.jpg  
__________________
Schumacher Atom GT12
Schumacher Eclipse 12th
www.carsrcracing.co.uk
CARSrcracing.co.uk Webmaster
Schumacher Racing
TrevCoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:55 AM   #10723
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Trev. Looks almost identical to what I ran except I had some turbo and maybe a bit more rollout (track was small but pretty sweepy).
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 10:04 AM   #10724
Administrator
 
Matt M.'s Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,410
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
I've had this twice now. The first was with an R1 that I had to send back for repair. The second was with the RS. If you have any solder (could be a very small sliver) that is grounding out two poles, the speedo will see brushed mode. I rewired mine and found a very small sliver of solder at the base of two poles. Cleaned it up and replaced the wires... problem solved.
nope, not it....

in fact i put my ko in, and it works fine.....
__________________
Team Losi Racing-Team Tekin-Proline Racing-Motiv-92zero Designs-Jim Neubert Paint Design-LiveRC.com-TFR-Team Dirt Heaven-Gravity RC-Trackside

UNLESS someone like you cares a whole awful lot,nothing is going to get better. It's not. Dr. Seuss
Matt M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 10:30 AM   #10725
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

How many total degrees of timing is the v203 giving you guys running this speedo. If I am correct you can get 50deg. in the speedo alone and an "x" amount on the motor. What are the total degrees you guys are running and what ratio's are you doing this at?

I also would like the info for you v200's if possible.


Thanks,
__________________
Houston,Texas
Serpent 733 EVO
Mikes Hobby shop-Porter Texas/ Gulf coast Raceway"Electric Is For Hairdryers"..Eric Koger
Chris [email protected]
Tha Skinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:43 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net