R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-13-2010, 01:43 PM   #10561
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

Should not take any special dancing. It is not that complicated and has not been a problem in previous versions. Honestly we do not see any loss of settings here, but we are listening and looking at it. I have changed the boost rpm range at least 50 times today on my desk and hundreds of times during testing and we have never seen it.... but we believe everyone and we are looking.

If we can recreate it, we can find it and fix it.

Tekin Prez
__________________
[email protected]
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 01:47 PM   #10562
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Norwalk CA
Posts: 257
Trader Rating: 21 (89%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
This is the procedure we all follow but sometimes the settings don't take effect. (your steps don't include checking your settings so you may not know that it works for you). It seemed like if I made a change to anything besides the RPM ranges after changing the RPM range then the settings for the RPM don't take place.

It doesn't help that the program doesn't follow proper UI standards.
My system after doing the update and setting it up. does not show v203 only 200, 198 and some other one that i dont recall right now. Well i used the 200 and all my settings were accepted on the esc. I went to calibrate radio and after calibration it just has the red lights blinking.. i guess its supposed to find neutral again and its not... any suggestions. it was working fine....with the previous version? also is it supposed to show 203 or just the 200??? thanks
RC4ODC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 01:49 PM   #10563
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

You have the vista secret file issue. There is a step by step on the Hotwire webpage to take care of it.

Fortunately from this version on this will not be a problem. We solved the vista riddle and all updates from here should be auto.
__________________
[email protected]
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 01:56 PM   #10564
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slapmaster6000 View Post
I've got an email conversation going on with my buddies and need some clarification on Turbo Boost. Is the Turbo Boost timing activated after Turbo Delay once the trigger hits full throttle ..... OR ..... is the Turbo Boost timing activated after the Turbo Delay once End RPM has been achieved? The latter seems to make more sense and bench testing confirms that, but I read other postings that say the first is accurate.

Thoughts?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slapmaster6000 View Post
OK, just want to prevent doing something foolish here. So it's possible to set a 0.0 Turbo Delay with Turbo Timing at max, stab it off the line and Turbo Timing will be coming in before or at the same time as the Boost Timing. This could be a real scenario either at the start or out of any 180 style corner. This sounds like a very inefficient idea, so I wont do it. I guess it surprises me that Turbo Delay is between .0-1.0 and not higher. I don't think that any car can reach it's near top speed in less then a second. With that in mind, some overlap must be required for all this to work correctly. I see several guys using a .5 delay. Any track less then 80' straight shouldn't need Turbo anyway according to posts. OK!
Brian, I hope this will clarify it for your buddies.

Turbo Boost is independent of anything else you set on the speedo. Turbo Boost is activated as soon as the speedo detects full throttle throw, or 'wide open throttle' (WOT) as Randy calls it! So, if you set Turbo Boost at 10, with a delay of 0.5, then the speedo will give the motor 10 degress of timing after WOT has been held for 0.5 secs.

The problem is that if you pile too much timing into the motor at low revs, it cannot gain speed, and converts all the energy from the cells it can't use into heat - hence the temps go up.

Get your infield speed and acceleration right first, so the car is picking up well off the turn. Balance gear ratio and Timing Boost to do this. Once that is done, you can add in Turbo Boost to get more straightaway speed.

It's really very simple, but sometimes explanations are liable to make it seem complicated! I hope this helps.
SlowerOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 02:08 PM   #10565
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

Scratch that, I just saw it on my desk. When we do not like what we are reading we fall back to defaults. We are on it.

We needed a 4.1 Hotwire to clean up some other things anyway including the netbook interface.

You know we are working on 204 and listening to feedback right now as well
__________________
[email protected]
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 02:11 PM   #10566
Tech Master
 
PDX-Spike's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 42
Posts: 1,440
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowerOne View Post
Brian, I hope this will clarify it for your buddies.

Turbo Boost is independent of anything else you set on the speedo. Turbo Boost is activated as soon as the speedo detects full throttle throw, or 'wide open throttle' (WOT) as Randy calls it! So, if you set Turbo Boost at 10, with a delay of 0.5, then the speedo will give the motor 10 degress of timing after WOT has been held for 0.5 secs.

The problem is that if you pile too much timing into the motor at low revs, it cannot gain speed, and converts all the energy from the cells it can't use into heat - hence the temps go up.

Get your infield speed and acceleration right first, so the car is picking up well off the turn. Balance gear ratio and Timing Boost to do this. Once that is done, you can add in Turbo Boost to get more straightaway speed.

It's really very simple, but sometimes explanations are liable to make it seem complicated! I hope this helps.
Very well said. Makes it perfectly clear. Thanks.
__________________
Roger Christal - Team Timezone (Hooligans), Rose City Scale Racing, ROAR Member until 9/16/2012
Support the locals: Timezone Raceway, Timezone II, R/C Plus, Portland RC Raceway
McKune Design, Slapmaster Tools, Houston's Engine Service
PDX-Spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 02:13 PM   #10567
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
We needed a 4.1 Hotwire to clean up some other things anyway including the netbook interface.
ooooo a netbook interface, I can't wait

For what its worth, the interface in the 4.0 hotwire worked better on the acer netbook i've been using
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 02:17 PM   #10568
Tech Elite
 
Slapmaster6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Edmonds, Wash.
Posts: 3,050
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the clarifications. I too have had my laptop appear to have the default settings show back up after a run. I thought it was the laptop struggling. Just a simple verification of the settings is all I need for the time being.

Brian
__________________
Stay dialed my friends!
www.slapmastertools.com
Team Roche USA
Team Orca orcharc.com
Slapmaster6000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 02:30 PM   #10569
Tech Master
 
CCristo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Millbury, MA
Posts: 1,439
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Could some one clarify the behavior of reverse when using the BL-DL motor setting? It seems that sometimes my car goes into reverse quickly, other times I have to wait much longer. I have a NW of 20, so I don't think it's an issue with finding neutral. I wish there was an option to double pump to go into reverse the like orange speedos.....
__________________
Chris Cristo

Pro-Line RacingHobbywingMIPBOOMrcFutabaPT RC Racing Oils
CCristo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 02:45 PM   #10570
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
Scratch that, I just saw it on my desk. When we do not like what we are reading we fall back to defaults. We are on it.

We needed a 4.1 Hotwire to clean up some other things anyway including the netbook interface.

You know we are working on 204 and listening to feedback right now as well
If 204 involves a flux capacitor, who is going to pay for the burnt up rug.
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 03:06 PM   #10571
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,103
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CCristo View Post
Could some one clarify the behavior of reverse when using the BL-DL motor setting? It seems that sometimes my car goes into reverse quickly, other times I have to wait much longer. I have a NW of 20, so I don't think it's an issue with finding neutral. I wish there was an option to double pump to go into reverse the like orange speedos.....
My understanding has been the speed control is looking for the trigger to be at "neutral" for X amount of time before reverse is engaged. Repeated quick stabs won't engage reverse.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 03:27 PM   #10572
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
If 204 involves a flux capacitor, who is going to pay for the burnt up rug.
i want to know what battery will give 1.21 Gigawatts of power what a lightning pack from smc
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 03:28 PM   #10573
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
If 204 involves a flux capacitor, who is going to pay for the burnt up rug.
but that's only if you're hitting 88 mph
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 03:30 PM   #10574
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,140
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
Scratch that, I just saw it on my desk. When we do not like what we are reading we fall back to defaults. We are on it.

We needed a 4.1 Hotwire to clean up some other things anyway including the netbook interface.

You know we are working on 204 and listening to feedback right now as well


Awesome, thank you. I thought I was the only one with interface issues. Can't wait for the "plain" netbook interface!
Chris Furman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 03:31 PM   #10575
Tech Elite
 
JLock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,455
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
i want to know what battery will give 1.21 Gigawatts
Give Max Amps or ThunderPower a shot, they will have a battery like that on the market soon at the rate they are going!!!! Could you imagine that as a C rating?
__________________
Texas 5
It's not what you know; it's what you can prove.
The only thing that is for sure is that nothing is for sure!!!
The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few, or the one.
There are 2 things in life that are infinite: the universe and stupidity.
JLock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:14 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net