R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-10-2010, 10:44 AM   #10411
Tech Apprentice
 
LocalRacer83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 88
Send a message via AIM to LocalRacer83 Send a message via Yahoo to LocalRacer83
Default

I just recently purchased a tekin system. I hooked it up to my motor Novak ballisitc 13.5 and calibrated the throttle, setup the esc with the new 203 software. here are my setting. Drag 35, throttle profile 4, boost 50, turbo 10, rpm range 4500- 10000. delay .1 and ramp is set at 2. All the motor and esc wires including the sensor wires are connected correctly and are not touching. When I go to run the car it coggs and and stalls at the start. The esc does not get hot and the motor does not get hot when this happens. I have reclaibrated, resetup the esc, and went over the installation guide. How can i identify whether this is the motor, esc, or user error? Both esc and motor are new. Please help. Thanks


this is the 2nd sensor wire I have tried...same problem. My fdr is 8. I will try turning down the advance on the motor, although i havent put any advance on the motor. It still how is came from factory.
__________________
Xray*KO Propo*SMC*Jaco*Epic*Hobby Hangout
"Again, racing for me is about energy management."
LocalRacer83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 11:15 AM   #10412
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 26
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Sharpe View Post
This eLogger V3 system is wired in series between the battery and the ESC, which is nice because it doesn't tax an already overloaded BEC. However, it needs more than 5.5v at all times, so it would need to be run off the receiver battery pack in a 1c 1/12 car. Not a big deal, but we'd need to find out how many mAh it pulls. FYI, this 150A unit with three sensors and two extra Dean's plugs weighs 42g. The 100A unit with the Dean's plugs weighs a bit less!

It was very interesting to set my Turbo Delay based on the RPM graph! Using the time scale on the lower axis, I simply looked at the point on the RPM line where it began to relax or lose slope. The corresponding time was 0.5sec. I then looked at the longest sections of the infield throttle trace for areas that were as long or longer than 0.5sec. There was just one place, and it was exactly 0.5sec, so I set the Turbo Delay to 0.5sec and my motor temps went down by about 40deg! I have a temp sensor on the motor which also logs data, so I can see the temps rise throughout the race. Later in the night I made a drastic change to timing settings and melted an orange motor, but it was interesting to see the temperature rise on the graph. It rose to 150'F by the two minute mark, but didn't budge until the 5 minute mark. During the last minute of that race, the motor temp rose another 40'F, up to 200'F! Moral of the story, even raw data can't stop us from making poor timing decisions. But I did learn alot from it.
i just ordered a elogger v3 with an RPM sensor and a temp sensor, i can't believe it wasn't more expensive.. i hope to find some usefull data for setups i've also ordered a 13.5T duo2 and a 17.5T duo2 motors, i have a tekin 21.5T and a lrp X12 21.5T.. i will try to make some trial runs with them all by the end of the month with the elogger .. i run a xray t3 rubber and 2s lipo. track is small/medium carpet,. 300 square meters.
I hope i can get some usefull data that might be helpfull to someone here.
even though my driving is unique like everyone else.
pawmadsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 11:15 AM   #10413
Tech Champion
 
hanulec's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 8,559
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Sharpe View Post
This eLogger V3 system is wired in series between the battery and the ESC, which is nice because it doesn't tax an already overloaded BEC. However, it needs more than 5.5v at all times, so it would need to be run off the receiver battery pack in a 1c 1/12 car. Not a big deal, but we'd need to find out how many mAh it pulls. FYI, this 150A unit with three sensors and two extra Dean's plugs weighs 42g. The 100A unit with the Dean's plugs weighs a bit less!

It was very interesting to set my Turbo Delay based on the RPM graph! Using the time scale on the lower axis, I simply looked at the point on the RPM line where it began to relax or lose slope. The corresponding time was 0.5sec. I then looked at the longest sections of the infield throttle trace for areas that were as long or longer than 0.5sec. There was just one place, and it was exactly 0.5sec, so I set the Turbo Delay to 0.5sec and my motor temps went down by about 40deg! I have a temp sensor on the motor which also logs data, so I can see the temps rise throughout the race. Later in the night I made a drastic change to timing settings and melted an orange motor, but it was interesting to see the temperature rise on the graph. It rose to 150'F by the two minute mark, but didn't budge until the 5 minute mark. During the last minute of that race, the motor temp rose another 40'F, up to 200'F! Moral of the story, even raw data can't stop us from making poor timing decisions. But I did learn alot from it.
I think we all learned a lot last night. Thanks Sharpe!
All in all - you don't need these cool tools, but it sure was fun too see all of the data Greg had. What really helps if people are willing to share information with one another. There is really no better place to share information then at the race track!!!
__________________
FJ / ROAR #2-122945 / MaxRotation FPV Drone Racing / [email protected] Awesomatix USA / Wild Turbo Fan / Mon-Tech Racing / RocheRC USA / Side Piece /
LRP / John's BSR Tires / TeamEAM / TQ Wire / R1 / Team Scream / PCR / MIX
RacerLog wiki Awesomatix A700 / 2wd offroad 4 life
hanulec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 11:17 AM   #10414
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 26
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LocalRacer83 View Post
I just recently purchased a tekin system. I hooked it up to my motor Novak ballisitc 13.5 and calibrated the throttle, setup the esc with the new 203 software. here are my setting. Drag 35, throttle profile 4, boost 50, turbo 10, rpm range 4500- 10000. delay .1 and ramp is set at 2. All the motor and esc wires including the sensor wires are connected correctly and are not touching. When I go to run the car it coggs and and stalls at the start. The esc does not get hot and the motor does not get hot when this happens. I have reclaibrated, resetup the esc, and went over the installation guide. How can i identify whether this is the motor, esc, or user error? Both esc and motor are new. Please help. Thanks


this is the 2nd sensor wire I have tried...same problem. My fdr is 8. I will try turning down the advance on the motor, although i havent put any advance on the motor. It still how is came from factory.
if i remember right the orange motor comes with 30 degree of timing so with 50 + 10 + 30 = 90 you are WAY WAY overtimed..

set your tekin to 0 boost and 0 turbo and see if that helps the cogging..
pawmadsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 11:45 AM   #10415
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LocalRacer83 View Post
I just recently purchased a tekin system. I hooked it up to my motor Novak ballisitc 13.5 and calibrated the throttle, setup the esc with the new 203 software. here are my setting. Drag 35, throttle profile 4, boost 50, turbo 10, rpm range 4500- 10000. delay .1 and ramp is set at 2. All the motor and esc wires including the sensor wires are connected correctly and are not touching. When I go to run the car it coggs and and stalls at the start. The esc does not get hot and the motor does not get hot when this happens. I have reclaibrated, resetup the esc, and went over the installation guide. How can i identify whether this is the motor, esc, or user error? Both esc and motor are new. Please help. Thanks
try reload the software by going back to 200 or 198 and then re install 203.
Also reduce boost and increase timing delay.
Make sure to recalibrate the esc to radio after all settings are done.
also check and make sure you have brushless/forward selected.
as mentioned above the Novak motors have a lot of timing and it been suggested to back off the timing on the motor.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 11:57 AM   #10416
Tech Adept
 
GetnFasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 117
Default

LocalRacer83,
I run 13.5 ballistic on 100x45 asphalt, here is my setings its fast
Motor = N
drag brake = 20
break strength = 40
timing bost = 50
profile = 5
turbo boost = 8
turbo delay = .2
start rpm = ~2800
end rpm = 8500
ramp = 2
fdr = 7.97
temp after 6 min race - 135f - 140f
I played with rpm range throughout the day, started high (~7000 - 12000)
my lap times dropped from 9.9 in firstQ to 9.4 in the main.
GetnFasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 12:17 PM   #10417
Tech Apprentice
 
LocalRacer83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 88
Send a message via AIM to LocalRacer83 Send a message via Yahoo to LocalRacer83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LocalRacer83 View Post
I just recently purchased a tekin system. I hooked it up to my motor Novak ballisitc 13.5 and calibrated the throttle, setup the esc with the new 203 software. here are my setting. Drag 35, throttle profile 4, boost 50, turbo 10, rpm range 4500- 10000. delay .1 and ramp is set at 2. All the motor and esc wires including the sensor wires are connected correctly and are not touching. When I go to run the car it coggs and and stalls at the start. The esc does not get hot and the motor does not get hot when this happens. I have reclaibrated, resetup the esc, and went over the installation guide. How can i identify whether this is the motor, esc, or user error? Both esc and motor are new. Please help. Thanks


this is the 2nd sensor wire I have tried...same problem. My fdr is 8. I will try turning down the advance on the motor, although i havent put any advance on the motor. It still how is came from factory.

I think I had the timing too high for the 203v software. I back off to 40 timi on esc, 5 turbo, and it seems better. Thanks for the help.
__________________
Xray*KO Propo*SMC*Jaco*Epic*Hobby Hangout
"Again, racing for me is about energy management."
LocalRacer83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 12:41 PM   #10418
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 901
Trader Rating: 88 (100%+)
Default New to Tekin

I just bought an RS to run in my Xray T3. I'll be running it for the first time at a medium sized carpet track then at snowbirds. I'll be running it with a 13.5 Nemesis motor. Any setup recommendations? Also, should I have bought a RS pro instead?
tcdrvr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 01:24 PM   #10419
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,625
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcdrvr2 View Post
I just bought an RS to run in my Xray T3. I'll be running it for the first time at a medium sized carpet track then at snowbirds. I'll be running it with a 13.5 Nemesis motor. Any setup recommendations? Also, should I have bought a RS pro instead?
If that 13.5 is anything like my 17.5 Nemesis, throw it in the trash.

RS should be fine, the pro is for low turn modified motors.
EVILGRAFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 02:05 PM   #10420
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 282
Default 1st Time out

Ran my rs pro for the 1st time today in an xray t2 009 with a 13.5 Ballistic motor on a 30x 16 metre carpet track with rubber tyres. Im using v203 software and I started with out the turbo to get my gear ratio sorted then for the first final I brought in the turbo. Now all the this turbo stuff is new to me so here goes........... HOLLY CRAP !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have never seen my car or any 13.5 car go that fast. When the turbo kicked in my car took off and left every thing standing. I had people comming up to me to see what I was running. There are other people using a tekin but not with the new v203 software.
My setup was
drag brake 20
brake 100
throttle profile 4
timing boost 45
turbo boost 15
turbo delay 0.4
turbo ramp 2
neutral width 10
motor timing N or 0
overal gear ratio 6.5 and really fast !!!
__________________
XRAY T4 Hobbywing V3 Sanwa
FLAT OUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 04:03 PM   #10421
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

I'm working on a website for setups and tips how to find a good setup.
As you want I can post your setups on the site. You can put info about it with it.

http://www.mikky32.com/

I can use some help with it about info and setup tips.
As you have so or info about the Tekin, let me now. I will gather info from this topic that Randy posted here.

Tell me also if there are mistakes in it.


I do this to help the people that send me questions about setups and how to install there hotwire and update the speedo.
I hope that I can help them this way better and faster because I can't reply every day.

Greetings Emiel

I hope Tekin find's it ok that I do this.
Randy as you have some info that I may post pleas send it to me.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 05:25 PM   #10422
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Wow!!!

I got to use the new 203 software today after a very difficult time getting it (don't ask, it's a long sad story).

Went to the track with a two year old RS Pro on version 189. Updated the RS with a friend's PC to 203 to use in a AE RC12R5.1 with a Tekin 13.5. Set it up with no turbo boost to zero in on the gearing. The car was the fastest I had ever had it and it came off an 8 minute run at 95*. OK up the gearing, oops, ran out of space and need smaller spurs.

Awesome, can't wait to get my RSes and Hotwire back from Tekin to try it again.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 06:01 PM   #10423
Tech Fanatic
 
jammincrtjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
I'm working on a website for setups and tips how to find a good setup.
As you want I can post your setups on the site. You can put info about it with it.

http://www.mikky32.com/

I can use some help with it about info and setup tips.
As you have so or info about the Tekin, let me now. I will gather info from this topic that Randy posted here.

Tell me also if there are mistakes in it.


I do this to help the people that send me questions about setups and how to install there hotwire and update the speedo.
I hope that I can help them this way better and faster because I can't reply every day.

Greetings Emiel

I hope Tekin find's it ok that I do this.
Randy as you have some info that I may post pleas send it to me.
Im having issues with your xps file format. Any suggestions?
__________________
NEXUS RACING www.nexusracing.com | FANTOM RACING www.fantomracing.com
ORCA www.orcarc.com | TURTLE TRAX / www.turtletraxraceway.com
--------------------------------------------------
"If you're not first...you're last!"
jammincrtjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 06:09 PM   #10424
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Default

Thanks Jeff! I didn't check this thread until just now or I would have took you up on the offer.



QUOTE=A-Ko;6830651]I have been running around a 4.6 with middle hole duo I.
If you come to hadley tomorrow I will have my laptop hotwire setup with the V203 software if you want to make you changes.[/QUOTE]
outlandr91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 06:28 PM   #10425
Tech Elite
 
JFuel11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central IL
Posts: 3,584
Trader Rating: 152 (100%+)
Default Nemesis Motor

Quote:
Originally Posted by EVILGRAFX View Post
If that 13.5 is anything like my 17.5 Nemesis, throw it in the trash.

RS should be fine, the pro is for low turn modified motors.
Hello,

What type of issues have you had with your 17.5 Nemesis? I run a 17.5 and a 13.5 and have had great luck with these so far and have found more than enough power. I have found you have to gear them very different from the duo and duo2 motors. They really don't like to be overgeared and like to run smaller rollouts than other motors.

Just my -98cents worth.
JFuel11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:11 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net