R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-08-2010, 06:10 PM   #10306
Tech Elite
 
TommyBlazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: jersey
Posts: 2,580
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
I wouldn't say this new version isn't better on a short track. The testing I did Monday with a friends 1/12th scale on a small track with the new version gave more infield rip then I have ever seen in a brushless car. Well set-up Tekins have always had great top end but the advantage with his car was the speed in the infield. It felt like an old brushed mod car. Despite the chassis being a bit off, I was running TQ times with his car. I'm dropping a nearly identical speedo/motor set-up in my car right now and have high hopes for a victory this weekend.
care to share how you set it up to rip on the small track, and how short a track was it? thanks bro...

tommy
__________________
Thinking on maybe a Tekno 1/8 Nitro Buggy?
TommyBlazin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 06:15 PM   #10307
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyBlazin View Post
care to share how you set it up to rip on the small track, and how short a track was it? thanks bro...

tommy
Unfortunately my buddy Ricky was in charge of esc set-up. He got it from someone that posted it in here though. I'll be racing tomorrow so I'll try to write everything down and post something on it.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 06:25 PM   #10308
Tech Elite
 
TommyBlazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: jersey
Posts: 2,580
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

yea that would be cool, also whats the size of the small track, i have a local small track where i can do some practicing so id be real interested with what you come up with...thanx again man..track im talking about has a decent infield with a straight of maybe 48 feet,or less


tommy
__________________
Thinking on maybe a Tekno 1/8 Nitro Buggy?
TommyBlazin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 06:36 PM   #10309
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I'm not sure of the dimensions but if you have ever been to The Track in MD, it's maybe just a bit more than half that size.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 07:07 PM   #10310
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,307
Default

Hey guys, I'm having a small problem with my new RS. After I calibrated it and set it up for lipo and brushless I applied a little throttle, the motor didn't seem like it was moving very fast so I applied full throttle and it still didn't seem to go fast. I know you're not supposed to pull full throttle with a brushless in a no load situation but the motor wasn't moving that fast so there was no damage. I have a duo I, the timing is set in the middle hole. The led lights are moving in sequence as I pull the trigger. T he current limiter is set at 13, the motor is running in the right direction and I've calibrated it twice. Any help would be appreciated.
outlandr91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 07:13 PM   #10311
Tech Regular
 
MaxSp97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Camarino
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by outlandr91 View Post
Hey guys, I'm having a small problem with my new RS. After I calibrated it and set it up for lipo and brushless I applied a little throttle, the motor didn't seem like it was moving very fast so I applied full throttle and it still didn't seem to go fast. I know you're not supposed to pull full throttle with a brushless in a no load situation but the motor wasn't moving that fast so there was no damage. I have a duo I, the timing is set in the middle hole. The led lights are moving in sequence as I pull the trigger. T he current limiter is set at 13, the motor is running in the right direction and I've calibrated it twice. Any help would be appreciated.
Current Limiter (OFF).
Are you using Hotwire?
Post the setting everyone here will help you out.
__________________
Calvin. L
JOY IS IMPATIENT...
COTA Home Of The F1 US Grand Prix
MaxSp97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 07:23 PM   #10312
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by outlandr91 View Post
Hey guys, I'm having a small problem with my new RS. After I calibrated it and set it up for lipo and brushless I applied a little throttle, the motor didn't seem like it was moving very fast so I applied full throttle and it still didn't seem to go fast. I know you're not supposed to pull full throttle with a brushless in a no load situation but the motor wasn't moving that fast so there was no damage. I have a duo I, the timing is set in the middle hole. The led lights are moving in sequence as I pull the trigger. T he current limiter is set at 13, the motor is running in the right direction and I've calibrated it twice. Any help would be appreciated.
Did you reset your speedo after updating it to the V203?
Recalibrate after it and set it in sensord mode?
What is your current setup?
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 07:27 PM   #10313
Tech Elite
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,883
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default

i'm guessing the current limiter is only able to be set with the quick setup buttons and not with hot wire? when using hot wire is the current limiter automatically turned off?
LOW ET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 07:32 PM   #10314
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Whit the buttons set. Did you set it ad 6 or 7?
That are custom settings and not there yet.
Set it ad max on 5.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 07:53 PM   #10315
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,307
Default

Thanks for the fast responses! I haven't really got a complete setup
DB @1
BS @ 1
LM @ 13
NW @ 5
TP @ 5
MT @ 1
VC @ 2
I haven't used my hotwire or downloaded v 203
Something that Mikky32 wrote has me thinking. He mentioned setting it to sensored mode, how is that done?
Another thing I noticed is that after I turn the esc on it chimes, flashes the led lights and then the # 4 led turns on. Is that normal?
outlandr91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 08:09 PM   #10316
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by outlandr91 View Post
Thanks for the fast responses! I haven't really got a complete setup
DB @1
BS @ 1
LM @ 13
NW @ 5
TP @ 5
MT @ 1
VC @ 2
I haven't used my hotwire or downloaded v 203
Something that Mikky32 wrote has me thinking. He mentioned setting it to sensored mode, how is that done?
Another thing I noticed is that after I turn the esc on it chimes, flashes the led lights and then the # 4 led turns on. Is that normal?
Put it back on your hotwire. There are on the rigt site 4 small white boxes that you can chose. One of them is sensord mode. Check that one and you see also that the 2 most right bars chaghe to timing boost and turbo boost.

I think that it's best to reset the speedo furst, than recalibrate with your redio and after that connect it to the hotwire and set it into sensort mode and set your settings.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 08:18 PM   #10317
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 906
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default a little help

This software is pretty neat with all the adjustments that you can do. I am a rookie to the touring car scene and I went out and played with the new software today. I had some heat issues and wanted any suggestions that anyone has. This is what I was running:

motor: LRP vector X11 17.5
car: TC5R
battery: ProTek 2 cell 5000 mah 35C
track: indoor carpet
drag brake: 20
brake: 100
neutral: 10
throttle profile: 5
push: OFF
timing boost: 50
turbo boost: 10
delay: 0.2
end RPM: 7001
start RPM: 2437
turbo ramp: 3.0
FDR: 6.0

Ran for 4-5 minutes. Very fast and then very hot - 191 degrees!

My thoughts were to do the following or a combination there of:
up the end RPM,
gear for an FDR of 6.5-7.0,
lower timing to 45ish and
possibly drop turbo.

These are all some what guesses as what to do. Just hoping someone could give me anymore ideas or verify that my guesses are correct. Thanks in advance.
storytyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 08:21 PM   #10318
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by storytyme View Post

My thoughts were to do the following or a combination there of:
up the end RPM,
gear for an FDR of 6.5-7.0,
lower timing to 45ish and
possibly drop turbo.

These are all some what guesses as what to do. Just hoping someone could give me anymore ideas or verify that my guesses are correct. Thanks in advance.
Also, increasing the delay could help.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 08:22 PM   #10319
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

what size track,
on a small carpet raise the delay and try turbo down to 5,if it still gets hot raise the spur a couple teeth.
the x11 is set at 12 deg,lower the timing boost 43-45
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 08:53 PM   #10320
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 906
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Not sure the dimensions of the track, maybe 60-70 feet on the straightaway. Thanks for the fact of the 12 degree timing on X11. That was something I wanted to know, but never could find out.
storytyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:54 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net