R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-08-2010, 01:43 PM   #10291
Company Representative
 
SweepRacingUSA's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: www.SweepRacingUSA.com
Posts: 1,743
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcel p View Post
great idea
the in and out servo plug bugs me also great time
is it posible to do it with a y servo cable?
yes a Y connector works.

I dont like that mini USB idea, it will put more weight and foot print to it. just having a piece of tape on the plug works for me.
SweepRacingUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 01:49 PM   #10292
oze
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by da_John_wee View Post
yes a Y connector works.

just having a piece of tape on the plug works for me.
Are you sure about the Y connector? I think leaving the receiver connected will create a problem.

I tried the tape. Did not work because it made the plug thicker and therefore it was even more hard to pull out. Actually it was so hard that the tape itself teared.
oze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 01:55 PM   #10293
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Me software for a Blackberry would be nice with "camera style" usb. Talk about dialing in while running and not going back to the pits. That would be sweet. That's just me.
Isaac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 02:10 PM   #10294
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

the Y conector was talked about months ago and it powers the esc so there is a problem. but a plug like the sensor plug would be great
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 02:11 PM   #10295
Company Representative
 
SweepRacingUSA's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: www.SweepRacingUSA.com
Posts: 1,743
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oze View Post
Are you sure about the Y connector? I think leaving the receiver connected will create a problem.

I tried the tape. Did not work because it made the plug thicker and therefore it was even more hard to pull out. Actually it was so hard that the tape itself teared.
yes few ppl tried a Y conn no problem, I run a Novak XXtra RX having no problem with a tape, maybe you can enlarge your Rx slot little bit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
the Y conector was talked about months ago and it powers the esc so there is a problem. but a plug like the sensor plug would be great
I don't remeber reading that, I must missed that. it may turn RX on...hmmm
SweepRacingUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 02:18 PM   #10296
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 103
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by da_John_wee View Post
yes a Y connector works.

I dont like that mini USB idea, it will put more weight and foot print to it. just having a piece of tape on the plug works for me.
The minii usb does not need to be in the esc so the footprint will remain the same, it just needs to be incorperated into the on switch as in the pic above.
Toolmannz2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 02:25 PM   #10297
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcel p View Post
great idea
the in and out servo plug bugs me also great time
is it posible to do it with a y servo cable?
I think that somewhere Tekin advised not to do this as there could be a problem sending signals via the receiver.

Put a plug with a socket into the receiver, then plug the speedo into the socket. Solves all the problems! HTH
SlowerOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 02:28 PM   #10298
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 103
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toolmannz2 View Post


The minii usb does not need to be in the esc so the footprint will remain the same, it just needs to be incorperated into the on switch as in the pic above.
Sorry this is not a mini usb but is still better than unplugging the receiver plug all the time, and more accesible
Toolmannz2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 02:39 PM   #10299
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Seriously people? be happy you don't have a lathe and 50 brushes in your box, but unplugging one wire is too much work?
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 02:50 PM   #10300
Tech Regular
 
Dragula426's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 351
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
Seriously people? be happy you don't have a lathe and 50 brushes in your box, but unplugging one wire is too much work?
I certainly am, and the amount of tunibility for track conditions makes these a real welcome to those of us that have to push the envelope for every last 1/10s per lap. If you can anticipate the track conditions between rounds, you can leave the car set-up as is, and just tweek the esc a little. I like the adjustability, and once you get used to it, its one of those learned things about racing that will stick with you and grow with you as the needs of the sport evolve. Use it if you feel comfortable with it, switch back to v200 if your not.
__________________
Team Tekin
Jeffery Racing Concepts
Little 'O' Speedway
Extreme Graffix
Dragula426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 03:32 PM   #10301
Tech Elite
 
mike ivy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Comin at ya from a distant galaxy
Posts: 2,798
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Man... if only they can make it hook up to a iPhone or iTouch that would be bad ass!!!
__________________
[-eXpress motorsports-] [-TQ Wire-]

1/12th Fo' Life!!! R.I.P Mike Reedy, R.I.P John Williams

[-Horsham RC-] [-Jackson RC-] [-RC Car World-] [ Black Out Free 2015 ]
mike ivy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 03:34 PM   #10302
Tech Addict
 
Tim Stamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Redford, Mi.
Posts: 589
Default

^ Win 100%

Tim
__________________
This space for rent
Tim Stamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 03:38 PM   #10303
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,140
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike ivy View Post
Man... if only they can make it hook up to a iPhone or iTouch that would be bad ass!!!

+1
Chris Furman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 04:36 PM   #10304
Tech Addict
 
MarkBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 712
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
Seriously people? be happy you don't have a lathe and 50 brushes in your box, but unplugging one wire is too much work?
Using the receiver wire for programming works fine and is good engineering. Putting another socket on the device would add weight and add yet another mounting constraint (if the socket is on the switch, say, then you must mount the switch in an orientation that makes the socket accessible). It would be nice for the receiver connector to come with a strain relief, but adding one isn't hard (see for instance Section 4 of http://rcfaq.weebly.com/tekin-rs--hotwire.html ).
MarkBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 05:01 PM   #10305
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

What I hope is, is that you can change the profiles to what you want and save them also on your pc and send them around.
And that you can download team driver setups. that will be great.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:02 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net