R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-08-2010, 08:33 AM   #10276
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Otis View Post
I totally agree with this as well. I have run version 198 against the newer versions and have had very good successs in single cell 13.5. Simple to set up and get right and very fast. On a small track it would be interesting to see how it would fair against v203.

Don't get me wrong though, every updated version of software has something new to offer and can make your car faster in the right environment, but I don't like to overcomplicate myself with the options It's good to know the software is on a constant development curve.

i've heard good things that it can make the motor work at a cooler temperature too, which is always good.

I don't see newer software as an easy fix to making the car faster either, if you're happy with how the car is going then stick with what you have, but if you feel the need to upgrade/like the technical side of brushless and/or want to learn what the newer versions have then thats cool

Theres never going to be 1 single answer to getting a good result, everyone has their own way of doing it
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 08:42 AM   #10277
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I wouldn't say this new version isn't better on a short track. The testing I did Monday with a friends 1/12th scale on a small track with the new version gave more infield rip then I have ever seen in a brushless car. Well set-up Tekins have always had great top end but the advantage with his car was the speed in the infield. It felt like an old brushed mod car. Despite the chassis being a bit off, I was running TQ times with his car. I'm dropping a nearly identical speedo/motor set-up in my car right now and have high hopes for a victory this weekend.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 09:00 AM   #10278
Tech Fanatic
 
DriftDreamer06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 826
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkBrown View Post
I'd really like to see a motor timing calibration capability in the firmware. If there isn't room for it, then put out a firmware version that *only* does motor timing calibration, and we can switch to that version when we need it, then switch back. You only have to calibrate each motor once, after all. If you read over this thread you'll find that a significant fraction of the problems are caused by confusion about how much timing is in the various brands of motors.
this is a great idea! please

oh and a little data logger? rpm and time

most important Thanks Tekin
DriftDreamer06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 09:01 AM   #10279
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
Don't get me wrong though, every updated version of software has something new to offer and can make your car faster in the right environment, but I don't like to overcomplicate myself with the options It's good to know the software is on a constant development curve.

i've heard good things that it can make the motor work at a cooler temperature too, which is always good.

I don't see newer software as an easy fix to making the car faster either, if you're happy with how the car is going then stick with what you have, but if you feel the need to upgrade/like the technical side of brushless and/or want to learn what the newer versions have then thats cool

Theres never going to be 1 single answer to getting a good result, everyone has their own way of doing it
Exactly! There is a progression in the adjustability of the software that offers each driver a chance to "learn" and try to move forward. The tune-ability and drive-ability of the newer v203 is apparent. Those that had a real good setup for an older version might not see as dramatic of a leap forward, especially on smaller layouts.

The interesting thing on my home track (small) listed in the earlier post is the comparison of the setups of v200 and v203. In v200, I was using o* motor, 25* Boost, 20* Turbo and a 0.4Delay. I was guesstimating that my Turbo was "hitting" at around the 35' mark of WOT. With v203, I have 0* motor, 50* Boost, and tried Turbo various settings at 0.7 Delay (caused to much heat) and 0.8 delay (came on at the 60' mark of WOT which is where I need to get off the throttle for a corner). My point - The progression of the software setups matches up with my tuning needs on my track. As an aspiring intermediate level driver, we (I) need to refer to my notes and setups often to make sure I'm not venturing out into Right Field.
__________________
Dude, Go RRReally FFFast - When something gets in your way - Turrrnn
VRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 09:15 AM   #10280
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VRacing View Post
As an aspiring intermediate level driver, we (I) need to refer to my notes and setups often to make sure I'm not venturing out into Right Field.


If you are in the sharp end of the A final, and usually looking for tenths of a second, the newer software can help in the right application, but not everyone has that ability or technical know how to get the most out of newer software or a consistant lap time to utilise it well enough.

If you install the newer software and feel a bit lost by it, you might then need to reinstall the older version to find your feet again.

Jump when you need to, not because you feel you have to because that is what everyone else is using

The newer software was designed because in some situations, the existing software wasnt good enough for the best racers that go to big events.

More ajustability was needed, and the new software delivered that

Most of all though, have fun and enjoy your racing! Don't overcomplicate things unless you have the time and desire to. Racing is one big learning curve.
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 09:23 AM   #10281
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

We intend to make some easy buttons in the hotwire so you do not have to mess with the advanced features.

We also intend to put a set of 'TimingProfiles' right on the esc so you do not always need a Hotwire. 'Timing Profiles' 1 -13 that are increasingly aggressive in replace of the 'Throttle Profiles'. Low 'Timing Profiles' for mod and high 'Timing Profiles' for spec like everyone else, but still a lot more choices to dial it in

That means the preset 'Throttle Profiles' and 'Custom Throttle Profiles' will only accessible thru the hotwire. The preset throttle profiles can also be created with most radios using the 'expo' functions.

Tekin Prez
__________________
[email protected]
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 09:36 AM   #10282
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Sounds neat

I think the main thing is, simplified terms on what the new features do is very useful and hovering over different parameters explains things well

"The geeks and the less geeky racer" are two very different breeds of r/c racer
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 09:52 AM   #10283
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
We intend to make some easy buttons in the hotwire so you do not have to mess with the advanced features.

We also intend to put a set of 'TimingProfiles' right on the esc so you do not always need a Hotwire. 'Timing Profiles' 1 -13 that are increasingly aggressive in replace of the 'Throttle Profiles'. Low 'Timing Profiles' for mod and high 'Timing Profiles' for spec like everyone else, but still a lot more choices to dial it in

That means the preset 'Throttle Profiles' and 'Custom Throttle Profiles' will only accessible thru the hotwire. The preset throttle profiles can also be created with most radios using the 'expo' functions.

Tekin Prez
Will there also be a save function so we can save our setups and send to other drivers?

Data logger is great. Can it also give the speedo temp and motor temp?
Also were the motor needs the most power?
That helps with finding the right gearing and boost settings.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 11:38 AM   #10284
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: golf course and R/C track
Posts: 887
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
We intend to make some easy buttons in the hotwire so you do not have to mess with the advanced features.

We also intend to put a set of 'TimingProfiles' right on the esc so you do not always need a Hotwire. 'Timing Profiles' 1 -13 that are increasingly aggressive in replace of the 'Throttle Profiles'. Low 'Timing Profiles' for mod and high 'Timing Profiles' for spec like everyone else, but still a lot more choices to dial it in

That means the preset 'Throttle Profiles' and 'Custom Throttle Profiles' will only accessible thru the hotwire. The preset throttle profiles can also be created with most radios using the 'expo' functions.

Tekin Prez
That's awesome! You guys listen and take action!
jeffb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 11:55 AM   #10285
Tech Elite
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,674
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
Data logger is great. Can it also give the speedo temp and motor temp?
Also were the motor needs the most power?
That helps with finding the right gearing and boost settings.
I used one to help "Dial In" the 203 software in an oval car. Has very good information on RPM, Voltage and I used just one temp point on the motor, but comes with a harnes that would give you multiple temp points. Found very usefull, just need to see how to "Shoe Horn" it into my 1/12 scale.
__________________
Darkside, Sweep, BSR, Fantom, IGT Hobbies and IGT8
Byrons Fuel, ProtoForm Bodies & Futaba Radio Gear by Choice
Founding Member of CORRC .... 5280raceway
www.darksidems.com www.igthobbies.com www.IGT8.com
Grenade10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 12:33 PM   #10286
Tech Master
 
WIITA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,590
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Imagine if some software could be created where after a few quality laps around the track you could pull the car off, plug it into the esc through hotwire, and bring up a graph where you could see your throttle curves all laid out on a chart on the screen and set your rpm range just by looking at the curves presented to you. And all of the guess work is behind you espically if you go to another track or change track layouts periodically. HINT HINT. Thanks Tekin!!!!!!!!!!!!
WIITA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 01:02 PM   #10287
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Another suggestion for Tekin folks... on the RS2 and Hotwire2 when you release them many moons from now, I highly suggest NOT using the receiver plug as the interface into the hotwire... its a pain to plug in, plug out, plug in, plug out when doing track testing. Maybe a camera style USB plug right on the side of the ESC would work so you could leave your car as is.... perhaps even have the car on AND be hooked up to the hotwire at the same time?

Thanks Tekin.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 01:06 PM   #10288
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 103
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WIITA View Post
Imagine if some software could be created where after a few quality laps around the track you could pull the car off, plug it into the esc through hotwire, and bring up a graph where you could see your throttle curves all laid out on a chart on the screen and set your rpm range just by looking at the curves presented to you. And all of the guess work is behind you espically if you go to another track or change track layouts periodically. HINT HINT. Thanks Tekin!!!!!!!!!!!!


I think you will find the Robitronics Icube already does this, so it can be done, What do you say Team Tekinthat would put you well out in front!
Toolmannz2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 01:10 PM   #10289
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 103
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
Another suggestion for Tekin folks... on the RS2 and Hotwire2 when you release them many moons from now, I highly suggest NOT using the receiver plug as the interface into the hotwire... its a pain to plug in, plug out, plug in, plug out when doing track testing. Maybe a camera style USB plug right on the side of the ESC would work so you could leave your car as is.... perhaps even have the car on AND be hooked up to the hotwire at the same time?

Thanks Tekin.
+1 The Icube has a mini usb built into the on off switch so no removing any wires
Toolmannz2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 01:37 PM   #10290
Tech Regular
 
marcel p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: assen (holland)
Posts: 391
Send a message via MSN to marcel p
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toolmannz2 View Post
+1 The Icube has a mini usb built into the on off switch so no removing any wires
great idea
the in and out servo plug bugs me also great time
is it posible to do it with a y servo cable?
__________________
PR racing
Powerstar/futaba 4px
Absima /vr racing
marcel p is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:21 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net