R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-02-2010, 06:23 PM   #9721
Tech Regular
 
bigdadracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: the happiest place on earth
Posts: 406
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the info so what i need too do is set the motor at 10 degrees and no turbo .i also heard there a new program for the speedo witch i could download with my hot wire???
__________________
rcamerica/xray/ team powers/bsr tires/ slapmaster tools/ bigdads garage/cheep beer/ mykeart paint works / team pop a top

suport your local hobby shop because ebays track is hard to find !!!!!!!!
Russ Jacobson
bigdadracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 06:31 PM   #9722
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 904
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
I have tested at my track...70 x 30...it was clocked at 29 mph on the straight which may be 65 ft..which is pretty fast could be faster..it came off the track at 102 degrees..i think i need a little more straight a way speed and a little more pop in the infield my set up is as follows..

.2 turbo delay
end rpm 7000
start rpm 2437
turbo ramp 3.0
turbo boost 10
timing boost 41
throttle profile 3...

76 spur with 42 pinion..tires 42mm...the turbo kicks in a little late..can anyone give me any suggestions...13.5 orion vortex is the motor
Based on your roll out of 72.92mm, the motor would be turing 10,750 prm to reach 29 mph. Should the end rpm be set higher or should the turbo be set higher, or both to reach a greater speed on the straight? I know you can increase pinion size to get the extra top end, but that would make it more sluggish coming out of a corner, correct?

This is very interesting as our track is almost the same length and I am going to be running the new software for the first time tomorrow.

Last edited by SteveL; 01-02-2010 at 06:46 PM.
SteveL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 06:40 PM   #9723
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

where is the instruction manual for this im so lost lmdao i dont know where to start and end ok im old.
wallyedmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 06:40 PM   #9724
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdadracing View Post
thanks for the info so what i need too do is set the motor at 10 degrees and no turbo .i also heard there a new program for the speedo witch i could download with my hot wire???
the new software is on the homepage of tekin
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 06:41 PM   #9725
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallyedmonds View Post
where is the instruction manual for this im so lost lmdao i dont know where to start and end ok im old.
what are you running
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 06:43 PM   #9726
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

1/12 13.5 mid size track (fast cats)
wallyedmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 07:31 PM   #9727
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
:

1000rpm start / 6000 end with 50 timing boost will provide 10 degrees of boost per 1000 rpm vs.
1000rpm start / 11000 end with 50 timing boost will provide 5 degrees of boost per 1000 rpm.

Make sense?
That is exactly how I was looking at it. Tag recommended a higher end rpm to smooth out my acceleration and I think you just confirmed that. Thanks.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 07:57 PM   #9728
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
That is exactly how I was looking at it. Tag recommended a higher end rpm to smooth out my acceleration and I think you just confirmed that. Thanks.
comes in slower and smother,higher would probably work on low traction as well
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 07:58 PM   #9729
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: lost...
Posts: 2,854
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
click the end rpm backspace and type what the rpm you want click calculate then select the start rpm and update
By update you mean "apply setting"? When I click on "apply setting" and click on current settings the rpms go back to the default settings. And if I close Hotwire and open it again, the rpm settings go back to the default setting. I must be not doing it right.
RoyU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 08:05 PM   #9730
Moderator
 
J.Whiting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: a very small town in wisconsin that is in the middle of absolutely no where
Posts: 4,536
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyU View Post
By update you mean "apply setting"? When I click on "apply setting" and click on current settings the rpms go back to the default settings. And if I close Hotwire and open it again, the rpm settings go back to the default setting. I must be not doing it right.
you have to set high end rpm's then hit the calulate rpm's. then hit ok or cancel... then choose you low side rpm... hit apply setting's .. this should save your setting. this i what i found out you need to do. i was having the same issuse's

want to say thanks to randy and the tekin staff. very good program this time out. was running against the ae and mamba speedo's this weekend. i had plenty of power everywhere to keep up or out power them everywhere.... thanks for everything randy..... jeremy
__________________
Jeremy Whiting - serpent america - desoto racing - apicco race engines - RcRenew - jconcepts - Rc Pro Products - ko propo eurus - ko propo servos - VP PowerMaster Fuels - Answer-rc usa - advantage racing products - Parma/pse bodies - serpent 811 2.1 - 811t
J.Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 08:18 PM   #9731
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyU View Post
By update you mean "apply setting"? When I click on "apply setting" and click on current settings the rpms go back to the default settings. And if I close Hotwire and open it again, the rpm settings go back to the default setting. I must be not doing it right.
there is a check box under the end rpm you type in click it after it calculates set the start and then update
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 08:19 PM   #9732
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: lost...
Posts: 2,854
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jer7469 View Post
you have to set high end rpm's then hit the calulate rpm's. then hit ok or cancel... then choose you low side rpm... hit apply setting's .. this should save your setting. this i what i found out you need to do. i was having the same issuse's
Its not saving the rpm settngs. Unless everytime you Hotwire it goes into the rpm default setting.
RoyU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 08:25 PM   #9733
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

are you getting the setting you want and then apply,don't unhook the esc go back and see if it stays,mine was doing it they weren't saving i had to close the hotwire and reopen with it connected to the esc and set the rpm range and it stayed
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 08:27 PM   #9734
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
The ideal start/end rpm for boost will depend on the platform/chassis being used along with track size and motor wind. The size of the range will also affect how the car pulls. A narrow rpm range will effectively produce a faster rate of boost vs. a wide range will have a slower rate of boost:

1000rpm start / 6000 end with 50 timing boost will provide 10 degrees of boost per 1000 rpm vs.
1000rpm start / 11000 end with 50 timing boost will provide 5 degrees of boost per 1000 rpm.

Make sense?
It function (start/end rpm) use to (timing boost) or (turbo timing)?
mugend5r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 08:34 PM   #9735
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
The ideal start/end rpm for boost will depend on the platform/chassis being used along with track size and motor wind. The size of the range will also affect how the car pulls. A narrow rpm range will effectively produce a faster rate of boost vs. a wide range will have a slower rate of boost:

1000rpm start / 6000 end with 50 timing boost will provide 10 degrees of boost per 1000 rpm vs.
1000rpm start / 11000 end with 50 timing boost will provide 5 degrees of boost per 1000 rpm.

Make sense?
It function (start/end rpm) use to (timing boost) or (turbo timing)?
mugend5r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:45 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net