R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-01-2010, 01:05 PM   #9526
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammer View Post
So knowing how it works lets put the points in.

Low RPM should be your slowest corner exit?
High RPM should be highest infield speed?
Turbo should hit on the straight at about 110% of high infield RPM?

Ramp would be determined by how tight the track is?

Initial timing should be as low as possible, 5 degrees?

Would these set points be correct, any thoughts?
It's a little hard to explain without drawing it out but the low RPM should be below what you see at the lowest speed on the track. Otherwise if you make a mistake it's going to feel very flat at the lower speed until the boost starts to add in. But set it too low and it's going to get hot and feel flat from being overtimed. There's a happy medium that needs to be figured out.

Turbo settings would be the last thing I would set. Quicker ramp rate (3) for classes like oval and longer ramp rate (1) for classes like dirt.
Fred_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 01:15 PM   #9527
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I've deleted all Tekin programs, opened cookies and I still don't get the mail back link.

Using outlook express on a notebook with internet exp 7 any suggestions? I have done re-starts as well.
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 01:25 PM   #9528
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 300
Default

To anyone who may be able to provide assistance:

With v.200 S/W, it has always been clear when the turbo would kick in (clear large increase in RPM after a delay at full throttle..when testing the car on a stand).

Now that I installed v.203 (same timing and turbo boost setup a v.200), there is no marked increase in RPM anymore, constant max RPM at full throttle.

Has anyone experienced this?
I would have assumed that the turbo function would work the same as before, especially since the start and end RPM settings are meant for timing boost and not turbo boost.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Regards,
MH
mhavlena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 01:33 PM   #9529
Tech Adept
 
alrones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Inside my House
Posts: 187
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to alrones
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DA_cookie_monst View Post
what motor?
Orion vortex 13.5.. Thx
__________________
RAW Racing Team
Factory Team RC8e
Four Season's Racing
Tacoma R/c Raceway
alrones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 01:35 PM   #9530
Tech Adept
 
alrones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Inside my House
Posts: 187
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to alrones
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
I've deleted all Tekin programs, opened cookies and I still don't get the mail back link.

Using outlook express on a notebook with internet exp 7 any suggestions? I have done re-starts as well.
make sure ur pc or laptop is all up to date! all drivers and softwares! then try it!
__________________
RAW Racing Team
Factory Team RC8e
Four Season's Racing
Tacoma R/c Raceway
alrones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 01:36 PM   #9531
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 457
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred_B View Post
It's a little hard to explain without drawing it out but the low RPM should be below what you see at the lowest speed on the track. Otherwise if you make a mistake it's going to feel very flat at the lower speed until the boost starts to add in. But set it too low and it's going to get hot and feel flat from being overtimed. There's a happy medium that needs to be figured out.

Turbo settings would be the last thing I would set. Quicker ramp rate (3) for classes like oval and longer ramp rate (1) for classes like dirt.
For sure Turbo would be last thing set. You don't think that the base timing of the motor would not give you max torque pulling out of a chicane? That is also where your additional timing would start to kick in, so it would only be at base for less than a tenth of a second. I think you made a good call on the ramp rates, there may be some exceptions if the track is more technical you may switch from a 2 to a 3 but only on carpet. Maybe run 3 with foam tires?
__________________
"we need to do at least 11.2 km/s to break earths orbit or almost the speed as Cam's car"

Neil Armstrong 1968
Cammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 01:40 PM   #9532
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhavlena View Post
To anyone who may be able to provide assistance:

With v.200 S/W, it has always been clear when the turbo would kick in (clear large increase in RPM after a delay at full throttle..when testing the car on a stand).

Now that I installed v.203 (same timing and turbo boost setup a v.200), there is no marked increase in RPM anymore, constant max RPM at full throttle.

Has anyone experienced this?
I would have assumed that the turbo function would work the same as before, especially since the start and end RPM settings are meant for timing boost and not turbo boost.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Regards,
MH
i did but timing is now in the 50's,click the advance button and you will see the new stuff that is the 203 version.what motor are you using
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 01:55 PM   #9533
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 300
Default

Thanks for the quick reply:

I'm using the Novak 17.5 SS Pro (2S Lip TC)...I have always used an interesting setup for V.200 (NO timing boost but MAX Turbo with 0.5 delay). I know this is a strange setup, but for the track that I race at, my car has been significantly faster than everyone else', so didn't want to mess with it.

Now that I installed v.203, there is no marked increase in RPM anymore. Unfortunatley, I had to revert back to v.200 to get the turbo to work.

Any ideas?
Thanks
MH
mhavlena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 01:58 PM   #9534
Tech Adept
 
rcsteve86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rcsteve86
Default

thanks

Last edited by rcsteve86; 01-01-2010 at 02:13 PM. Reason: deleted email address
rcsteve86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 01:59 PM   #9535
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhavlena View Post
To anyone who may be able to provide assistance:

With v.200 S/W, it has always been clear when the turbo would kick in (clear large increase in RPM after a delay at full throttle..when testing the car on a stand).

Now that I installed v.203 (same timing and turbo boost setup a v.200), there is no marked increase in RPM anymore, constant max RPM at full throttle.

Has anyone experienced this?
I would have assumed that the turbo function would work the same as before, especially since the start and end RPM settings are meant for timing boost and not turbo boost.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Regards,
MH
My guess is you have to go through calibrating the RS to your transmitter again. You normally have to do this after updating the firmware on the speed controller as it is reset during the update.

Mine was fine after doing this.

Trev
__________________
Schumacher Atom GT12
Schumacher Eclipse 12th
www.carsrcracing.co.uk
CARSrcracing.co.uk Webmaster
Schumacher Racing
TrevCoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 02:00 PM   #9536
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcsteve86 View Post
Can somebody send software update to [email protected], It will greatly be appreciated, thanks!!!
no.you have to go to tekin hompage,register and you will get a quick email and there it is
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 02:03 PM   #9537
Tech Adept
 
Dave@RCIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Green Cove Springs, FL
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcsteve86 View Post
Can somebody send software update to [email protected], It will greatly be appreciated, thanks!!!
ygm
Dave@RCIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 02:07 PM   #9538
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default tekin RS w/ tekin 17.5

any one have a good setting for the rs w/ 17.5 for carpet races.thanks.
teogra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 02:12 PM   #9539
Tech Adept
 
rcsteve86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rcsteve86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
no.you have to go to tekin hompage,register and you will get a quick email and there it is
thanks
rcsteve86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 02:12 PM   #9540
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teogra View Post
any one have a good setting for the rs w/ 17.5 for carpet races.thanks.
look at randy setup that he posted,i know it says 13.5 but for 17.5 indoor it shoud be close maybe a fdr in the low to mid 6.'s
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:32 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net