R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2009, 10:15 PM   #9451
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Victoria B.C Canada
Posts: 390
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VA_Racer View Post
Yes and I downloaded from the link in the email. I did update the esc and now I can't get anything out of it. well I do get 3 flashing lights on the speedo now.
Check that you have that the right motor is selected after I installed the new software, I did not notice it had changed to a brushed motor.

-=light=-
__________________
Gorden

Last edited by light; 12-31-2009 at 10:27 PM.
light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 10:20 PM   #9452
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Tacoma, Wa
Posts: 1,466
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to todb
Default

thanks for the new software. it worked great on the dl/install. saves the price of a new esc on each update. now i need another rs.
todb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 10:28 PM   #9453
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 937
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by light View Post
Check that you have the right motor selected after I installed I did not notice it had changed to a brushed motor.

-=light=-
I finally got it to work. Had to go to another pc. Thanks for the help guys.
VA_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 10:31 PM   #9454
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

there are alot of ways to setup the speedo now with all the new setting. the last couple of weeks of testing, I have gone a different direction then most. what I have been doing is using timing boost to help the car get out of the corner faster. so I work on a combination of timing and gearing. i add 5 degrees each time until I find that the acceleration out of the corner feels soft. then I start to add more gear and see where I am. once I find a good combination of timing and gear, then I work on turbo. I use turbo mainly on the straight. it really is to raise your top speed. If there are several places on your track that you hit top speed, then you are just going to have to come up with a compromise or pick the longest straight. as far as start and end rpm i try to keep them between 1500 and 2500rpm difference. this is really because i find that any more does not get the car out of the corners any better then vegas 200. I start high in the rpm range of the motor and then work my way down 500rpm each time.

so for our "large" track, for 17.5 1/12th I ended up with the same roll out as my vegas 200 setup. I left the rpm range the default in the v203 and had 10 end bell timing and 45 software timing and 6 turbo at .4sec, ramp 2. this basically dropped my laptime .5sec a lap.

we now have a new layout. most of the guys were at the track all day and ran vegas 200 to get a good setup. then we loaded v203. in 13.5 tc. most found that they liked 10 motor timing, 50 software timing, turbo 8, .4sec delay, ramp 3 and rpm 2100-4900. motors were coming offf at 101-110 and most drop laptimes by .5 - .8 sec

i did try the larger span of start and end rpm, and really it felt softer then a narrow rpm range. i also find that anything less then .4 really does not do anything for turbo. it just ramps to early.

just fyi 17.5 is 2200Kv and 13.5 is 3300Kv

i am sure that the other setup yield just as good results
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 10:37 PM   #9455
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

i think with 198 installed and either win7 or vista, you need to delete the hidden file.

when you install, if you run the batch file, it will do an uninstall before it does an install of the new version. also remember with win7 and vista, you need to run as an admin, so right click and select run as admin

a quirk i found. when you plug in your speedo and it need to be updated, you click the box to update your software. once you completed the install of v203 the software opens back up, but you can not click on the advance button. that is the only time I have found this to happen. if you close the software and open it back you are ok. or if you unplug you speedo and open it back, then you are good to go as well
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 10:50 PM   #9456
Team Tekin
 
TY@TEAMTEKIN's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tekin
Posts: 2,461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
i think with 198 installed and either win7 or vista, you need to delete the hidden file.

when you install, if you run the batch file, it will do an uninstall before it does an install of the new version. also remember with win7 and vista, you need to run as an admin, so right click and select run as admin

a quirk i found. when you plug in your speedo and it need to be updated, you click the box to update your software. once you completed the install of v203 the software opens back up, but you can not click on the advance button. that is the only time I have found this to happen. if you close the software and open it back you are ok. or if you unplug you speedo and open it back, then you are good to go as well
__________________
Ty Campbell
TEKIN / TLR / SOR GRAPHICS / MIP / PROTEK / KALGARD / AVID
TY@TEAMTEKIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 10:55 PM   #9457
oze
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post

so for our "large" track, for 17.5 1/12th I ended up with the same roll out as my vegas 200 setup. I left the rpm range the default in the v203 and had 10 end bell timing and 45 software timing and 6 turbo at .4sec, ramp 2. this basically dropped my laptime .5sec a lap.

we now have a new layout. most of the guys were at the track all day and ran vegas 200 to get a good setup. then we loaded v203. in 13.5 tc. most found that they liked 10 motor timing, 50 software timing, turbo 8, .4sec delay, ramp 3 and rpm 2100-4900. motors were coming offf at 101-110 and most drop laptimes by .5 - .8 sec
How large is your large track?
oze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 11:04 PM   #9458
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to joey
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oze View Post
How large is your large track?
about 105x60 ft..
__________________
=Joe Wright=
joey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 11:08 PM   #9459
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

the new layout is much more inline with the "average" size track. you can take a look at it http://www.mikeshobbyshop.com/tcmed.htm

i believe it is more like 90 x 50 now
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 11:09 PM   #9460
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Yes, the entire Tekin crew is here together celebrating! Happy Holidays everyone!
randy,

you should introduce us to Team Tekin.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 11:25 PM   #9461
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
there are alot of ways to setup the speedo now with all the new setting. the last couple of weeks of testing, I have gone a different direction then most. what I have been doing is using timing boost to help the car get out of the corner faster. so I work on a combination of timing and gearing. i add 5 degrees each time until I find that the acceleration out of the corner feels soft. then I start to add more gear and see where I am. once I find a good combination of timing and gear, then I work on turbo. I use turbo mainly on the straight. it really is to raise your top speed. If there are several places on your track that you hit top speed, then you are just going to have to come up with a compromise or pick the longest straight. as far as start and end rpm i try to keep them between 1500 and 2500rpm difference. this is really because i find that any more does not get the car out of the corners any better then vegas 200. I start high in the rpm range of the motor and then work my way down 500rpm each time.

so for our "large" track, for 17.5 1/12th I ended up with the same roll out as my vegas 200 setup. I left the rpm range the default in the v203 and had 10 end bell timing and 45 software timing and 6 turbo at .4sec, ramp 2. this basically dropped my laptime .5sec a lap.

we now have a new layout. most of the guys were at the track all day and ran vegas 200 to get a good setup. then we loaded v203. in 13.5 tc. most found that they liked 10 motor timing, 50 software timing, turbo 8, .4sec delay, ramp 3 and rpm 2100-4900. motors were coming offf at 101-110 and most drop laptimes by .5 - .8 sec

i did try the larger span of start and end rpm, and really it felt softer then a narrow rpm range. i also find that anything less then .4 really does not do anything for turbo. it just ramps to early.

just fyi 17.5 is 2200Kv and 13.5 is 3300Kv

i am sure that the other setup yield just as good results
This is money right here . I came up with the same conclusion after some testing earlier. Smaller discrepancy between the start rpm and end rpm yield faster laptimes.

I have about 10 -15 motor timing on my motor. Car was stupid fast. I had to increase my drag brake from 5 to ~20 to get the car to stop faster.

A few people at my track thought I was driving a mod car . Further testing will continue tomorrow .
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 11:48 PM   #9462
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 307
Trader Rating: 5 (86%+)
Default Duo 2

how much timing is in each notch of a duo 2..i am thinking of going up to 10 degrees on the motor...anyone have a suggestion...the track is 70 x 30...the temps on the car are 101....does anyone have anything for wgt...i am in left field with this thing...help please...same track size as above...
obi wun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 12:04 AM   #9463
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,043
Default

Finally, something I've always wanted. Can't wait to try it against my Mamba Max Pro with CHEAT mode.
__________________
/Adrian.

RC FB Pages Subscribed:
facebook.com/EPBuggy
facebook.com/AllStarChampionship
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 12:21 AM   #9464
Tech Regular
 
MaxSp97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Camarino
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by obi wun View Post
how much timing is in each notch of a duo 2..i am thinking of going up to 10 degrees on the motor...anyone have a suggestion...the track is 70 x 30...the temps on the car are 101....does anyone have anything for wgt...i am in left field with this thing...help please...same track size as above...
OBI
Each notch = 10 degree.
Check this one out, it's from Randy.
http://www.rctech.net/forum/6789190-post9381.html
__________________
Calvin. L
JOY IS IMPATIENT...
COTA Home Of The F1 US Grand Prix
MaxSp97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 12:38 AM   #9465
Tech Elite
 
Greg Sharpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ...building minis
Posts: 3,237
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat McCracken View Post
what if you have the novak ballistic 17.5 it come with 30 deg of timing in it
so u can't set the endbell at 0. can you still set the boost at 50 or 55
On the Novak Ballistic motors, you can get down to just 5' of timing on the endbell by turning it to the very edge of the label. They don't suggest turning it all the way down to zero.
__________________
Why don't we endurance race more often?
Greg Sharpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:25 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net