R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-29-2009, 12:13 PM   #9121
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Well as long as you are getting enough power to the RX then the ESC will work without the switch turned on. Turning on the switch only activates the LiPo cut-off. I've ran mine with the booster on and the RS both on and off with no problems.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 12:18 PM   #9122
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 457
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Stu

I think you should have the single cell box checked off or run with the middle wire out and the switch turned on.
__________________
"we need to do at least 11.2 km/s to break earths orbit or almost the speed as Cam's car"

Neil Armstrong 1968
Cammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 01:29 PM   #9123
Company Representative
 
ammdrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,591
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thistle View Post
That's right... the AAA is wired to the 3.7 lipo... basically making it a 4.9 volt receiver pack. I've been reading the other thread, (not finished yet), but so far, I'm thinking the problem might be the fact that I have the ESC turned off. (I cut the switch off)
Switch does not need to be on.... Makes no diff.
__________________
Team Tekin, Team Scream, Paint By Mike, Team Mölzer Mowery Racing, EA Motorsports, Speedmerchant, TQ Wire

MMR Direct Minneapolis World Class Indoor Race Facility.
On Road and Off Road racing year round.

www.molzermoweryracing.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/MMR/160679913944205?__req=9

Check out You Tube mmrswracing. Every qualifier and every main uploaded at the end of every race day.
ammdrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 02:28 PM   #9124
Tech Regular
 
Thistle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 495
Send a message via MSN to Thistle
Default

Cammer... I get even less response from the motor, when the 1Slipo is checked off... and the removing the red wire from the ESC made it not even turn on.

Now that I have read through the other forum, I intend to try a higher voltage receiver pack. It could be that my 4.9 is just a little too low for the ESC.
__________________
Xray | Ofna | KO Propo | Tekin | Clockwork Racing Engines
Thistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 04:18 PM   #9125
Tech Addict
 
MarkBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 712
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveL View Post
... if I stopped the car, it would stall and need to be pushed to get running again. It even tried to go backwards once. ...
I've written a document on the RS / RS Pro that contains a pretty extensive troubleshooting section. It describes how to treat this symptom among many others.

See http://rcfaq.weebly.com/tekin-rs--hotwire.html

The doc is current with the v200 vegas firmware.
MarkBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 07:30 PM   #9126
Tech Master
 
David Galdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 1,652
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to David Galdo Send a message via AIM to David Galdo Send a message via MSN to David Galdo Send a message via Yahoo to David Galdo
Default

I tried the latest update and I must say I am blown away!! It is a massive improvement over the Vegas version.
__________________
Hot Bodies | HPI Racing | HPI TV | Speedzone USA | Team Epic | Trinity | TRC
V-Dezign 4.0
David Galdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 07:32 PM   #9127
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Galdo View Post
I tried the latest update and I must say I am blown away!! It is a massive improvement over the Vegas version.
In what form are you using the speedo. 1/12, 1/10, motor type?
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 08:02 PM   #9128
Tech Master
 
David Galdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 1,652
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to David Galdo Send a message via AIM to David Galdo Send a message via MSN to David Galdo Send a message via Yahoo to David Galdo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
In what form are you using the speedo. 1/12, 1/10, motor type?
Nemesis 13.5 and HB 1/12.
__________________
Hot Bodies | HPI Racing | HPI TV | Speedzone USA | Team Epic | Trinity | TRC
V-Dezign 4.0
David Galdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 08:35 PM   #9129
Tech Regular
 
Casey Belarde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thistle View Post
Has anyone else experianced this?
I am setting up my RS Pro to run 1S lipo in 1/12, and have found some weird issues.

First, I'll tell you what I'm running.
RS Pro running V200 software, Reedy 4600 1S Li-po, LRP 13.5 B/L motor, Spektrum SR3500 rx, KO PDS949ICS servo.
Instead of a voltage booster, I am running the equivalent of a receiver pack. I am running a wire from the + battery terminal, to a switch, and from the switch to the - side of a AAA battery, and from the + side of the AAA to the + terminal of a third receiver plug. The speed control is switched off for this configuration. (I cut the plug off, and used it for the AAA battery)

So, first of all, I tried running the speed control with the 1Slipo function turned on, and although everything powered up, the speed control would only cog the motor over once, and then stall. I tried re-soldering the motor wires, tried a different motor, tried a different sensor wire, and confirmed that the battery was fully charged. I also disabled the voltage cutoff. No change.

Next, I removed the + pin from the RS rx plug, as I was told it shouldn't be there. When I did this, the ESC didn't even power up. (So I put the pin back in)

Next, I reset the ESC to V200 defaults, and left the 1Slipo setting off. Again, I disabled the voltage cutoff.
Now the motor spins, but does not react properly. If I pull full throttle quickly, it will spin at a steady rpm, (sometimes it won't respond) but if I back off the throttle, and reapply full, the motor rpm will slow down but does not increase when I give it full throttle. If I try applying the throttle slowly, it doesn't reach the same rpm, as if I pull full throttle quickly. (and again, sometimes the motor doesn't respond.)

Could some of the other settings be messing it up? Current settings are:
Drag Brake off
Reverse Strength off
Brake Strength 100
Neutral Width 56
Motor Type BL-FW
Throttle Profile 3
Voltage Cutoff off
Push Control off
Timing Boost 0
Turbo Boost 0
Turbo Delay .2
Sensored mode
1S lipo is not checked.

Any help is appreciated.

I had the same problem not to long ago! Get a booster!!
solved all my problems
Casey Belarde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 08:36 PM   #9130
oze
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkBrown View Post
I've written a document on the RS / RS Pro that contains a pretty extensive troubleshooting section. It describes how to treat this symptom among many others.

See http://rcfaq.weebly.com/tekin-rs--hotwire.html

The doc is current with the v200 vegas firmware.
Well done
oze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 09:02 PM   #9131
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey Belarde View Post
I had the same problem not to long ago! Get a booster!!
solved all my problems
I agree...a booster or a true dedicated RX pack. I have a feeling that adding an AAA battery in series with the main pack isn't cutting it. While you may be getting enough voltage technically, you might not be when under a load. And the Spektrum receivers are very sensitive to power issues.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 09:11 PM   #9132
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

i can understand if you are a tinkerer why you would want to play with this setup, but why would you want to do something so complicated. a booster is relatively easy to install and can be had for less then $10. A lipo rx pack is also less then $10. if you find an enterprising friend, he maybe able to get raw 180mah cells and put them together for $3-$4 for a 2 cell pack. I post a link at hobbycity for a 2s rx pack that was like $3-$4 with balancing connector as well.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 10:25 PM   #9133
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 167
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkBrown View Post
I've written a document on the RS / RS Pro that contains a pretty extensive troubleshooting section. It describes how to treat this symptom among many others.

See http://rcfaq.weebly.com/tekin-rs--hotwire.html

The doc is current with the v200 vegas firmware.
This thing needs to be a sticky somewhere.

I've been running an RS for a couple months now and I've learned some good stuff from fellow local racers. But even after all that, I'm only 1/2 way through this thing and already have learned a ton more and have a list of stuff to do/try. Wish I had found it weeks ago. Thanks for all your work!

Neal
SUV-ETR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 12:05 AM   #9134
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Galdo View Post
I tried the latest update and I must say I am blown away!! It is a massive improvement over the Vegas version.
Did you have to make any changes to your gearing, if so was it up or down on pinion size ?

If you compared the ESC settings between 200 vegas and the new version were there major differences you could let us know about ?
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 12:21 AM   #9135
Tech Elite
 
joeymdz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oreogan
Posts: 2,993
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to joeymdz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Galdo View Post
I tried the latest update and I must say I am blown away!! It is a massive improvement over the Vegas version.

did i miss something? what version do you have?
__________________
RC Plus*McKune Designs*NW Hobbies*Premier RC Raceways*Daves Tracks
joeymdz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:40 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net