R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2009, 11:58 AM   #8986
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

With the speedo switch off there is no voltage cutoff protection at all. SO I always reccomend running switch on.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 12:30 PM   #8987
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 103
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Tekin RS and 13.5 redline settings

Hi Randy

What settings for my esc and motor+ FDR would you recommend for this application. Running in 13.5 superstock class 310 metre long track using rubber tyres, and with the fastest time in this class being a 21 sec lap.
As you can see its a large medium grip track and the straight is approx 60metres long.
Thanks in advance Cheers Dave
Toolmannz2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 01:12 PM   #8988
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveL View Post
Anyone? The RS Pro that I got had the switch cut off.
You dont need the switch but i would suggest soldering the two wires together so the voltage cuttoff works.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 02:03 PM   #8989
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

silly question;
what's the benefit of cutting the switch off?
cheers
yokemad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 02:52 PM   #8990
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,187
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yokemad View Post
silly question;
what's the benefit of cutting the switch off?
cheers
So marshals don't turn it on by mistake when you get taken off the track.
__________________
Rick "Blue" Sieboldt - Mooresville, NC
* Associated T5M * Tekin * TQ Wire *
www.tqracing.com/rc_products.htm For all your wire needs
lidebt2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 02:53 PM   #8991
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

I have tested a heavier gearing with the folowing setup.
Boost 0
Turbo Max
Turbo delay 0,4
Gearing 6,16FDR

Laptimes went down with 0,4sec.
Motor temp was not that good. 111 degrees C.
I gear back tomorrow but the speedo was great today.
After the Belgium champion the second fastest on the track.
THe number 2 of the first 2 races behind me on 0,13sec.
He came to watch witch motor I used.
Tomorrow we go again. Must do some small changes to my car.
Also gear lighter. I don't go back to 7,6FDR but I think 7,0FDR.

Last news about the SXX speedo. It is slower than the EA. The SXX stock spec is only updated with other software than the SXX TC.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 02:59 PM   #8992
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

mikky
boost 0 motor ?
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 03:02 PM   #8993
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Motor was a LRP 10,5T X11. It's timing is about 12.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 03:21 PM   #8994
Tech Regular
 
marcel p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: assen (holland)
Posts: 391
Send a message via MSN to marcel p
Default

wat is ea
__________________
PR racing
Powerstar/futaba 4px
Absima /vr racing
marcel p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 03:36 PM   #8995
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcel p View Post
wat is ea
I think he is referring to the AE speedo.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 03:42 PM   #8996
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 904
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor View Post
You dont need the switch but i would suggest soldering the two wires together so the voltage cuttoff works.
If I am running 1s in 1/12 scale and never plan to run more than about 8-9 minutes, why would I need the voltage cutoff? I'm only using about 2,100-2,300mah per run with a 13.5. And if I were so solder the two wires together, wouldn't that be the same as turning the switch on?
SteveL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 03:42 PM   #8997
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 307
Trader Rating: 5 (86%+)
Default switches

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
With the speedo switch off there is no voltage cutoff protection at all. SO I always reccomend running switch on.
I am attempting to be triple sure about this...
if you are running a receiver pack you have the OPTION of running speed control switch ON or OFF///
if you are running a booster BOTH speed control and booster swithes have to be ON...
obi wun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 03:52 PM   #8998
Moderator
 
J.Whiting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: a very small town in wisconsin that is in the middle of absolutely no where
Posts: 4,536
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by obi wun View Post
I am attempting to be triple sure about this...
if you are running a receiver pack you have the OPTION of running speed control switch ON or OFF///
if you are running a booster BOTH speed control and booster swithes have to be ON...
from the way i have read the post's yes that would be the correct answer. i run booster and have to have both switches on for car to operate the correct way. randy will show up and correct me if i am wrong. jeremy
__________________
Jeremy Whiting - serpent america - desoto racing - apicco race engines - RcRenew - jconcepts - Rc Pro Products - ko propo eurus - ko propo servos - VP PowerMaster Fuels - Answer-rc usa - advantage racing products - Parma/pse bodies - serpent 811 2.1 - 811t
J.Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 08:33 PM   #8999
Tech Master
 
RC-ProSpeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,066
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Capacitor

Help guys...

How can you tell if a capacitor is bad?
__________________
RCRNV (www.rcrnv.com) / *Keep On-Road alive!*
- Nitro Touring - Kyosho EVO 2 WC
- Electric - TC6 (Out of the Box! No upgrades needed)
- F1 - F103RM (Out of the Box! No upgrades needed)
RC-ProSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 09:05 PM   #9000
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 285
Default

Will hotwire work on a netbook running Windows 7 ?
jrrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:09 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net