R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-21-2009, 06:27 PM   #8851
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Playing around with setups today on the bench. I believed that zero motor timing provided more torque. I set motor timing at zero, I nailed the throttle. Then I moved timing to 12 and nailed the throttle. 12 degrees sounded like it had more power off the line. I realize that there is no load at this point but it was interesting. I'll see how it works out on the track.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 08:17 PM   #8852
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

With no load, more endbell timing does seem to be "snappier".

All my testing at DRCW keeps bringing me back to zero on the endbell though, every time I try to run timing on the endbell it seems sluggish out of the slower corners. There's a sweet spot where I did find more rip out of the corners, around 6-8 degrees on a 17.5, IIRC, but it lead to wheel spin. Probably was a setup issue allowing the wheel spin , but let us know what you find.

I can probably gear up a touch, but it's kind of nice knowing my motor will come off the track after 6 minutes under 130, and under 140 running a full battery with the tires falling off into drift mode.
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 09:22 PM   #8853
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
Playing around with setups today on the bench. I believed that zero motor timing provided more torque. I set motor timing at zero, I nailed the throttle. Then I moved timing to 12 and nailed the throttle. 12 degrees sounded like it had more power off the line. I realize that there is no load at this point but it was interesting. I'll see how it works out on the track.
What you have done doesn't reflect torque in any way. You could hook up a silvercan and it will seem snappy with no load.

Torque shows when you've got a load the motor has to fight.

Set your car on a rolling road type setup like a real dyno and then you'll see the torque. Then wind up the load (say you add more weight to the car, so the pressure on the tires increases and so does the resistance of the rollers) and try again. Measure the time it takes to bring the rolling road to a given RPM and I guarantee you will see it takes a lot longer for the motor at higher timing. That's because the torque generated by the motor is lower.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 11:51 PM   #8854
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Default

hi, can one adjust the settings (timing, timing boost, turbo boost) at the track without the hotwire and laptop.

Also is one able to load the software onto an htc phone - instead of carrying a laptop to the track.
splarity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 01:26 AM   #8855
Tech Regular
 
ronsand's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tromso, Norway
Posts: 412
Default

The answer is no and no.
__________________
Mugen MBX7 - Tekno V4 MBX6 - DEX410v3 - DEX210 - DESC410 - Serpent S411 - Futaba 4PKs - Tekin RX8 + RS Pro - Werks B6
ronsand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 05:02 AM   #8856
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

With the upcoming flood of Android based phones (basically, Linux) that feature a micro USB port, hopefully Tekin will consider a version of Hotwire for these phones.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 07:00 AM   #8857
Tech Master
 
rcterp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: No mans land.
Posts: 1,032
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Rookie RS user question - On the set-up sheet there is a setting for "Timing Advance" and "Timing Boost". I see boost on the Hotwire, but the timing advance has me baffled; where and what is it?
__________________
Φ
Glitter Lidz - "My driving doesn't shine but my lid does!!"
rcterp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 07:05 AM   #8858
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcterp View Post
Rookie RS user question - On the set-up sheet there is a setting for "Timing Advance" and "Timing Boost". I see boost on the Hotwire, but the timing advance has me baffled; where and what is it?
Set your speedo in Dual mode and you see Timing Advance. I set it always on 100%.
WHen the sensor cable is pulled out, you still have power.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 07:07 AM   #8859
Tech Master
 
rcterp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: No mans land.
Posts: 1,032
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
Set your speedo in Dual mode and you see Timing Advance. I set it always on 100%.
WHen the sensor cable is pulled out, you still have power.
Awesome. Thanks.
__________________
Φ
Glitter Lidz - "My driving doesn't shine but my lid does!!"
rcterp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 07:30 AM   #8860
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcterp View Post
Awesome. Thanks.
You won't have the same power as with sensor but you can finish the race.
You have the same power as a LRP TC but than geared much to light.
Set the timing advance and than set it back to Sensort mode. Els you will drive in Dual mode
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 07:37 AM   #8861
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryLeach View Post
With no load, more endbell timing does seem to be "snappier".

All my testing at DRCW keeps bringing me back to zero on the endbell though, every time I try to run timing on the endbell it seems sluggish out of the slower corners. There's a sweet spot where I did find more rip out of the corners, around 6-8 degrees on a 17.5, IIRC, but it lead to wheel spin. Probably was a setup issue allowing the wheel spin , but let us know what you find.

I can probably gear up a touch, but it's kind of nice knowing my motor will come off the track after 6 minutes under 130, and under 140 running a full battery with the tires falling off into drift mode.
i am with you. in 17.5 i run between 6-8 timing boost and we run on a big track. I am glad that it is about the same on a small track like DRCW. how are the racers there? i got to run there once when I was doing some work at our office up there. trying to figure a way to get back there to run with ya guys again.

here is my 17.5 1/12 setup. I usually run 10-12mm higher then other tekin drivers at my track
motor timing: 0
timing boost: 5-8
turbo: max
delay: 1.2
push: 90
drag: 0
throttle 5
brushless-forward
cut off: 0
neutral: 0
reverse: off
brake: 100

roll out 103-105mm
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE

Last edited by theisgroup; 12-22-2009 at 09:53 AM.
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 07:55 AM   #8862
Tech Master
 
rcterp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: No mans land.
Posts: 1,032
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
You won't have the same power as with sensor but you can finish the race.
You have the same power as a LRP TC but than geared much to light.
Set the timing advance and than set it back to Sensort mode. Els you will drive in Dual mode
Perfect.
__________________
Φ
Glitter Lidz - "My driving doesn't shine but my lid does!!"
rcterp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 08:48 AM   #8863
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
With the upcoming flood of Android based phones (basically, Linux) that feature a micro USB port, hopefully Tekin will consider a version of Hotwire for these phones.
It would be neat, yes. Not totally sure, but I have a better feeling the 64bit software would be released first for the masses.
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 09:39 AM   #8864
Tech Addict
 
rack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 501
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
i am with you. in 17.5 i run between 6-8 timing boost and we run on a big track. I am glad that it is about the same on a small track like DRCW. how are the racers there? i got to run there once when I was doing some work at our office up there. trying to figure a way to get back there to run with ya guys again.

here is my 17.5 1/12 setup. I usually run 10-12mm higher then other teking drivers at my track
motor timing: 0
timing boost: 5-8
turbo: max
delay: 1.2
push: 90
drag: 0
throttle 5
brushless-forward
cut off: 0
neutral: 0
reverse: off
brake: 100
This infor is very good but we also need your roll out. the size of your tires, pinion and spur

Last edited by rack; 12-22-2009 at 09:41 AM. Reason: update
rack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 09:50 AM   #8865
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rack View Post
This infor is very good but we also need your roll out. the size of your tires, pinion and spur
you are right, I run a 103mm -105mm roll out. that is 10mm taller then the guys that run the standard tekin 20/20 setting
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:15 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net