R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-25-2008, 09:54 PM   #856
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Word.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 12:51 AM   #857
Tech Elite
 
johnny boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: washington
Posts: 4,480
Trader Rating: 267 (100%+)
Default

Tekin Rs and Rs pros back in stock

Rs pros $209.99 shipped to your door!!

www.highvelocityracing.com
__________________
JOHNNY CHASE

Team associated, Reedy, schelle racing, Lunsford, Lead finger racing
johnny boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 03:33 PM   #858
Tech Champion
 
morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: jersey shore pa
Posts: 5,564
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

sounds great..thx for the info....is it hard to adjust timing/setting these up?
__________________
AE/VIPER/XPERT/DIRTCHEAPRC.COM/JCONCEPTS
A big thx to all the tracks that I race at:cause if it wasnt for these guys..we wouldnt have a place to race our r/c cars!!!
morris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 03:50 PM   #859
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by morris View Post
sounds great..thx for the info....is it hard to adjust timing/setting these up?
Simple as can be if you get the Hotwire.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 10:58 PM   #860
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Had my RS mounted on the goofy aluminum motor "scoop" that Tamiya uses on their chassis. Mainly to give it more surface area to mount on, since the chassis cutouts in that area are pretty big. The car shut off in my first run a few minutes in (servo and all) and then came back on for a few seconds, and then shut off again. I removed it from the scoop for the next round and it's been fine since. I had an LRP do goofy things when mounted on a scoop a while back, so I kind of suspected that was the issue. I don't know what the deal is, really, maybe static? Anyway, just a heads up.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 07:14 PM   #861
Tech Champion
 
morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: jersey shore pa
Posts: 5,564
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reenmachine View Post
Simple as can be if you get the Hotwire.
is the hotwire neccesary to be fast or will it be good out the box?
__________________
AE/VIPER/XPERT/DIRTCHEAPRC.COM/JCONCEPTS
A big thx to all the tracks that I race at:cause if it wasnt for these guys..we wouldnt have a place to race our r/c cars!!!
morris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 09:26 PM   #862
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by morris View Post
is the hotwire neccesary to be fast or will it be good out the box?
I guess it's not necessary, but I would think that if you're racing you'll want it. Without it you can still change drag brake, rev/brake strength, current limit, neutral width, throttle profiles, motor type, and voltage cutoff. The big things you can't do (AFAIK) are adjust the ESC timing and toggle "sensored only" mode.

So, the short answer to your question is that yes, it'll be "good" out of the box, but the Hotwire makes it "great".
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 10:27 AM   #863
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Reen is correct. It will be good out of the box. There are a lot of options that can be adjusted with the onboard interface. However motor timing and sensored only mode must be accessed by a Hotwire.

If you are trying to maximize the RS or any other current Tekin esc you should pick up a Hotwire.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 11:07 AM   #864
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Reen is correct. It will be good out of the box. There are a lot of options that can be adjusted with the onboard interface. However motor timing and sensored only mode must be accessed by a Hotwire.

If you are trying to maximize the RS or any other current Tekin esc you should pick up a Hotwire.
I'm sure this has been suggested before but you guys should bundle the ESC with the Hotwire.

Also, any news when the new software release will be available?
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 11:19 AM   #865
Tech Elite
 
mtveten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,668
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
To answer the first question: YES Right now running the motor with full mechanical timing and in SENSORED ONLY mode you will get about 39 degrees of timing depending on the motor.

In Hybrid mode you will get about 30 degrees of timing regardless of the motor timing. We aren't using the sensors for motor timing once we're rolling in Hybrid mode. This is why you will get a smoother throttle feel in hybrid mode.

Could you please elaborate on how the timing in hybrid mode works for me? If I understand you correctly when in sensored only mode the speedo timing is not used at all. From the post above it sounds as though the timing is fixed @ 30deg at some point so where does the speedo timing setting factor in and does mechanical timing have any impact?

Mark
mtveten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 11:49 AM   #866
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtveten View Post
Could you please elaborate on how the timing in hybrid mode works for me? If I understand you correctly when in sensored only mode the speedo timing is not used at all. From the post above it sounds as though the timing is fixed @ 30deg at some point so where does the speedo timing setting factor in and does mechanical timing have any impact?

Mark

There was a lot of discussion on this a few pages back. Here was Randy's answer:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Sorry for any confusion. When in sensorless mode the motor timing adjustment in the Hotwire will be added to the motor timing that is measured during the comutation. So, the timing will become reactive based on the real commutation point of the motor. This is why you will get a very smooth power band using this mode. It's great for mod.

In sensored only mode we use the motor timing only. So if you have your motor turned all the way up, we're simply adding a base figure to it(I'm not sure if I'm allowed to give this figure up).

I hope that clears it up. There will be more adjustments added to the Hotwire regarding timing as well. We're looking at doing a little extra something something to it!
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 06:58 PM   #867
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Thanks for reposting the already stated. I know it can be a pain to read all the thread pages, so thank you.

I tend to run dual mode when running the mod motors. For instance I'm running a Tekin Redline 8.5 in my XXXT Cr truck geared 86/22 with motor timing set at 12(right out of the package) and esc timing around 50. I run on a track that can be slippery in certain rounds. The feel of dual mode is much smoother. You don't get that wheel spin that can cause loop outs. If I had more traction I might run sensored only with more timing but I also might drop in a hotter motor.

My 13.5 set up is the opposite(sort of). I run max timing on the motor and the esc in Sensored Only. This gives me max timing. I run one tooth lower then the guys running Lrp's, Novak's, or Orions(old and new). This gives me a little more coming out of the hole and equal top end. Our current layout has a lot of 180s and quick jumps where I like more bottom end. We run 10 minute mains and my motor comes off 170 esc at 3 led's(Rs non Pro), running a Tekin 3400 Power Cell.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 07:04 PM   #868
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

I'm running a LRP 13.5T with my RS in the default Hybrid mode. The motor timing is at it's default and the ESC timing is set to 80. I'm allready running a tooth or 2 lower then the Novak guys (LHS has a very limited pinion selection). Last I temped it it was coming in around 160 to 165. Would you reccomend trying the ESC in sensored only mode and cranking up the timing on the motor?
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 10:18 PM   #869
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
We run 10 minute mains and my motor comes off 170 esc at 3 led's(Rs non Pro), running a Tekin 3400 Power Cell.
That should answer the "should I get the PRO just for good measure or whatever" questions once and for all. Mr. Pike himself runs the good ol' regular RS.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2008, 02:42 AM   #870
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 538
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Just to check, when in brake/reverse mode, full brake is all LEDs blinking, and full reverse is just all LEDS on solid?

cheers!
stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:33 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net