R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-13-2009, 09:17 PM   #8611
Tech Adept
 
VPRTRL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sturtevant,Wisconsin
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Tekin RS/RS PRO

Does this ESC rock or what. I own one of each, and couldnt be happier with their performance. Im gettin ready for the USORC(Novak) at Scotty Earnst's S&N Trackside, and wouldnt think of running anything else. Keep up the good work Tekin! I cant wait to see what the future holds.
__________________
Brian Clark-Sturtevant,Wisconsin
ASSOC. SC10/TEKIN RS/TRINITY LIPO/HURRICANE 17.5
SLASH 4X4/TEKIN RS/TRINITY LIPO/LRP X12 9.5
BLITZ/LRP TC SPEC/TRINITY LIPO/HURRICANE 10.5
SLASH/LRP TC SPEC/TRINITY LIPO/HURRICANE 17.5
VPRTRL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 09:17 PM   #8612
Tech Regular
 
Casey Belarde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jer7469 View Post
can you post a pic of your wiring?? did you get the a-b-c part correct on the motor to speedo?? do you have a bad sensor wire?? will the esc work with the hot wire?? jeremy

the ESc will work with the hotwire as far as I can tell I can get in and change the settings and it saves them

i have gone thru all the wiring double and triple checked the wiring
made sure the a-b-c are all correct

I don't know I'm lost!! lol It should have the beeps and chimes right???

here is a pic sorry kinda crappy
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS ESC sensored-img00188.jpg  
Casey Belarde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 09:58 PM   #8613
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Thanks guys for the suggestions...seems like the EPA thing fixed my problem.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 09:59 PM   #8614
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey Belarde View Post
the ESc will work with the hotwire as far as I can tell I can get in and change the settings and it saves them

i have gone thru all the wiring double and triple checked the wiring
made sure the a-b-c are all correct

I don't know I'm lost!! lol It should have the beeps and chimes right???

here is a pic sorry kinda crappy
Where's the capacitor? Can't see it in the pic. Just making sure there is one.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 10:00 PM   #8615
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey Belarde View Post
led's 12 and 67 the same as DB,BS,MT,VC?????

I have tried all my motors and no luck, sometimes if I roll the motor over it does it's normal thing with the flashes anyway but no sound, then when pulling throttle all led light up then flash normal but motor inop

could it be just a bad ESC or a fluke that all 3 motors went T.U ???

thanks for all the help
What type motor you are useing? W/O the hotwire, Quick Tune LED 6, to LED's 1,or 2 or 3 if useing brushless, 4, or 5, or6 useing brushed.

W/Hotwire column 5, use BL-FW, or BL-F/R, or BL-DL for Brushless. BL for Brushless, BR for Brushed.

After doing these adjustments, redo the Radio Calibrations. Make sure your batteries are charged.

Good Luck!

Last edited by Geezatec; 12-13-2009 at 10:15 PM.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 10:02 PM   #8616
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: oregon
Posts: 1,059
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to scr_achy Send a message via Yahoo to scr_achy
Default

Guys I never said Tekin was a bad company, nor said I don't care for my esc.

I just know its been 3 months since I myself asked about 64bit and I was told they would have something out soon, or at least to that nature. I understand there busy, but I also know those who know coding, can make a quick fix to the solution. I myself cannot, but luckily someone with the know how did.

I like my Tekin, but I also run at 2 tracks, and both tracks change there layouts often and are completely different in size, which requires ESC tuning to get the optimal performance out of the motor. Not being able to do that is frusterating. If I didn't want to change my esc on the fly, I would have purchased an LRP, but I didn't, I bought a tekin. Now that I have a file that allows me to use the Hotwire, I'm peachy
__________________
Founder- RcBros.com
It's all about the fun!
Toys: MF2,E X1-CR, 8ight, LCC, MRC, Axial, T209, Baja 5B
scr_achy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 10:05 PM   #8617
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey Belarde View Post
led's 12 and 67 the same as DB,BS,MT,VC?????

I have tried all my motors and no luck, sometimes if I roll the motor over it does it's normal thing with the flashes anyway but no sound, then when pulling throttle all led light up then flash normal but motor inop

could it be just a bad ESC or a fluke that all 3 motors went T.U ???

thanks for all the help
Yes it can be the esc. If you've tried another known good motor than it must be the speedo assuming the wires aren't touching.

Contact [email protected] for an RA#.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 10:05 PM   #8618
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scr_achy View Post
Now that I have a file that allows me to use the Hotwire, I'm peachy
What file is this?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 10:14 PM   #8619
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,651
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey Belarde View Post
led's 12 and 67 the same as DB,BS,MT,VC?????

I have tried all my motors and no luck, sometimes if I roll the motor over it does it's normal thing with the flashes anyway but no sound, then when pulling throttle all led light up then flash normal but motor inop

could it be just a bad ESC or a fluke that all 3 motors went T.U ???

thanks for all the help
I'm thinking it's a bad ESC if you've tried several motors with the same result...
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 10:17 PM   #8620
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 140
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default speedo updates

Randy,
Any info on new software to compete with the new CRC speedos or when it should be available?

Robert
robert s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 10:21 PM   #8621
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: oregon
Posts: 1,059
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to scr_achy Send a message via Yahoo to scr_achy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
What file is this?
YGM
__________________
Founder- RcBros.com
It's all about the fun!
Toys: MF2,E X1-CR, 8ight, LCC, MRC, Axial, T209, Baja 5B
scr_achy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 10:24 PM   #8622
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: oregon
Posts: 1,059
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to scr_achy Send a message via Yahoo to scr_achy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
What file is this?
Sent it your way via e-mail
__________________
Founder- RcBros.com
It's all about the fun!
Toys: MF2,E X1-CR, 8ight, LCC, MRC, Axial, T209, Baja 5B
scr_achy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 10:51 PM   #8623
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 233
Default

Would you recommend to run a 7.5R motor in sensored mode (with turbo) or in dual/hybrid mode?

I have ran a 10.5R in sensored and 5.5R in dual mode... both with great results. but 7.5R seems to be in the 'middle'. Any advice would be helpful. thanks!

btw, this is for on-road touring cars.

Last edited by hardmankam; 12-13-2009 at 11:22 PM.
hardmankam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 11:32 PM   #8624
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

Randy, i have asked this before, do you have any KV ratings for the Tekin motors? I am interested in the 17.5 redline motor. I could not find these anywhere on the web.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 05:34 AM   #8625
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hardmankam View Post
Would you recommend to run a 7.5R motor in sensored mode (with turbo) or in dual/hybrid mode?

I have ran a 10.5R in sensored and 5.5R in dual mode... both with great results. but 7.5R seems to be in the 'middle'. Any advice would be helpful. thanks!

btw, this is for on-road touring cars.
dual mode,8.5 in 2wd offroad is boarder line for dual
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:59 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net