R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-13-2009, 02:02 PM   #8596
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

there was some one using a mac,he had a program to run the hotwire software but cant remember who
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 02:03 PM   #8597
Tech Regular
 
Cannondale1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 415
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cannondale1974 View Post
I agree it's a bit of a pain to unplug the connector from the receiver every time you want to hook up to the hotwire. Is it possible to splice in a Y connector and leave the ESC connector plugged into the receiver all the time?

Anyone have any input on this? Thanks.
Cannondale1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 02:04 PM   #8598
Tech Master
 
Owen RaCing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Valley
Posts: 1,940
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
there was some one using a mac,he had a program to run the hotwire software but cant remember who
I'd like to see this. I know a lot of people that would
__________________
powered by anti-anxieties, sarcasm and chipotle
Owen RaCing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 02:18 PM   #8599
oze
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cannondale1974 View Post
Anyone have any input on this? Thanks.
I thought about the same but I did not know if the receiver would not impact the data transfer as the receiver would remain connected.
oze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 03:44 PM   #8600
Tech Regular
 
Cannondale1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 415
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oze View Post
I thought about the same but I did not know if the receiver would not impact the data transfer as the receiver would remain connected.
Exactly. I'd love to get Randy at Tekin's opinion on this.
Cannondale1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 04:25 PM   #8601
Tech Addict
 
Mac The Knife's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cannondale1974 View Post
Exactly. I'd love to get Randy at Tekin's opinion on this.
Somewhere it was posted where someone tried this, and they found that the power consumption of the receiver, and servo was more than the usb port could provide.
__________________
The Original SC10 4X4 Clutch Basket

Steve McGeorge
Mac The Knife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 04:34 PM   #8602
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cannondale1974 View Post
I agree it's a bit of a pain to unplug the connector from the receiver every time you want to hook up to the hotwire. Is it possible to splice in a Y connector and leave the ESC connector plugged into the receiver all the time?
You can't have the receiver connected and powered up because it will put out signal and hoze things up. If you want to use a y harness it's going to have to have a switch that will disable the receiver (splice a switch in the positive lead to the receiver). I haven't tried this but it should work.

I just unplug from the receiver personally. It's not a big deal for me.
Fred_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 04:56 PM   #8603
Tech Regular
 
Casey Belarde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
Your speedo is seeing the wrong motor type. If you're running brushless, it thinks you are hooked up to a brushed motor. Check all of your solder joints to make sure that there are no bridges to ground out different poles. That should take care of it.

nope I double checked
bl-fw, checked all solder clean, no bridges

still 4 lights flashing and not chimes/beeps even when recal????

still no workie
Casey Belarde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 05:18 PM   #8604
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,632
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey Belarde View Post
nope I double checked
bl-fw, checked all solder clean, no bridges

still 4 lights flashing and not chimes/beeps even when recal????

still no workie
Which LEDs are flashing? Knowing which ones are lit will help us sort out the problem.

The only thing I could recommend is checking the LiPo voltage cutoff - I know several people ran into a similar problem if the cutoff was set for 3S instead of 2S, which could cause the ESC to stop responding.
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 06:16 PM   #8605
Tech Addict
 
Mac The Knife's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oeoeo327 View Post
Which LEDs are flashing? Knowing which ones are lit will help us sort out the problem.

The only thing I could recommend is checking the LiPo voltage cutoff - I know several people ran into a similar problem if the cutoff was set for 3S instead of 2S, which could cause the ESC to stop responding.
He stated that the first two, and last two are flashing,,, indicating wrong motor.

I would try a factory reset, described in the owners manual, and than reset your settings with hotwire.
__________________
The Original SC10 4X4 Clutch Basket

Steve McGeorge
Mac The Knife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 06:38 PM   #8606
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey Belarde View Post
nope I double checked
bl-fw, checked all solder clean, no bridges

still 4 lights flashing and not chimes/beeps even when recal????

still no workie
I had the same problem initially. I ended up taking the wires off completely and found a small sliver of solder that had dropped to the bottom of the poles. Removed the sliver, problem solved. If there is excess on the motor, it will do the same thing.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 07:06 PM   #8607
Tech Regular
 
Casey Belarde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
I had the same problem initially. I ended up taking the wires off completely and found a small sliver of solder that had dropped to the bottom of the poles. Removed the sliver, problem solved. If there is excess on the motor, it will do the same thing.
ok i wil double check
Casey Belarde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 07:08 PM   #8608
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Led's 12 and 67 show wrong motor type. This could be caused by a bad motor, bad esc, bad wiring.

Check the esc with a known good motor first.
Sounds like you already checked the wiring...
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 08:53 PM   #8609
Tech Regular
 
Casey Belarde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Led's 12 and 67 show wrong motor type. This could be caused by a bad motor, bad esc, bad wiring.

Check the esc with a known good motor first.
Sounds like you already checked the wiring...

led's 12 and 67 the same as DB,BS,MT,VC?????

I have tried all my motors and no luck, sometimes if I roll the motor over it does it's normal thing with the flashes anyway but no sound, then when pulling throttle all led light up then flash normal but motor inop

could it be just a bad ESC or a fluke that all 3 motors went T.U ???

thanks for all the help
Casey Belarde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 08:59 PM   #8610
Moderator
 
J.Whiting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: a very small town in wisconsin that is in the middle of absolutely no where
Posts: 4,536
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey Belarde View Post
led's 12 and 67 the same as DB,BS,MT,VC?????

I have tried all my motors and no luck, sometimes if I roll the motor over it does it's normal thing with the flashes anyway but no sound, then when pulling throttle all led light up then flash normal but motor inop

could it be just a bad ESC or a fluke that all 3 motors went T.U ???

thanks for all the help
can you post a pic of your wiring?? did you get the a-b-c part correct on the motor to speedo?? do you have a bad sensor wire?? will the esc work with the hot wire?? jeremy
__________________
Jeremy Whiting - serpent america - desoto racing - apicco race engines - RcRenew - jconcepts - Rc Pro Products - ko propo eurus - ko propo servos - VP PowerMaster Fuels - Answer-rc usa - advantage racing products - Parma/pse bodies - serpent 811 2.1 - 811t
J.Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:02 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net