R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-12-2009, 11:17 AM   #8566
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

A new "simple" interface is being worked on due to the Netbook craze. I carry a netbook to the track all the time and it's limited on screen space, it's coming.

The servo lead is standard Futaba style, you should be able to find those plugs at any decent hobby shop.

Don't always look for the ceiling of timing. Each setup is different. Make sure to use the avaiable torque your motor creates then add timing to stretch out the rpm's for longer tracks.

As an example Mark Calandara qualified 6th at the recent Cleveland race in Expert 10.5 WGT against all the other esc's out there running DUAL MODE running a Tekin Redline 10.5.

More timing is not always the answer....
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 12:30 PM   #8567
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOSI123 View Post
I honestly believe the conectors that come on the tekin esc's are far to tight, i run a 100mmm servo extension which means its a different plug going in into my rx.

I have cracked the solder joints on the pins in specktrum rx because of this in the past

I think tekin make em tight as they know you will be pluging it in and out heaps for using the hotwire, but i beleive they are far too tight.
The connectors fit fine in all of my Spektrum receivers.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 12:35 PM   #8568
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 227
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyBlazin View Post
Im sure its been answered before, i just cant locate answer.. i have to hook up my tq booster to my rs, 1c appy...what is the proper order of doing so, and than if both switches are still present, wich order turning on, thanks in advance


tommy
I took this off the TQ cells website.

With the 1s Lipo's DEANS connector disconnected, the ESC's switch in the off position and your transmitter turned off ...

Get your 1s Lipo pack voltage checked at TECH (MAX. 4.22V)

Turn on your transmitter

Plug in the 1s Lipo DEANS connector

Turn on your 1s Lipo BOOSTER on-off switch

Turn on your ESC on-off switch (only necessary if your ESC has 1s Lipo voltage cut-off feature enabled)

LET'S GO 1s Lipo RACING!

Once the race is over...

Turn off your ESC switch

Turn off your 1s Lipo BOOSTER switch

Disconnect the 1s Lipo DEANS connector

Turn off your transmitter
billb60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 01:36 PM   #8569
Tech Regular
 
GWH74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 254
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
A new "simple" interface is being worked on due to the Netbook craze. I carry a netbook to the track all the time and it's limited on screen space, it's coming.

The servo lead is standard Futaba style, you should be able to find those plugs at any decent hobby shop.

Don't always look for the ceiling of timing. Each setup is different. Make sure to use the avaiable torque your motor creates then add timing to stretch out the rpm's for longer tracks.

As an example Mark Calandara qualified 6th at the recent Cleveland race in Expert 10.5 WGT against all the other esc's out there running DUAL MODE running a Tekin Redline 10.5.

More timing is not always the answer....
With this new interface / software PLEASE ensure that it is complied so it will work on 64bit machines.

Thanks and keep up the great work.
__________________
AE 12R5.1 - Custom chassis
For Sale BMI DB12RR, Tire Warmers and lots of other stuff.
GWH74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 05:41 PM   #8570
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 143
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys just got my first tekin rs and was trying to load it with the vegas 200 and I got from page 568 of this thread. My buddy has it in his and when he checks his version on his esc it says V200 but mine only says 200 is that correct
BIGBOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 05:44 PM   #8571
Tech Elite
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,889
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default

mine only says 200 and i got it from this thread also.
LOW ET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 05:54 PM   #8572
Tech Regular
 
MaxSp97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Camarino
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGBOT View Post
Hey guys just got my first tekin rs and was trying to load it with the vegas 200 and I got from page 568 of this thread. My buddy has it in his and when he checks his version on his esc it says V200 but mine only says 200 is that correct
Turbo delay:
  • 200: .5 (lowest)
  • Vegas: .2 (lowest)
__________________
Calvin. L
JOY IS IMPATIENT...
COTA Home Of The F1 US Grand Prix
MaxSp97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 06:00 PM   #8573
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 143
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxSp97 View Post
Turbo delay:
  • 200: .5 (lowest)
  • Vegas: .2 (lowest)
It goes to .2 so it must be the vegas.
Thanks!
BIGBOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 08:16 PM   #8574
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,140
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

I hope it is without the crazy toys r us graphics and a bit more professional. When I first loaded hotwire I thought I installed one of my 22 month olds sesame street games.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
A new "simple" interface is being worked on due to the Netbook craze. I carry a netbook to the track all the time and it's limited on screen space, it's coming.

The servo lead is standard Futaba style, you should be able to find those plugs at any decent hobby shop.

Don't always look for the ceiling of timing. Each setup is different. Make sure to use the avaiable torque your motor creates then add timing to stretch out the rpm's for longer tracks.

As an example Mark Calandara qualified 6th at the recent Cleveland race in Expert 10.5 WGT against all the other esc's out there running DUAL MODE running a Tekin Redline 10.5.

More timing is not always the answer....
Chris Furman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 10:15 PM   #8575
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,000
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Furman View Post
I hope it is without the crazy toys r us graphics and a bit more professional. When I first loaded hotwire I thought I installed one of my 22 month olds sesame street games.
What does it matter if you're happy with the actual software.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 12:09 AM   #8576
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

I think that's a bit too much (sesame street? Really?) I do understand that it can be "busy" for some...

I will post a screen shot of the interface when I'm given the thumbs up.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 12:20 AM   #8577
Tech Elite
 
caltek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,406
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Personnally I don't care what it looks like as long as it's easy to use. I am very happy with the way it is now. I don't need to look at the mantle piece whilst I'm stoking the fire.

Later,

Calvin.
caltek1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 12:49 AM   #8578
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
I think that's a bit too much (sesame street? Really?) I do understand that it can be "busy" for some...

I will post a screen shot of the interface when I'm given the thumbs up.
Personally I thought the old interface looked fine...except for the invisible words on the buttons.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 01:00 AM   #8579
Tech Regular
 
Cannondale1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 415
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

I agree it's a bit of a pain to unplug the connector from the receiver every time you want to hook up to the hotwire. Is it possible to splice in a Y connector and leave the ESC connector plugged into the receiver all the time?
Cannondale1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 03:33 AM   #8580
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,043
Default

I hope they can come up with a x/y axis graph with timing/rpm as the values. Forget the turbo delay and stuff... Thats how it is-ish with the Mamba Max Pro except there's no graph for the timing/rpm. Just the max timing and what rpm we want it to start to kick in and what rpm the timing reaches max. This way is very safe as you will not have too much timing at lower revs. Timing just increases as the revs increase...
__________________
/Adrian.

RC FB Pages Subscribed:
facebook.com/EPBuggy
facebook.com/AllStarChampionship
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:46 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net