R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-07-2009, 06:45 AM   #8476
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
I set it to .3 like I had it in Vegas. Same setting as the other guys at my track are using. It was also happening with my 17.5 motor on .5 delay.
on the bench, pull the throttle full and hold it. does the lights on the teking flash? If so you are hitting turbo. if you can see it on the track then see if the lights flash. also check your radio calibration. since the speedo is watching for full throttle and you have a .5sec delay. you have to hold full throttle for that long. some radios wander a little more the others. so the speedo may not be seeing full throttle. calibrate with the radio down 5% or soo on high endpoint and then after calibration, but it back to 100%. that is with radios that have high points of say 150, bump it down to 140-145 and calibrate, then bump it back up to 150

and kick P2 in the ass for me.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 06:53 AM   #8477
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
on the bench, pull the throttle full and hold it. does the lights on the teking flash? If so you are hitting turbo.
All of the lights flashing indicates that the ESC is seeing full throttle. Lift the car up, pull full throttle for more than the delay time, and it will be obvious if turbo is kicking in. If it "goes away" after a few minutes, when this happens, lift the car up and try this again. It should be obvious if the turbo is kicking in. If it isn't, check the LEDs. If they aren't flashing at full throttle, your throttle endpoint is drifting. Try recalibrating with the throttle EPA at 90%, then after re-calibrating, reset the EPA in your radio to 100%.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 07:39 AM   #8478
Tech Fanatic
 
oldrcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 765
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Having a problem with my 2nd RS today. The first 2 to 4 laps the car feels great and you can definitely see the turbo kick in. But after that the seems like it is stuck in first gear, like turbo isn't kicking in. I've already tried rebinding my radio gear, reprogramming the RS, and finally did a factory reset. None of those seemed to fix it. The motor (LRP 13.5) was running just under 150 degrees and the ESC felt warm for the first time that I've ever noticed. Any ideas?

My other RS is running great still. I'll probably swap the 2 since my other RS is in my 1/12th where I don't use turbo right now anyway.
You did do the " set the end point of full throttle position to 90 while calibrating to RS, then return to 100 after done" when you recalibrated each time, this can cause similar loss of turbo issue.

oops, just saw others had also suggested this as well. great minds think alike.
oldrcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 11:10 AM   #8479
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukil View Post
Gearing?

Wow.. Big track I assume?

I think you are not letting your motor get all the timing boost before the turbo takes over. I don't know your gearing, but if I were to use that setup at my track, my car will feel sluggish - turbo will not be consistent due to the turbo delay too low. It's like shifting from 1st gear to third right away.

Try:
25 timing boost
0.8 - 1 sec

Gearing is important.
A delay that big would put me past the straight already. I'm geared at 7.14 while everyone else running the exact same setup are gearing at 6.93.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 11:12 AM   #8480
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
on the bench, pull the throttle full and hold it. does the lights on the teking flash? If so you are hitting turbo. if you can see it on the track then see if the lights flash. also check your radio calibration. since the speedo is watching for full throttle and you have a .5sec delay. you have to hold full throttle for that long. some radios wander a little more the others. so the speedo may not be seeing full throttle. calibrate with the radio down 5% or soo on high endpoint and then after calibration, but it back to 100%. that is with radios that have high points of say 150, bump it down to 140-145 and calibrate, then bump it back up to 150

and kick P2 in the ass for me.
I am hitting full throttle on the bench. It actually works fine for the first few laps then it fades.

I'm tryin to...but he's too fast for me
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 11:59 AM   #8481
Tech Elite
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,020
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Micro-E View Post
Jeff,

What size track do you run that setup on?
i dont know the dimensions of the track but but the track is small . but there is a sweeper before the straight and a sweeper at the end of the straight. i want to play with the setting a little more but i think i am going to bump up the turbo slightly and the boost a little bit but i will drop aq tooth or two when i try it.
__________________
Maclan Racing Products-Bellgate Distributions-PR Racing- Prospeed
jeff jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 02:17 PM   #8482
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Oh I get it now...I could be having wander in my EPA that is causing it to lose top end after a few laps. Then when I turn off my radio and turn it back on it resets and works again for a short time. I'll give the EPA trick a try and hope that helps. I won't know until this weekend when we race again. Thanks for the suggestions.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 02:20 PM   #8483
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
I am hitting full throttle on the bench. It actually works fine for the first few laps then it fades.

I'm tryin to...but he's too fast for me
no physically kick hiim in the butt.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 02:22 PM   #8484
Tech Elite
 
vazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 2,719
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by niznai View Post
The ESC will actually go in smoke even if not switched on if the polarity is reversed at the battery. Don't ask how I know.
Thanks for clarifying.
__________________
Gone riding, cya.........
vazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 02:43 PM   #8485
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,652
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vazzo View Post
Thanks for clarifying.
I found this out at Nationals, with the esc off it smoked up
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*INFINITY * R1 WURKS * PLAIG BEARINGS* SPEEDY RC
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 03:43 PM   #8486
P2
Tech Fanatic
 
P2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oahu, Hi
Posts: 865
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Oh I get it now...I could be having wander in my EPA that is causing it to lose top end after a few laps. Then when I turn off my radio and turn it back on it resets and works again for a short time. I'll give the EPA trick a try and hope that helps. I won't know until this weekend when we race again. Thanks for the suggestions.
We didn't try that at the track yesterday. I was having the same problem a while back and the EPA trick didn't work for me. All I did was reset the RS and recalibrated to the radio.

Here are my settings from yesterday:
Drag: 20
Brk strength: 100
Neutral width: 10
Profile: 3
Cutoff: 2
Timing boost: 26
Turbo: Full
Delay: .3
17.5 Trinity Duo, 0* timing
FDR 5.0

Car was a rocket, but I want more infield so will probably drop the timing down to 22-24 next time.

Don't worry, we'll get you going!

Yang - Watch it buddy
__________________
TopRacingUSA | Team EPIC | Thunder Power | OD Racing
P2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 08:01 AM   #8487
Tech Addict
 
alangking_306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 593
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default tekin rs pro

hai guys so sad that nobody want to reply my question hope somebody form tekin will answer it i am a fan tekin and i buy rs pro and hotwire
in my country malaysia quite exspensive while my frnd mostly using lrp only i alone using tekin product
1)why my 3pks cant match with the rspro, everytime need to ush 3 scnd button and need to push sw3 button then i can play my car?
2) hot wire setting! as i understand reading this forum, setting need as per trek
condition then ur car can go like a rocket or can saw the car have 2 speed like nitro car....fi my cyclone tc internal ratio 2.16 i am using 11.5t sp version 3 what the best spur n pinion and what ratio need to use n can somebody teach me how to set hotwire pls give 1 example from drag to turbo delay
thanks a lot
for a tekin hopefully my frnd will open their eyes if their saw tekin go like rocket
__________________
4pk,PT 2549804,V one R4,,RB matrix,nova 353,3st (RRRR,mega, evo2 history)
JBRCC -Black Crow Racing Team-
alangking_306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 08:23 AM   #8488
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alangking_306 View Post
hai guys so sad that nobody want to reply my question hope somebody form tekin will answer it i am a fan tekin and i buy rs pro and hotwire
in my country malaysia quite exspensive while my frnd mostly using lrp only i alone using tekin product
1)why my 3pks cant match with the rspro, everytime need to ush 3 scnd button and need to push sw3 button then i can play my car?
2) hot wire setting! as i understand reading this forum, setting need as per trek
condition then ur car can go like a rocket or can saw the car have 2 speed like nitro car....fi my cyclone tc internal ratio 2.16 i am using 11.5t sp version 3 what the best spur n pinion and what ratio need to use n can somebody teach me how to set hotwire pls give 1 example from drag to turbo delay
thanks a lot
for a tekin hopefully my frnd will open their eyes if their saw tekin go like rocket
The transmitter problem I have seen before. A club member was changing his TH settings each time after he calibrated it.
check also the wires if every thing is still ok.
Do you change brake strength, or TH settings on your radio after calibrating?
Keep it on max. Set your epa on 90%. Calibrate your radio and than set it to 100%

A good starting setup.
That's hard to say but start with this.
Boost 12
Turbo max
Turbo delay 0.7
Throttle 5
Neutral with 10
Drag Brake 0
Brake strength 80%
Push control 15 Only if you like it to have some extra roll in the corners.
Gearing you must see for the track.
Keep the motor on standard timing.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 08:53 AM   #8489
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Alanking- Some, (if not all) futaba radio's do not bind to the ESC unless you do a servo reverse on the throttle channel.

As for hotwire settings, if you dont feel the turbo kicking in, it could be that you've set the delay for too much, or the gearing.

On some small tracks, eg 10x15 metres, turbo may be of no benefit to you.
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 09:19 AM   #8490
Tech Addict
 
Mugen10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 551
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Mugen10 Send a message via Skype™ to Mugen10
Default

Ok I am trying to get a grasp on the wide search for the motor sweet spot everyone is searching for. My question is, are there a good method out there to minimize the trial and error? I am mostly talking about pan car (1S 12th scale onroad). 12th scale seems to be more of a guess work on finding my motor rollout.

I just got the new Novak Balistic17.5 which is more of a torque motor then the Trienty I had before. (or so I hear) The track is small (45X30). Are there any good starting point like the question that I ask.
__________________
Central Kentucky Racing
$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
Xray T4
Mugen10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:49 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net