R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-03-2009, 01:28 PM   #8401
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldrcr View Post
sorry, didn't mean to call you out on the info, I wasn't sure if you had found out something new that said that they were actually voltage boosting.

I would think that anything that is being done with the black diamond esc would be able to be replicated via software, which is why I like the Tekin esc so much. Now if they could speed up the progress on the new version of hotwire software to adapt to the competiton.
they did make life difficult by their choice of OS to use for the programming of the hotwire/RS system.

Anyway, the sooner the better, so we can see more of these
No problem. I posted it to fast.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 01:56 PM   #8402
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 33
Default

What would happen if you ran 0.0 delay for the turbo and went down like 4 teeth on the pinion?

Would that roughly do the same thing the AE is doing? (or at least give you similar results?)
Pink and Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 02:00 PM   #8403
Tech Regular
 
Brandon Black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 294
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I dont think u can go lower then .2 , mine will not go any lower.
Brandon Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 02:16 PM   #8404
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pink and Blue View Post
What would happen if you ran 0.0 delay for the turbo and went down like 4 teeth on the pinion?

Would that roughly do the same thing the AE is doing? (or at least give you similar results?)
No the AE is working different.
It plays with the Voltage. It higher's the Voltage to accelerate. it plays with it's Voltage. (it will not higher the Voltage above the Voltage of the lipo)
And it plays different with the timing.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 02:35 PM   #8405
Tech Master
 
jag88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon Black View Post
I dont think u can go lower then .2 , mine will not go any lower.

You can go lower then .2 with the 199 team version.
jag88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 02:44 PM   #8406
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
No the AE is working different.
It plays with the Voltage. It higher's the Voltage to accelerate. it plays with it's Voltage. (it will not higher the Voltage above the Voltage of the lipo)
And it plays different with the timing.
this is my speculation as well. has someone actually verified that it boosts motor voltage?
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 04:01 PM   #8407
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
this is my speculation as well. has someone actually verified that it boosts motor voltage?
It's not a speculation any more. I got the info from the distributor from the speedo in Belgium, The Netherlands and Luxembourg.

It does it also to the receiver.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 04:21 PM   #8408
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
It's not a speculation any more. I got the info from the distributor from the speedo in Belgium, The Netherlands and Luxembourg.

It does it also to the receiver.
interesting. so when you say it plays with the voltage, and does not past the voltage of the pack, does that mean, that it provides a constant 4.21V to the motor during hard acceleration, or maybe even during low current draw?
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 04:26 PM   #8409
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

You can Set it to 0 but that Version actually HAs the Half of the v200 Max Turbo Degree...
Best option is V198 with no Turbo but 45 Timing boost
yokemad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 04:29 PM   #8410
Company Representative
 
SweepRacingUSA's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: www.SweepRacingUSA.com
Posts: 1,743
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
interesting. so when you say it plays with the voltage, does and not past the voltage of the pack, does that mean, that it provides a constant 4.21V to the motor during hard acceleration, or maybe even during low current draw?
the Volatege is same on any ESC, just diffrent frequency of voltage going in to a motor adjust RPM called PMV? VMP?
SweepRacingUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 05:09 PM   #8411
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,850
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by da_John_wee View Post
the Volatege is same on any ESC, just diffrent frequency of voltage going in to a motor adjust RPM called PMV? VMP?
PWM: Pulse Width Modulation. Higher frequency means higher RPM. The speedo feeds pusled DC to the motor, like a variable frequency drive feeds a large three phase AC motor in industrial applications.
__________________
Serpent SRX8 electric
Serpent Cobra 811TE-E
Serpent S120LTR 17.5 1/12th and S100LTR Pro-10
Serpent S411 Eryx 4.0 USGT
Team Serpent America and Desoto Racing
Stealth_RT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 05:34 PM   #8412
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth_RT View Post
PWM: Pulse Width Modulation. Higher frequency means higher RPM. The speedo feeds pusled DC to the motor, like a variable frequency drive feeds a large three phase AC motor in industrial applications.
man, really quite interesting. instead of using a steady state drive circuit, using the PWM drive circuit, the speedo can provide max torque out of the motor at any rpm. the only limiting factor is the amount of current that is available. i also see that the power required to run the PWM drive circuit is more then a steady state drive circuit, so that may explain why the "RX" pack is direct connected to the speedo to allow for max performance of the PWM drive circuit.

or at leat that is my understand from what I have read
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 05:43 PM   #8413
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,103
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

No, no...this is not how the ae bd has its advantage. It is ALL in the timing. The rx pack being plugged into the esc was to use the internal bec rather than an external bec like most esc's would require. This is a convenience perk, not a speed producer. There is just a port to plug the receiver pack in. If you don't plug in the receiver pack and just use an external bec there is no difference in the performance. Also, ALL esc's use PWM since the inception of the electronic speed contol.
Right now the tekin acts like a 3 speed transmission. This is better than first gen brushless systems that had a fixed timing through the whole rpm. The BD takes it to the next level. There is no voltage "boosting" or anything.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 06:01 PM   #8414
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,850
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
No, no...this is not how the ae bd has its advantage. It is ALL in the timing. The rx pack being plugged into the esc was to use the internal bec rather than an external bec like most esc's would require. This is a convenience perk, not a speed producer. There is just a port to plug the receiver pack in. If you don't plug in the receiver pack and just use an external bec there is no difference in the performance. Also, ALL esc's use PWM since the inception of the electronic speed contol.
Right now the tekin acts like a 3 speed transmission. This is better than first gen brushless systems that had a fixed timing through the whole rpm. The BD takes it to the next level. There is no voltage "boosting" or anything.
+1. Exactly. The question now is, how much work will Tekin have to do to catch up and pass the AEBD in performace? Kinda sucks we haven't heard one encouraging work from Randy or Ty about when this day may come.
__________________
Serpent SRX8 electric
Serpent Cobra 811TE-E
Serpent S120LTR 17.5 1/12th and S100LTR Pro-10
Serpent S411 Eryx 4.0 USGT
Team Serpent America and Desoto Racing
Stealth_RT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 06:03 PM   #8415
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

not what I was saying.

all speedos maybe using pwm drive circuits. But it seams that the AE maybe the only one that varies the frequency. and it looks like the higher the freq the more power the pwm circuit requires. I understand that there is a port on the speedo and that it is said that it is only because of the BEC that people use it. I am just saying that maybe it is not just for the convenience, but that the "recommended" configuration is to have the rx pack connected to the speedo. And the reason is that the pwm circuit when varying the freq to a high freq may require a more consistent power source then the varying power source of the main 3.7v battery pack. especially during hard acceleration, which is where the AE shines. at no point did I say that the RX is used to drive the motor.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:19 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net