R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-01-2009, 02:55 PM   #8371
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CDW View Post
I would like to personally thank Team Tekin driver Ken Miller. He really put a lot of time into trying to get my Tekin set-up to work for me. He also had a good showing qualifying 11th. I am sure he would have made the show with the BD, but he chose to put all his eggs in the Tekin basket and ride it out. That is hard core loyalty...
Again Ken, Thanks for your help,
CD Wells
"The Traveller" is a stand-up guy! (Not in a comedian kind of way though LOL)
He did great in Stock TC, too, putting it in the show. Good job, Ken!
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 09:45 AM   #8372
Tech Regular
 
LARRY F SR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: pa.
Posts: 328
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default rs set up

randy
looking for what you suggest on motor and esc setup
i run foam 17.5 tc on a track approx. 38 x 85
motor duo II
FAIRTRACE SR.
LARRY F SR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 10:07 AM   #8373
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,103
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by da_John_wee View Post
Variable timing by monitoring amps draw can make the turbo function more effective and that's what might AE have.
The thing is you don't need to monitor amps at all to have the most effective timing for maximum power. Only if you want maximum power AND maximum efficiency you need to monitor amp draw.

What really needs to be done is TONS of testing with all the motors out there on a dyno. Run a test for each degree of timing (say zero to 60 degrees, so 60 tests) and note what degree of timing makes the most power every 50 rpm or whatever the smallest degree of accuracy in the esc is. Put that info into a timing map simply based on rpm and you have the most power you can produce at any rpm period.

If I were working on new software and firmware right now, here is what I would look to do:
Set up a linear timing scheme based on rpm alone
Provide a setup design similar to the castle throttle profile graph where you can grab any point and drag it, but the x axis is rpm (with selectable start and end rpms) and the y axis is degrees of "boost" timing.
Run all oem motors through the dyno and provide a simple one click file for anyone who wants to use a "maximized" profile.
Then, for us offroad guys who can't use "max punch" on slicker tracks can load a "max power" profile for our respectable motor and then lower the timing at certain points to reduce torque and amp draw.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 12:11 PM   #8374
Tech Adept
 
-showtime-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kittanning, PA
Posts: 163
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LARRY F SR View Post
randy
looking for what you suggest on motor and esc setup
i run foam 17.5 tc on a track approx. 38 x 85
motor duo II
FAIRTRACE SR.
Larry,

Here's what I've been running at The Gate and at Beaver.

Vegas 200

20 boost
15 turbo
.04 delay

No timing in the motor. I rolled out at 1.60 at the Gate and the Halloween race. For Beaver I've been going down 2 teeth.

That was with a Duo 1 but they should be close.

This is the setup pretty much everybody that races there uses.
__________________
Greg Dobrosky
Showtime Designs

BMI - Parma - The Raceway at Beaver, PA
-showtime- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 12:40 PM   #8375
Tech Regular
 
Pit_dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Aliso Viejo, Ca
Posts: 385
Default

Guys, have been reading all the posts and I recently bought my son an RSPro, it seems like it can be really easy to chase yourself in a circle trying to get all the setting exact. To avoid going in a circle, what order what a newbie go in hopes of getting a great set-up ? He is running the TC with a 13.5, on an asphault track (West Coast RC in so cal). This track a long straight, my guess is 120 feet. with the rest being infield. Thanks !!
__________________
Bob James - Remembered forever | Bud Light |
Pit_dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 01:49 PM   #8376
Tech Regular
 
LARRY F SR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: pa.
Posts: 328
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

GREG
thanks for the info
LARRY F SR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 01:54 PM   #8377
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: oregon
Posts: 1,059
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to scr_achy Send a message via Yahoo to scr_achy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pit_dad View Post
Guys, have been reading all the posts and I recently bought my son an RSPro, it seems like it can be really easy to chase yourself in a circle trying to get all the setting exact. To avoid going in a circle, what order what a newbie go in hopes of getting a great set-up ? He is running the TC with a 13.5, on an asphault track (West Coast RC in so cal). This track a long straight, my guess is 120 feet. with the rest being infield. Thanks !!
After fighting my tekin to get it working correctly on a large track such as yours I have found it best to gear the car for the infield of the track, you will want your car to reach it's maximum speed possible with the motor at 0 degrees of timing down the straights. Once you have reached this point, tune your turbo boost to kick in right as your car hitS it's maximum speed. This will keeps ur temps cool and still give u killer speed down the long sections of the track.


....... 64bit software available yet? Second round of the nwic and I would like to use my own equipment to adjust my car. Please
__________________
Founder- RcBros.com
It's all about the fun!
Toys: MF2,E X1-CR, 8ight, LCC, MRC, Axial, T209, Baja 5B
scr_achy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 01:58 PM   #8378
Tech Elite
 
TommyBlazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: jersey
Posts: 2,580
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

I keep hearing how you just can upload new software to keep the tekin up-to-date..so question is how long till they update the current esc? I am in market right now, and was going to wait for the sxx stockspec..but thats not going to happen, just dont want to get the rs pro and 3 months from now, something new...also in stock 13.5 can u benifit more from the rs pro? money isnt a matter between the two, just want the best performance i can get...thanks

tommy
__________________
Thinking on maybe a Tekno 1/8 Nitro Buggy?
TommyBlazin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 02:03 PM   #8379
Tech Elite
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,889
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyBlazin View Post
I keep hearing how you just can upload new software to keep the tekin up-to-date..so question is how long till they update the current esc? I am in market right now, and was going to wait for the sxx stockspec..but thats not going to happen, just dont want to get the rs pro and 3 months from now, something new...also in stock 13.5 can u benifit more from the rs pro? money isnt a matter between the two, just want the best performance i can get...thanks

tommy
rs pro is for mod, rs is for stock. don't waste the money if you dont have too.
LOW ET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 02:04 PM   #8380
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

current release software is vegas 200. I am sure there will be a release of new software soon. but it is not a big deal. software is free and you just need a hotwire. so once you own the hardware, you will have the newest software.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 02:10 PM   #8381
Tech Elite
 
TommyBlazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: jersey
Posts: 2,580
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOW ET View Post
rs pro is for mod, rs is for stock. don't waste the money if you dont have too.
yes, ive heard that, so the on-resistance is lower in the rs standard? and has more advanced timing in it?
__________________
Thinking on maybe a Tekno 1/8 Nitro Buggy?
TommyBlazin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 02:21 PM   #8382
Tech Elite
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,889
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyBlazin View Post
yes, ive heard that, so the on-resistance is lower in the rs standard? and has more advanced timing in it?
resistance is less with the rs pro. both speedo's are the same as far as timing goes. the pro just has two boards in it to take the load brought on from mod racing. the rs is smaller, lighter so you benefit there also.

Last edited by LOW ET; 12-02-2009 at 02:35 PM.
LOW ET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 02:29 PM   #8383
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOW ET View Post
resistance is less with the regular rs.
Sorry, wrong. The RS Pro has lower resistance, though not that you'd notice it on the track. The RS is about 8 grams lighter, and 0.2 inches shorter. The length and width are the same.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 02:33 PM   #8384
Tech Elite
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,889
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
Sorry, wrong. The RS Pro has lower resistance, though not that you'd notice it on the track. The RS is about 8 grams lighter, and 0.2 inches shorter. The length and width are the same.
my bad, had them switched

the rs has 0.0003ohms

the rs pro has 0.00015ohms
LOW ET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 06:27 PM   #8385
Tech Elite
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,889
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default

for those that have multiple rs/rs pro's and using hotwire, are there any problems doing this? for example if i have a rs in a 1/12 scale and a second rs in a tc, will there be any issues running off the same hotwire/computer?

i thought i read something about once you check the 1s box you can't uncheck it? so how would you then make changes to the 2s tc?
LOW ET is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:38 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net