R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-24-2009, 08:26 AM   #8296
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

the vegas 200 is the one that goes down to .2 in delay.

for such a small track I would think that the timing you have in the rs and motor is a little high, you get no torque out of the motor with high timing
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 08:35 AM   #8297
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOW ET View Post
this is intended for RANDY PIKE but anyone can chime in.

can you give me a setup to put on my tekin rs esc for carpet 13.5t rubber touring car (v200 software). i'm using thunder power 5000 40c lipo, lrp x12 13.5t motor, same car and setup larry fairtrace ran at the classic.

track is 90'X40'

If it were me I'd start out with 5-10 on the motor, 15 on timing boost with 10 turbo .2 delay to start out. Find you gearing without the turbo at first. I'd be looking for the best punch/midrange feel first. The layout is simiiar to the IIC vegas layout with a few corners swapped around. The 180 entrance to the straight will most likely put you in the .2 to .4 delay depending on when you pick up throttle.

You will need to use all the torque the motor can give you WITHOUT overtiming it in the first place. This is the easiest mistake to make and is quite common...

If I took a stab at FDR I'd say in the 6.2ish range...
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 08:36 AM   #8298
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VRacing View Post
Randy,

I run on a small/tight track, 24x50 with 6' lanes. The straight is 50' with a 20' sweeper entry coming from a very slow chicane (approximately 60' of full throttle before you let off).

I am running a version of 200 I downloaded off of this site. The minimum Turbo Delay is 0.5. So far, finding the 0.2 version has been like an Easter Egg Hunt for me.

My best lap times have been with the following setup: Car-BMI DB12RR Lipo w/ Fantom 5000mah 40c, Rollout 70.5mm, Gear 41/84, RS [email protected], RS Esc Boost 25d, Turbo 20d, Delay .5sec(my current minimum without the correct software). This produces 138d temperature.

Slight changes in motor timing/ Boost setting bring the temperature up to the 150d mark and get a little boggy.

This track layout is like setting up for the tightest infield spot you've seen for the whole lap, then adding one short blast of speed.

Your insight would be appreciated.

Thanks
Shoot me an email here for the software: [email protected]
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 08:54 AM   #8299
Moderator
 
J.Whiting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: a very small town in wisconsin that is in the middle of absolutely no where
Posts: 4,536
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
If it were me I'd start out with 5-10 on the motor, 15 on timing boost with 10 turbo .2 delay to start out. Find you gearing without the turbo at first. I'd be looking for the best punch/midrange feel first. The layout is simiiar to the IIC vegas layout with a few corners swapped around. The 180 entrance to the straight will most likely put you in the .2 to .4 delay depending on when you pick up throttle.

You will need to use all the torque the motor can give you WITHOUT overtiming it in the first place. This is the easiest mistake to make and is quite common...

If I took a stab at FDR I'd say in the 6.2ish range...
we run on a similar sized track... fdr 6.2 motor timing 10, boost 12, turbo 20 .3 delay... throttle curve 4 or 5. motor temp's in the 140-155 range. i am usually 3-5th's faster that the rest of the guys at our track. my top 20 laps are a 1/10 or two faster than there single fast lap. love my tekin. since i have been running the rs 8 guys have since bought a tekin for onroad or offroad use. thanks tekin for the great product............. jeremy
__________________
Jeremy Whiting - serpent america - desoto racing - apicco race engines - RcRenew - jconcepts - Rc Pro Products - ko propo eurus - ko propo servos - VP PowerMaster Fuels - Answer-rc usa - advantage racing products - Parma/pse bodies - serpent 811 2.1 - 811t
J.Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 01:03 AM   #8300
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default 64-bit support

I did a little investigation into the 64-bit issue (I'm a software engineer, and I've got some experience with managed apps on 64-bit operating systems). The common issue that applications run into is that by default, Visual Studio builds managed applications to target platform "Any". This means that it should run as 32-bit process on a 32-bit system and 64-bit process on a 64-bit system. Unfortunately, many managed applications, including HotWire, have dependencies on 32-bit .dlls, and those .dlls don't load when the program runs as 64-bit process. The result is a crash. I've confirmed that HotWire crashes because of this issue. Forcing it to run as a 32-bit application on my Vista 64 machine allows it to run just fine.

There's a few ways to fix the issue.

1) At the source. If the application is built with Visual Studio in C#, just open the project properties, go to the "Build" tab, and set "Platform target:" to "x86". This causes "/platform:x86" to passed to the compiler, generating a binary that always runs as 32-bit. Hopefully this is all Tekin needs to do.

2) Write a 32-bit program that loads the HotWire assembly, and invokes its entry point directly. If you're a C# developer, it's pretty trivial to write a program that you drop in the hotwire directory, and it loads the HotWire.exe assembly using reflection (Assembly.Load()), finds the "Program" type, finds the "Main" method (have to specify static and non-public binding flags), and then invokes it. If you build such an application as a 32-bit application as described in 1), it will cause HotWire to run as a 32-bit application.

3) Use the "corflags.exe" program from the Windows SDK to modify the binary, setting the bit that forces it run as a 32-bit program. This thread has some suggestions on how to get it: stackoverflow.com/questions/242304/where-should-i-download-corflags-exe-from (can't post links yet, you'll have to copy / paste to the address line).

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 05:36 AM   #8301
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

That's great programming information on the 64-bit support for the Tekin Hotwire Interface and Program.

Hopefully Tekin can take this information and quickly integrate these changes into the next version as almost all new computers are coming with Windows 7 x64 now, and this will become a larger problem for Tekin's large user community as time goes on.

Of course I think lots of us would like to see a Hotwire app for our iPhone, Windows Mobile, or Google Android device, but I'm not sure this is possible.
kn7671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 06:39 AM   #8302
Tech Master
 
jkirkwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,232
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grippgoat View Post
I did a little investigation into the 64-bit issue (I'm a software engineer, and I've got some experience with managed apps on 64-bit operating systems). The common issue that applications run into is that by default, Visual Studio builds managed applications to target platform "Any". This means that it should run as 32-bit process on a 32-bit system and 64-bit process on a 64-bit system. Unfortunately, many managed applications, including HotWire, have dependencies on 32-bit .dlls, and those .dlls don't load when the program runs as 64-bit process. The result is a crash. I've confirmed that HotWire crashes because of this issue. Forcing it to run as a 32-bit application on my Vista 64 machine allows it to run just fine.

There's a few ways to fix the issue.

1) At the source. If the application is built with Visual Studio in C#, just open the project properties, go to the "Build" tab, and set "Platform target:" to "x86". This causes "/platform:x86" to passed to the compiler, generating a binary that always runs as 32-bit. Hopefully this is all Tekin needs to do.

2) Write a 32-bit program that loads the HotWire assembly, and invokes its entry point directly. If you're a C# developer, it's pretty trivial to write a program that you drop in the hotwire directory, and it loads the HotWire.exe assembly using reflection (Assembly.Load()), finds the "Program" type, finds the "Main" method (have to specify static and non-public binding flags), and then invokes it. If you build such an application as a 32-bit application as described in 1), it will cause HotWire to run as a 32-bit application.

3) Use the "corflags.exe" program from the Windows SDK to modify the binary, setting the bit that forces it run as a 32-bit program. This thread has some suggestions on how to get it: stackoverflow.com/questions/242304/where-should-i-download-corflags-exe-from (can't post links yet, you'll have to copy / paste to the address line).

-Mike
I would concur with this post.
__________________
SMC Racing | AKA Products | SANWA
jkirkwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 06:42 AM   #8303
Tech Adept
 
amnesia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 119
Default

I would like a LINUX version please... Hotwire doesn't seem to run under Wine.

Hotwire is the only thing I've got that's preventing me from having a machine completely free from Microsoft software


Opensource FTW
__________________
.-= T.O.P. Photon =-.

Titanium Racing (Team TR Driver) / Tekin RS Pro / Novak Ballistic 13.5t / Spektrum

www.titaniumracing.com
amnesia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 06:50 AM   #8304
Tech Master
 
jkirkwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,232
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VRacing View Post
Randy,

I run on a small/tight track, 24x50 with 6' lanes. The straight is 50' with a 20' sweeper entry coming from a very slow chicane (approximately 60' of full throttle before you let off).

I am running a version of 200 I downloaded off of this site. The minimum Turbo Delay is 0.5. So far, finding the 0.2 version has been like an Easter Egg Hunt for me.

My best lap times have been with the following setup: Car-BMI DB12RR Lipo w/ Fantom 5000mah 40c, Rollout 70.5mm, Gear 41/84, RS [email protected], RS Esc Boost 25d, Turbo 20d, Delay .5sec(my current minimum without the correct software). This produces 138d temperature.

Slight changes in motor timing/ Boost setting bring the temperature up to the 150d mark and get a little boggy.

This track layout is like setting up for the tightest infield spot you've seen for the whole lap, then adding one short blast of speed.

Your insight would be appreciated.

Thanks
I ran last night on a 30'x50' track. Here's my settings for watch the paint dry 17.5 1/12th/1s lipo:

- 0 deg motor timing
- 15 deg boost
- Turbo max
- 5 neutral width
- Throttle Profile 4
- .2 turbo delay
- 79.9 mm rollout

I may have been geared a few mm too high. Should had probably ran a 77mm rollout in the main. Although I did have very little drop off through the run. My motor temp was 132 deg after the main.
__________________
SMC Racing | AKA Products | SANWA
jkirkwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 07:24 AM   #8305
Tech Master
 
g12314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 1,282
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to g12314 Send a message via Yahoo to g12314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jer7469 View Post
we run on a similar sized track... fdr 6.2 motor timing 10, boost 12, turbo 20 .3 delay... throttle curve 4 or 5. motor temp's in the 140-155 range. i am usually 3-5th's faster that the rest of the guys at our track. my top 20 laps are a 1/10 or two faster than there single fast lap. love my tekin. since i have been running the rs 8 guys have since bought a tekin for onroad or offroad use. thanks tekin for the great product............. jeremy
I've been running anywhere from 7.0 - 7.6 FDR in 13.5 on tracks smaller than 100'. 30 degrees total timing, max turbo, 0.5 delay. Motor without heatsink/fan comes off at 145 after 6 minutes. With the light gearing, the infield rip is great, and the turbo pulls me down the straight. Your mileage may vary, but I felt with all the timing advance (turbo) I was overgeared and kept dropping teeth till I stopped accelerating at the end of the straight.

Jeremy,

Did you ever try dropping like 5 teeth and run like we talked about in Green Bay? Just curious on the results. See you in a couple weeks for the Hurricane race.

Jimmy
__________________
"PREPARE TO QUALIFY"
g12314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 07:54 AM   #8306
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkirkwood View Post
I ran last night on a 30'x50' track. Here's my settings for watch the paint dry 17.5 1/12th/1s lipo:

- 0 deg motor timing
- 15 deg boost
- Turbo max
- 5 neutral width
- Throttle Profile 4
- .2 turbo delay
- 79.9 mm rollout

I may have been geared a few mm too high. Should had probably ran a 77mm rollout in the main. Although I did have very little drop off through the run. My motor temp was 132 deg after the main.
Thanks for the post. I'll experiment with some of your settings and start building a better setup than I've been using.
VRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 08:04 AM   #8307
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkirkwood View Post
I ran last night on a 30'x50' track. Here's my settings for watch the paint dry 17.5 1/12th/1s lipo:

- 0 deg motor timing
- 15 deg boost
- Turbo max
- 5 neutral width
- Throttle Profile 4
- .2 turbo delay
- 79.9 mm rollout

I may have been geared a few mm too high. Should had probably ran a 77mm rollout in the main. Although I did have very little drop off through the run. My motor temp was 132 deg after the main.
have you tried extending the turbo delay out to like .7+ and then gearing a little higher? at .2 with an 80mm roll out on a track that size, i am thinking that you are trying to ramp timing before the motor has a chance to spin up and that may be generating the heat in the motor.

I have been playing with trying to allow the motor to hit almost full rpm before I ramp timing up with the turbo. this has cooled the motor quite a bit and then it allows me to gear a little higher.

just something to try
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 08:29 AM   #8308
Tech Addict
 
alangking_306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 593
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jland View Post
On the 3pks go to CH Reverse and select TH and put it in reverse. I just set mine up and it works by doing this.
bro still have that prolblem seem like my radio cant macth with rspro need to push mode button 3scnd everytime to play any s else suggestion thanks
__________________
4pk,PT 2549804,V one R4,,RB matrix,nova 353,3st (RRRR,mega, evo2 history)
JBRCC -Black Crow Racing Team-
alangking_306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 08:45 AM   #8309
Tech Addict
 
alangking_306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 593
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default hotwire

to mr randy how much tekin hotwire n a cost send to malaysia thanks
__________________
4pk,PT 2549804,V one R4,,RB matrix,nova 353,3st (RRRR,mega, evo2 history)
JBRCC -Black Crow Racing Team-
alangking_306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 08:51 AM   #8310
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
have you tried extending the turbo delay out to like .7+ and then gearing a little higher? at .2 with an 80mm roll out on a track that size, i am thinking that you are trying to ramp timing before the motor has a chance to spin up and that may be generating the heat in the motor.

I have been playing with trying to allow the motor to hit almost full rpm before I ramp timing up with the turbo. this has cooled the motor quite a bit and then it allows me to gear a little higher.

just something to try
Thanks, yes that is a very valid point. I've been working on the same thing. Lower Rollout with early Turbo vs. Higher Rollout with more delay. I'm trying to test for a setup that would be able to use the Turbo function on such a short straight, may not be very effective?
VRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:21 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net