R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-14-2009, 05:06 PM   #8131
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Yang was talking about brushless...not brushed. Note in his 2nd post on this page he mentions using it with a 13.5.
Speaking about push control. Push control is used for only brushed motors, not on Brushless. according to RS manual. Can anybody else confirm this. That's why push control is turned off on my brushless, 12th scale.

So yang should have push control off, if he's useing brushless. If he has it on, no matter what setting he looses drag brakes. Can anybody confirm this??
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 05:10 PM   #8132
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geezatec View Post
Speaking about push control. Push control is used for only brushed motors, not on Brushless. according to RS manual. Can anybody else confirm this. That's why push control is turned off on my brushless, 12th scale.
In the newer software versions it can be used in both brushed and brushless modes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Push control is active in both brushed AND brushless mode.

It's the exact opposite of drag brake. There has been a current trend in 1/12 to use a bit of push control to carry more corner speed.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 06:41 PM   #8133
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
In the newer software versions it can be used in both brushed and brushless modes.
v200 & v198 It does the same any type of push control, cancel out drag brakes with brushless motor. I would know what brushed would work out, cuz have ran brushed motor for long time now. I run two 12th w/RSPros & Redline 10.5, Xray T2 w/RSPro w/redline 2.5 motor. They both act the same way, push control is off.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 07:37 PM   #8134
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,185
Default

Huh?
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 05:17 AM   #8135
Registered User
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

in the old days guys used to make em creep as well. perhaps somethin to it that still applies today.

R
UltegraSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 05:46 AM   #8136
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

sorry guys,

long day. we did not finish til 1am yesterday.

OK, We do run push with brushless motors. in 17.4 1/12 we tend to run a lot of push. the car just needs to transition weight to get it to turn and to rotate, so even on a brushless motor, the natural drag slows the car too much. I am running 85 on the current layout. this is true on my 13.5 car as well.

now in sedan most are running very little push. they are around 10. I think it is because the sedans are much heavier to the little drag that a brushless motor has does not slow the sedan down as much.

I think that push is not for the high end drivers, but for the general masses. dumas could run the same lap times with or without push. he has soo much control of his throttle. that he take care of push with his finger. for me, I tend to let off, not all the way but some and i don't have the control to modulate the thottle as accurately. so push compensates for what I lack in motor skills.it does make for a lazier driver. because I don't have to modulate the throttle now, I just set push to roll all the corners. the amout of push I run is based on how deep into the corner I want the car to travel. I try and let off in the same spots, but the more push the deeper into the corner I can run
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 07:58 AM   #8137
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Got hotwire working with no issues on windows 7 RTM, 32bit though.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 09:44 AM   #8138
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 904
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

When is someone going to come out with an I-phone app so you don't have to lug around a computer?
SteveL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 10:01 AM   #8139
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveL View Post
When is someone going to come out with an I-phone app so you don't have to lug around a computer?
sounds like a great idea but what cable would you use to transfer data?
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 10:11 AM   #8140
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 755
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Just need to add Bluetooth to the Hotwire, then no cable needed.
WatchOut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 11:06 AM   #8141
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
I think that push is not for the high end drivers, but for the general masses. dumas could run the same lap times with or without push. he has soo much control of his throttle. that he take care of push with his finger. for me, I tend to let off, not all the way but some and i don't have the control to modulate the thottle as accurately. so push compensates for what I lack in motor skills.it does make for a lazier driver. because I don't have to modulate the throttle now, I just set push to roll all the corners. the amout of push I run is based on how deep into the corner I want the car to travel. I try and let off in the same spots, but the more push the deeper into the corner I can run
Running with push then I assume you are having to use brakes quite often. Not sure if it is just decades of driving brushed or I'm just bad at using brakes...but I find my finger is more accurate on the pull rather than the push so I find it easier to stay a little on throttle if I need more role than controlling brakes in the different corners. For me brakes are either full off or full on but throttle I can roll a bit.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 11:13 AM   #8142
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WatchOut View Post
Just need to add Bluetooth to the Hotwire, then no cable needed.
Can you imagine your nemesis changing your settings while you're on the track?
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 12:05 PM   #8143
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: oregon
Posts: 1,059
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to scr_achy Send a message via Yahoo to scr_achy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scr_achy View Post
64bit yet???
..
__________________
Founder- RcBros.com
It's all about the fun!
Toys: MF2,E X1-CR, 8ight, LCC, MRC, Axial, T209, Baja 5B
scr_achy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 12:37 PM   #8144
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scr_achy View Post
..
no mention of it yet
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 02:43 PM   #8145
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Running with push then I assume you are having to use brakes quite often. Not sure if it is just decades of driving brushed or I'm just bad at using brakes...but I find my finger is more accurate on the pull rather than the push so I find it easier to stay a little on throttle if I need more role than controlling brakes in the different corners. For me brakes are either full off or full on but throttle I can roll a bit.
Mahalo Brah!!!! You got it now!!!
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:23 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net