R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-18-2008, 09:36 PM   #796
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,620
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultegrasti View Post
ken putting 'standard' and 'weight' in same sentence? somethin must be wrong with the air out there. come back sir feather, back to the former stomping grounds of wes lion (lol).

comforted by fact that i dont have to 'settle' for the N Brand when it comes time to outfit for 21.5/lipo TA.

R
Never!!!!!!!!!!! I truly belong out here. The weather is better, the community is better, and hell, they even let you into traffic out here. And the best part is I'm only 2 1/2 hours away from the gate!
MUDVAYNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 12:08 AM   #797
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Are there any team drivers running the RS in on-road mod?

Just wondering what settings they are using. The low suggested timing is good for me in that it limits the power, however, for better mod drivers who want all the power they can get, im wondering what the ideal setup is....
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 12:58 AM   #798
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Holland
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
Are there any team drivers running the RS in on-road mod?

Just wondering what settings they are using. The low suggested timing is good for me in that it limits the power, however, for better mod drivers who want all the power they can get, im wondering what the ideal setup is....
Me too, there is a lot of stock info around but not enough on mod. So Jeff or anyone else, could you give us mod racers a little push in the right direction?
Thanks
Z
__________________
_____________________________________________
Tamiya TRF 417, Fantom Racing
rcpoint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 03:14 AM   #799
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

In 5-cell mod I've been told to run the 3.5T at 95% timing... Haven't had the time to try it yet but i'd suggest you try increasing to around 80% and see what you get.
TRF415boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 08:58 AM   #800
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Ouch 95% Is anyone able to confirm that, as we run 5 cell in Australia at the moment.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 09:26 AM   #801
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geezatec View Post
Standard weight

RS 2.0oz or 56.699g

RSPRo 2.3oz or 65.204g

W/O wires

By Tekin specs, it with wires. Could be less, depending on your layout of wire. Specs are taking from Tekin websight of standard weight of ESC.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 09:30 AM   #802
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

We haev an RS forum running on our site that the team drivers are posting there setups.

Jaosn Moberly runs the RS Pro in Mod. He's a factory AE driver and runs strapped. I'm sure he'll post his setup soon.

Most guys that run the RS in mod are running it in dual mode and adjust the timing to fit there power needs. More timing gives more rpm's and top end rip. Less timing will get you more torque and will require a gearing change for the same top end.

Those of you that are running it, where are your current settings? What are you looking for in performance gains? Top end? Bottom End?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 10:24 AM   #803
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geezatec View Post
By Tekin specs, it with wires. Could be less, depending on your layout of wire. Specs are taking from Tekin websight of standard weight of ESC.
We all know that but the question asked was the weight without the wires hence us weighting our units.
TRF415boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 10:26 AM   #804
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
We haev an RS forum running on our site that the team drivers are posting there setups.

Jaosn Moberly runs the RS Pro in Mod. He's a factory AE driver and runs strapped. I'm sure he'll post his setup soon.

Most guys that run the RS in mod are running it in dual mode and adjust the timing to fit there power needs. More timing gives more rpm's and top end rip. Less timing will get you more torque and will require a gearing change for the same top end.

Those of you that are running it, where are your current settings? What are you looking for in performance gains? Top end? Bottom End?
Randy, unless Jason runs 5-cell mod then I seriously doubt he'll be of any help, as removing one cell makes a really big difference on how the speedo performs, especially in dual mode.
TRF415boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 11:14 AM   #805
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
We haev an RS forum running on our site that the team drivers are posting there setups.
I've seen the same question posted there as here about Jeff Cuffs' 13.5T profile and haven't seen a solid answer yet. Maybe I'm just too dense to understand so maybe someone could really spell it out. I know others are wondering as well. Here goes:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Cuffs
13.5 and 10.5 touring
Back down timing on 10.5 if motor temp gets too high
Sensored only mode
90% timing

throttle profile 5
drag brake 50
brake strength 60
What's up with "Sensored Only" and "90% timing"?? Aren't these mutually exclusive? I'm trying to take this thing racing this weekend and will have the Hotwire on hand, but would like a good starting point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Most guys that run the RS in mod are running it in dual mode and adjust the timing to fit there power needs. More timing gives more rpm's and top end rip. Less timing will get you more torque and will require a gearing change for the same top end.
So should we ignore the "Sensored Only" suggestion above? Or is that just for mod?

It would be nice to have some good general "start here and tune to suit" profiles for various motors and configurations. Personally, I'm running 13.5 TC, rubber, asphalt.

Thanks! Not trying to sound snarky. Just confused.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 11:34 AM   #806
Tech Master
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,701
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
We haev an RS forum running on our site that the team drivers are posting there setups.
I get a 404 error when I try to get to the Tekin forum...
__________________
Speed Merchant Rev7, Tekin, TQ Racing (wire), Team Tamale
RC Excitement - Buy where you race, support your local tracks.
ROAR #105242
timmay70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 04:26 PM   #807
Registered User
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

i'm afraid i dont have any experience with BL of the sensored variety. in TA, ur forced to use 'N' Brand motors. will tekin's new offering be able to drive it, sensors common? thx

R
UltegraSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 09:54 PM   #808
Tech Master
 
davepull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange Park, Florida
Posts: 1,180
Default

hey Randy

congrats on the new gig email me with a number I can reach you at
davepull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 09:54 PM   #809
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

My personal recomendations for guys running TC 13.5/10.5 would be to start out in sensored only, max motor timing and adjust MOTOR timing from there. The timing bar on the Hotwire only affects the timing while in dual mode. In sensored only it's negated.

In mod, the timing being that far advanced isn't a great thing. It's a motor by motor basis but we've found that too much timing simply creates heat. So that's where a setup like MO's works best. However if you're using 5 cell I'd recomend Sensored only mode similiar to the 13.5/10.5 due to the lower voltages.

General mod setup for 6 cell could be say a 4T using 70 on the timing bar. The motor timing isn't utilized at all in dual mode so where it's set won't matter.

Things like throttle profiles is a user decided option. I prefer mine to be very linear(TP 3) but Jeff has his set to be quite agressive using TP 5.

Here's the RS thread:

http://www.teamtekin.com/forums/topi...8&whichpage=19
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 07:12 AM   #810
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

The Redline sensored motors are in stock at Stormer. I just ordered mine...can't wait!
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:17 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net