R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-07-2009, 03:03 PM   #8056
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

I updated today a 1:12 driver his speedo.
he was running the V198. I gave him the following setup.
Boost 18
Turbo max
Turbo delay 0,6
5.0 roll out
LRP 10,5 X11 motor.

He was impressed with the power.
Better acceleration and top speed.
I think that I will lower his Turbo delay to 0,4 because he was pulling good away out of the corners and the Turbo came in a bit late.
see what it does.

This is my setup that I ran today.
Also 10,5 LRP X11
Boost 18
Turbo max
Turbo delay 0,6 (When I lower it I lose a bit of infield speed.)
Gearing 7,3FDR

3th fasted lap today with just 0,04sec behind the second fastest lap and I lowered my lap time with 0,2sec.
Best top speed and great infield speed.
I'm just a bit faster than the SPX. I am losing in the corners on the 2 best drivers there but they are impressed about the power.

Tomorrow the race. The A final is in reach. My gaol is the top 5.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 04:23 PM   #8057
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Barbados
Posts: 214
Default

I switched from a Tekin 13.5 to a Duo 2 13.5 today and noticed something strange. My turbo was set to kick in at 1.2 seconds but on the Duo 2 it's not happening for almost 3 seconds. Top end felt lower on the track so I pulled it in and throttled it with the wheels off the ground and the turbo is kicking in really late. Anyone else come across this before when switching BL motor brands? I tried changing the turbo time by Hotwire but it doesnt seem to change. It's kicking in really late.

I'm recently back in the hobby after a 10 year break so brushless is new to me.

RS Pro settings did not change between motors. I had the 13.5 Tekin at 5 degrees on the motor and the 13.5 Duo 2 at the default motor timing as it was the first run.
spongerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 05:56 PM   #8058
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Did you re-calibrate your radio to your speedo after making the Hotwire changes? If not, your speedo may not be seeing "full throttle". Give it a try.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 07:36 PM   #8059
Tech Addict
 
PrimeAKF11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Voorhees, NJ
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Tekin guys,

My cousin told me that he accidently plugged in the battery to his RS with the polarity reversed for a short time (I'm posting for him because he dosen't have internet at his new apt yet). He immediately realized what he had done and unplugged it but not before a bit of smoke came out. He doesn't know where it came from though.

Thing is, he tells me that the car still worked fine after he corrected the polarity. Apparently he actually raced it after skipping a qual and couldn't notice any difference in performance. Throttle was smooth all the way up, turbo still kicked in, and the brakes still worked. Afterwards it still connected to Hotwire without any problems.

He's wondering if he should still send it in. Is it possible that something on the ESC is damaged yet still working? Or did he luck out?
__________________
Best rubber tires>> www.SweepRacingUSA.com
For your Team Magic G4 parts needs>> www.bluesunhobbies.com
HD Videos of Blue Diamond Onroad Raceway!!! 200ft+ straight of fury!! >> http://www.rctech.net/forum/racing-forum/406318-2nd-annual-pete-johnson-have-nice-day-memorial-race-5.html
PrimeAKF11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 09:34 PM   #8060
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,850
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Probably burned up only some of the FETs. Maybe it won't get any worse, maybe it will. All the FETs were stressed, only some failed, but the rest could be weakened, and will fail eventually. Send it in if it's still under warranty.
__________________
Serpent SRX8 electric
Serpent Cobra 811TE-E
Serpent S120LTR 17.5 1/12th and S100LTR Pro-10
Serpent S411 Eryx 4.0 USGT
Team Serpent America and Desoto Racing
Stealth_RT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 09:41 PM   #8061
Tech Master
 
jkirkwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,232
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I really hope Tekin has an answer for CRC's new speedo that's going to be selling for $350. From everything I've seen it's a full lap better but that's way too much for a speed controller and will just kill the 1s classes IMO. For that price the car better almost near drive itself.
__________________
SMC Racing | AKA Products | SANWA
jkirkwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 10:24 PM   #8062
Tech Master
 
rosko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,068
Default

yea and for sedan the crc speedo 400 dollars. man thats more than a photon,phi2,tc5,and losi type r. i like to be competitive, but that not competitive.
rosko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 10:31 PM   #8063
Tech Addict
 
PrimeAKF11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Voorhees, NJ
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth_RT View Post
Probably burned up only some of the FETs. Maybe it won't get any worse, maybe it will. All the FETs were stressed, only some failed, but the rest could be weakened, and will fail eventually. Send it in if it's still under warranty.
I was under impression that if even one of the FETs was damaged, the ESC would show it in some way, like stuttering under load or whatnot. And I don't think user stupidity is covered under warranty .

Just curious after seeing your username.... are you on 3si?
__________________
Best rubber tires>> www.SweepRacingUSA.com
For your Team Magic G4 parts needs>> www.bluesunhobbies.com
HD Videos of Blue Diamond Onroad Raceway!!! 200ft+ straight of fury!! >> http://www.rctech.net/forum/racing-forum/406318-2nd-annual-pete-johnson-have-nice-day-memorial-race-5.html
PrimeAKF11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 06:58 AM   #8064
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

+1
nothing about warranty
yokemad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 07:10 AM   #8065
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,850
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrimeAKF11 View Post
I was under impression that if even one of the FETs was damaged, the ESC would show it in some way, like stuttering under load or whatnot. And I don't think user stupidity is covered under warranty .

Just curious after seeing your username.... are you on 3si?
Well, if some FETs were blown, you still might not see a drop in performance with a 17.5 motor. Just not pulling enough amps to see the increased resistance affect performance.

Yes, I am on 3Si. Proud owner of a '92 Stealth_RT/TT, that takes all my money that RC doesn't. Someday, I'll even finish the current project of fabbing an FMIC for it.
__________________
Serpent SRX8 electric
Serpent Cobra 811TE-E
Serpent S120LTR 17.5 1/12th and S100LTR Pro-10
Serpent S411 Eryx 4.0 USGT
Team Serpent America and Desoto Racing
Stealth_RT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 07:47 AM   #8066
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrimeAKF11 View Post
I was under impression that if even one of the FETs was damaged, the ESC would show it in some way, like stuttering under load or whatnot. And I don't think user stupidity is covered under warranty .

Just curious after seeing your username.... are you on 3si?
You're right, it's not covered under warranty. I would still call or email them about your problem. Some times they're so impressed that a customer owns up to a mistake that they will fix it. Not always...

The customer service is great and they can give a better direction on what makes sense for your situation.
Fred_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 08:45 AM   #8067
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 906
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default factory default

This question is for Randy or anyone with a concrete answer. Why is the Redline motor's time set just past the 12 degree mark as a factory default? I wanted to set it to zero and then use my hotwire and computer to boost up the timing. Is this the correct way to go? thanks.
storytyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 09:58 AM   #8068
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by storytyme View Post
This question is for Randy or anyone with a concrete answer. Why is the Redline motor's time set just past the 12 degree mark as a factory default? I wanted to set it to zero and then use my hotwire and computer to boost up the timing. Is this the correct way to go? thanks.
Go for it.

Thereís no issue with Tekin setting 12 as default, this isnít a sweet spot, or a safety thing for you to be concerned about, Something has to be set as default, and this is what they decided upon - A lot of fixed timing motors arenít at 0deg, I expect Tekin found 12deg to be a nice 'out o the box' setup. Donít worry though, heaps of people prefer to run zero on the motor and then add boost + turbo. There is no correct way or incorrect way... You run the settings that best suit your needs.

Consider your question the same as asking why your kit came with 2.5deg toe in at the rear. The other options are there Ė feel free to use them to optimise your usage.
monstercol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 09:59 AM   #8069
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

what motor are you using,17.5 13.5. then go with 0-5 endbell and 25 boost with total at 30 between the two. play with the boost to get the feal in the infeild to your liking and then add turbo for the straights
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 11:15 AM   #8070
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 906
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
what motor are you using,17.5 13.5. then go with 0-5 endbell and 25 boost with total at 30 between the two. play with the boost to get the feal in the infeild to your liking and then add turbo for the straights
Thanks everyone for the advice. Looking forward to getting it set-up.
storytyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:36 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net