R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-05-2009, 08:17 AM   #8011
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
other than the size and able to handle low turn there almost the same but there is no sensored mode for use with high turn which means no boost,turbo
What turn do you need to run?
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 09:14 AM   #8012
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,102
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post

I tried to find the post, but I don't have time right now. I could have sworn the RX8 is an RS in a bigger case with better cooling. That means it will do everything the RS will, just with better cooling and more weight.

I also recall people going to the RX8 in mod class because it was better at cooling.
The RX8 is based off the RS and is very similar. However, because it was designed for multi-pole high voltage motors the sensor only function is locked out in the software. Sensors are not as accurate with multiple poles/slots so sensored only is actually detrimental in 8th scale electrics. Thus to protect the uneducated public sensored only is not available on the rx8. I'm sure you could "jailbrake" it though...
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 09:54 AM   #8013
F-1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 260
Default

Yes, i need RS PRO. I live in Russia, and i cant buy it your local shop
F-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:09 AM   #8014
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

The RX8 was tested in extreme mod TC using Lipos, 5 cell with motors down to a 2.5t.

It doesn't have the ability to go into sensored only mode which is fine since in MOD you're not going to want that. It works just fine as it shares programming with the RS line.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 03:09 PM   #8015
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
Does the amount of turbo affect the top speed or just how fast it gets to top speed? Also is there a limit to the amount of timing and turbo? I know motor and speedo timing should be kept around 30, but is there a relationship between timing and turbo as well? Thanks.
Randy???
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 03:15 PM   #8016
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,102
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
Randy???
Turbo affects top speed...it does not provide extra acceleration to obtain your top speed quicker. The maximum on the Turbo slider is 20 degrees of timing.

The 30 degrees reference is a suggested maximum between motor timing and boost timing. Turbo is an addition of timing and is capped at 20 degrees maximum you can add.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 03:37 PM   #8017
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
Turbo affects top speed...it does not provide extra acceleration to obtain your top speed quicker. The maximum on the Turbo slider is 20 degrees of timing.

The 30 degrees reference is a suggested maximum between motor timing and boost timing. Turbo is an addition of timing and is capped at 20 degrees maximum you can add.
Thanks Krio. I'm going to keep adding turbo until I'm happy.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 05:19 PM   #8018
PDR
Tech Master
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,826
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
Thanks Krio. I'm going to keep adding turbo until I'm happy.
Timing? Turbo? I heard a rumour that software developers hidden in secret locations are trying to code N2O (Nitrous Oxide) into a future release
__________________
Looking for chassis | Multiple Kids
2011 Slowest Winner - 21.5 Muchmore Masters & NSW State Titles Demo Class
https://www.facebook.com/phatdadracing/
Making an A Main at a Scotty Ernst event. Awesome. Scotty calling you first in A1. Priceless
PDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 05:24 PM   #8019
Tech Addict
 
mtbboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg. Igloo. Hockey. Beer.
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hey all.

I know this has probably been covered a zillion times on this forum.

When I punch the throttle on my rs pro the car stutters and then launches.
What am I doing wrong here?
Dave.
__________________
Team Associated Reedy factory team driver.
B5M Factory lite $ B44.3 Factory $ TC6.2 $ RC12R 5.1
Reedy 410 Speedos $ Reedy Mach Series motors
204 Raceway Winnipeg 1/10-1/8 Offroad. Owner.
mtbboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 06:12 PM   #8020
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbboy View Post
Hey all.

I know this has probably been covered a zillion times on this forum.

When I punch the throttle on my rs pro the car stutters and then launches.
What am I doing wrong here?
Dave.
Try a new sensor wire.
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 07:09 PM   #8021
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Yup try a new sensor wire...if that doesn't work then clean out the motor really good with motor spray. Sometimes dirt can get on the sensors and cause the same problem.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 09:09 PM   #8022
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,102
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Yup try a new sensor wire...if that doesn't work then clean out the motor really good with motor spray. Sometimes dirt can get on the sensors and cause the same problem.
No...do NOT use motor spray on sensored motors. Compressed air is the best way to clean them out. Motor spray can damage the electronics in the motor.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:19 PM   #8023
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbboy View Post
Hey all.

I know this has probably been covered a zillion times on this forum.

When I punch the throttle on my rs pro the car stutters and then launches.
What am I doing wrong here?
Dave.
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
Try a new sensor wire.
Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
Yup try a new sensor wire...
Remember that you can check the sensors via the last three LEDs on the ESC. Power everything up and turn the motor while watching the LEDs. They will light (dimly) as each of the three sensors is triggered. If one or more of them never flashes check/replace your sensor wire.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:21 PM   #8024
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
No...do NOT use motor spray on sensored motors. Compressed air is the best way to clean them out. Motor spray can damage the electronics in the motor.
Krio, if motor spray is isopropylic alcohol is it OK then to use it on the sensors? Isopropylic alcohol is sold as "electronics cleaner" under a lot of brands and it is especially for cleaning electronics (I have been using it for a long time with all my other speedies and all sorts of other electornics as well, without any problem) as it does not attack plastics and evaporates without residue.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:27 PM   #8025
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,102
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by niznai View Post
Krio, if motor spray is isopropylic alcohol is it OK then to use it on the sensors? Isopropylic alcohol is sold as "electronics cleaner" under a lot of brands and it is especially for cleaning electronics (I have been using it for a long time with all my other speedies and all sorts of other electornics as well, without any problem) as it does not attack plastics and evaporates without residue.
Isopropyl alcohol isn't a problem. The problem is that all the motor sprays that I've ever owned usually contained one or more of the following:
Hexane, Propane, Isopropanol, n-butane, and Isobutane. While plastic friendly for the most part, they are not ideal for electronics.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:04 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net