R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-29-2009, 11:48 PM   #7861
Tech Elite
 
bkspeedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fort Fun, CO
Posts: 3,139
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syber Serulean View Post
sorry for asking again but I didnt get not even a wisp of an answer...
has anyone compared the turbo function on this ESC to the MMPro's variable timing "c.h.e.a.t mode?"
sounds like it would work the same...
It's actually like Boost and Turbo combined. The advantage is you can adjust at what RPM the timing advanced starts and when it should be at 100% of the timing advanced you select (1 to 50deg).

So lets say your on a big track with a long straight, you can set the RPM range from say 10000 to 15000. When the controller see's 10K rpm it will start advancing timing and when it reaches 15K rpm the timing advance value you set will reach 100% and continue at that value until the rpm drops below 15K.
__________________
Brent Klingforth
Sponsors: Awesomatix USA ~ Roche USA ~ ORCA ~ AVID Bearings ~ R1 Wurks
TQ Wire ~ Montech ~ WTF ~ BSR Racing Tires ~ 2mm Design ~ Helix Designs
5280 Raceway
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 19-22nd 2018 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
bkspeedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 12:07 AM   #7862
Tech Elite
 
mjc168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,808
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

If tekin able to come out a dynamic timing firmware like what novak kinetic and orca speedo does...I think most of the beginner will very happy with that....
__________________
http://www.pprcc.com/

1/10 On-road Touring: Schumacher MI3 + Tekin RS Pro + Orca RX-1 11.5t BL Motor
1/10 On-road Touring: Xray T3 2011 + Tekin RS Pro + Tekin Redline 10.5t BL Motor
mjc168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 12:18 AM   #7863
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,181
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammer View Post
Kane-O

You have to use this software.

http://www.tqcells.com/Hotwire200.zip
So I need a little more help folks. I downloaded this version and after installing still no option for turbo delay after checking sensored. It indicates it is version 180 when I click on versions and upon opening the Hotwire it indicates an application error has occurred. Any help would be appreciated.
-Kane
Kane-o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 01:13 AM   #7864
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkspeedo View Post
It's actually like Boost and Turbo combined. The advantage is you can adjust at what RPM the timing advanced starts and when it should be at 100% of the timing advanced you select (1 to 50deg).

So lets say your on a big track with a long straight, you can set the RPM range from say 10000 to 15000. When the controller see's 10K rpm it will start advancing timing and when it reaches 15K rpm the timing advance value you set will reach 100% and continue at that value until the rpm drops below 15K.
So in your opinion, and im bound to get a biased opinion asking in this forum, what would you say is the superior approach? Timing advance via RPM like the MMpro or "turbo" and boost seperate like the RS? Im already leaning towards the Tekin's but im trying to weight all my options before i sink my money in
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 03:01 AM   #7865
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kane-o View Post
So I need a little more help folks. I downloaded this version and after installing still no option for turbo delay after checking sensored. It indicates it is version 180 when I click on versions and upon opening the Hotwire it indicates an application error has occurred. Any help would be appreciated.
-Kane
Did you have vista and the old version installed? There are some things you need to do when reinstalling the newer software if that is the case.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 04:13 AM   #7866
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syber Serulean View Post
So in your opinion, and im bound to get a biased opinion asking in this forum, what would you say is the superior approach? Timing advance via RPM like the MMpro or "turbo" and boost seperate like the RS? Im already leaning towards the Tekin's but im trying to weight all my options before i sink my money in
We have as much tuning as you need on the motor, the 0.2 delay on the vegas software is the icing on the cake.

And yes, my answer is biased, 100% (But at least i'm honest)

Turbo and boost seperate imho allows for more tuning, and there's always going to be new software being developed, future proofing your purchase...
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 04:40 AM   #7867
Tech Elite
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kane-o View Post
So I need a little more help folks. I downloaded this version and after installing still no option for turbo delay after checking sensored. It indicates it is version 180 when I click on versions and upon opening the Hotwire it indicates an application error has occurred. Any help would be appreciated.
-Kane

on the interface you have to select the v200 from the list on the right.. the interface is terrible, and the menu is hard to actually see..
__________________
WWW.STORMERHOBBIES.COM helping keep pan cars alive!

Turns out not where, but who your with that really matters... DMB
tallyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 06:15 AM   #7868
Company Representative
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,633
Default

Kane, I had the same problem. On teh bottom row of button there is a update button. I couldn't see it because of the red on black writing. Once I hit that, everything was fine.
__________________
Guess who's decided to play again???

HB Racing/Team Orion
Gary Fliegel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 06:16 AM   #7869
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyanyde View Post
that is now and there is 5 days left. lets see what it sells for. I bet over 2 bills
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 12:12 PM   #7870
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,181
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
Did you have vista and the old version installed? There are some things you need to do when reinstalling the newer software if that is the case.
I believe this may be my problem. What ere the steps I have to take?
Kane-o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 12:20 PM   #7871
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,181
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Fliegel View Post
Kane, I had the same problem. On teh bottom row of button there is a update button. I couldn't see it because of the red on black writing. Once I hit that, everything was fine.
Thanks Gary, I tried that with no result. I think it is more related to the install of the software itself.
-Kane
Kane-o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 12:30 PM   #7872
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 131
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kane-o View Post
I believe this may be my problem. What ere the steps I have to take?
here you go

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=youtube+tekin+vista&l=1

g
gortan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 12:33 PM   #7873
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 131
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

is the simple ugly and easy to use interface still on the shortlist of to-do(s) @ tekin?

g
gortan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 12:42 PM   #7874
Tech Elite
 
bkspeedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fort Fun, CO
Posts: 3,139
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syber Serulean View Post
So in your opinion, and im bound to get a biased opinion asking in this forum, what would you say is the superior approach? Timing advance via RPM like the MMpro or "turbo" and boost seperate like the RS? Im already leaning towards the Tekin's but im trying to weight all my options before i sink my money in
The MMPro is almost twice the size of an RS so if space is an issue Tekin is the way to go. The MMPro is also a new controller and is not fully proven yet where as the Tekin has one numerous titles in both on-road and off-road.

I personally think the RPM method is the way to go. Tekin may be headed this way in the near future but its hard to say. Tekin's goal is to make dealing with timing easy, which is fine for some people. I'm not one of those people, I would prefer more control.

I'm not bad mouthing Tekin here, it's a great ESC and I own 2 with a third on the way. I bought the MMPro due to its low cost and I've always been intrigued by Castles customization capabilities.

I started an MMpro thread in the on-road section where you can try asking more questions and we'll see who replys.
__________________
Brent Klingforth
Sponsors: Awesomatix USA ~ Roche USA ~ ORCA ~ AVID Bearings ~ R1 Wurks
TQ Wire ~ Montech ~ WTF ~ BSR Racing Tires ~ 2mm Design ~ Helix Designs
5280 Raceway
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 19-22nd 2018 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
bkspeedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 03:42 PM   #7875
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,181
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gortan View Post
Thank you so much for the help.....I would have been screwed without it!!! Now I have no stress for tonight's club race lol.
-Kane
Kane-o is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:59 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net