R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-28-2009, 03:29 PM   #7831
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Randy you got mail.
I don't think that you can read the text but as I must translate it, it's not a problem. All of it is in Dutch, only that part is in English.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 05:29 PM   #7832
Tech Master
 
komkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germantown, America
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to komkit Send a message via AIM to komkit Send a message via Yahoo to komkit
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
your 610 would run win7 nicely. so why retire it. make it the RC workhorse
I will check with the advisor later on when I get a chance to see what is compatible and what isn't. I was just looking if I can get anything smaller. Although my D610 had been really good so far anything that I need to do while on the road it can do it all.
__________________
CFX Paintworks - The Track
komkit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 07:29 PM   #7833
Tech Master
 
CarlosG.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Falls City,TX
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to CarlosG.
Default

Okay guys, I need some help. I have the Novak Ballistic 13.5 in my 12r5 along with the RS. I have not touched the timing on the motor. I believe the instructions say that the motor comes set to 30* of timing from the factory. So here is my concern: what should I set the RS as far as timing, turbo, and throttle? This will be a starting point for me. I forgot to mention the motor I am running with the esc, Yang.
CarlosG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 08:49 PM   #7834
Tech Master
 
TRXRACER99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,094
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

first turn your motor timing down to at least to like 10 honestly idk how the new ballistic motors ar ebut turning this down will make your motor run cooler
TRXRACER99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 01:15 AM   #7835
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

has anyone compared the turbo function on this ESC to the MMPro's variable timing "c.h.e.a.t mode?"
sounds like it would work the same...
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 06:19 AM   #7836
Tech Master
 
padailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I don't remember having seen this question before but I hope someone has run across this because I'm stumped. Anyway in TC last night every run the turbo disappeared.... worked at the beginning of the qualifier/race and somewhere in the middle it went away. Any reason it would just stop working?

Motor DUO 17.5 - 0 deg
Turbo - Max
Boost - 19
FDR - 4.78 - 110 deg after race
__________________
www.hobbyplexraceway.com

Tamiya TRF417X (Lion's Automotive GTR)
Tamiya TRF416X
Tamiya F104W MP6/4 converted to F104X1 (Renault R30)
padailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 06:53 AM   #7837
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,103
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by padailey View Post
I don't remember having seen this question before but I hope someone has run across this because I'm stumped. Anyway in TC last night every run the turbo disappeared.... worked at the beginning of the qualifier/race and somewhere in the middle it went away. Any reason it would just stop working?

Motor DUO 17.5 - 0 deg
Turbo - Max
Boost - 19
FDR - 4.78 - 110 deg after race
The largest cause for this is having your radio wander, even if by a tiny amount, as it "warms up" in your hand. The rs has near zero tolerance when it comes to "full" throttle. Most get around this by performing setup at epa's of 90 and then bumping up to 100 to make sure the esc see's full throttle.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 07:38 AM   #7838
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 906
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by storytyme View Post
I am running a 13.5 redline with the RS in a TC4.
I am fairly new to onroad and noticed my temps
were at 160ish after a 6 min run. Is this too high?
I am used to running the Tekin in my B4 where temps
stay at 125 or so. Here is my current set-up:

The track is carpet and is shown here: www.outbackraceway.com
drag brake: off
brake: 60
neutral: 56
throttle: 3
push: off
timing: 23
turbo: 16
delay: 0.3
pinion: 26
spur: 72
FDR: 6.92
battery: SMC Lightning Volt 5200 24C
any suggestions on my heat or any other
part of my setup would be great

Also. I switch my RS between my TC4 and
my B4. I use velcro to hold it down, but in
the TC4 it does not stay fastened to the chasis
with the Velcro. Any tips?

Thanks.
So if I lower my boost and add a couple teeth on the pinion plus increase my turbo delay then my temps may get a little lower. If I drop my FDR to 4.5ish wouldn't this increase temps??????
storytyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 11:39 AM   #7839
Tech Master
 
ChristopherKee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by padailey View Post
I don't remember having seen this question before but I hope someone has run across this because I'm stumped. Anyway in TC last night every run the turbo disappeared.... worked at the beginning of the qualifier/race and somewhere in the middle it went away. Any reason it would just stop working?

Motor DUO 17.5 - 0 deg
Turbo - Max
Boost - 19
FDR - 4.78 - 110 deg after race
If your delay is set to low and you're not winding out before it hits it seems to go away/ not kick in properly.

Also, if you radio creeps it makes it go away. I get this at my track when a 4pk is in my heat. Set your throttle to like 90/95 and then sync it to the esc. Then turn it back up. Seems to work for me.
ChristopherKee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 11:50 AM   #7840
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,041
Default

The EPA trick is THE cure. Its been on almost every page of this thread since the release of V200.
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 12:12 PM   #7841
Tech Master
 
jag88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristopherKee View Post
If your delay is set to low and you're not winding out before it hits it seems to go away/ not kick in properly.

Also, if you radio creeps it makes it go away. I get this at my track when a 4pk is in my heat. Set your throttle to like 90/95 and then sync it to the esc. Then turn it back up. Seems to work for me.
I just got my RS yesterday so it's all new to me. So I have some questions ........

If your delay is set to low (do you mean a low number i.e. 0.2?) then wouldn't the turbo kick in sooner and you should feel that sooner ?

Not winding out. Does that mean there is a length of time that has to pass (this would be the winding out portion, depending on gearing ?) before the delay time has to pass and THEN the turbo kicks in ?

If your off the throttle before any of these timed events happen, does that mean you won't feel the 'kick' ?

This is assuming that you don't have any throttle 'drift'.

Thanks.
jag88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 12:17 PM   #7842
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: colorado
Posts: 192
Send a message via Skype™ to slotracer577
Default

think of the turbo as shifting into overdrive. If the car is not going fast enough when you shift it will just bog down. So if the delay is too short, the car will just go slower, not faster.

john
__________________
Team Epic
slotracer577 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 12:22 PM   #7843
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jag88 View Post
I just got my RS yesterday so it's all new to me. So I have some questions ........

If your delay is set to low (do you mean a low number i.e. 0.2?) then wouldn't the turbo kick in sooner and you should feel that sooner ?

Not winding out. Does that mean there is a length of time that has to pass (this would be the winding out portion, depending on gearing ?) before the delay time has to pass and THEN the turbo kicks in ?

If your off the throttle before any of these timed events happen, does that mean you won't feel the 'kick' ?

This is assuming that you don't have any throttle 'drift'.

Thanks.
Here's a post from about 30-40 pages back...it explains what your asking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred_B View Post
Think of the turbo delay just like the gearing in a real car. If you shift too early the engine will bog down and not much will happen until the engine hit's it's powerband. Shift later when the revs are up and it will pull a lot harder in the next gear.

Running too much boost is just like skipping a gear and it will take some time to spool up and go.

It's all a balance and it's probably best to gear without turbo first and then tune in the turbo a little at a time to get tuned in. Full boost full turbo and minimum delay may not be the way to go.
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 12:37 PM   #7844
Tech Master
 
jag88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PitNamedGordie View Post
Here's a post from about 30-40 pages back...it explains what your asking.
Good explanation.

Thanks for taking the time to answer. WOW ! here's the incredible thing .... I've raced with Fred B. for quite a few years but unfortunatley last year he dropped out (due to the poor enconomy I think) so I haven't been able to pick his brain.
jag88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 02:56 PM   #7845
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know if there is a version of Hotwire software that works with Vista 64bit yet? I found a post on the Tekin forums from march saying it should've been out soon after that and I still haven't seen anything.

Now with Windows 7 available, is Tekin planning on supporting that? Again in the 64 bit version?
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:59 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net