R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-21-2009, 02:49 AM   #7726
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: haymarket, va.
Posts: 436
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
Thanks
jct108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 04:12 AM   #7727
Tech Addict
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
Boost 20
Turbo Max
Turbo delay 0,8
6,3 FDR to start with. (watch temps) you can gear lighter when you have Turbo left on the end of the straight.
Motor timing 8 to 10

When you come power to short in the infield lower the boost a bit.

Try than
Boost 15
Turbo max
Turbo delay 0,6
Motor timing 8
6.3FDR


Hi Mikky,

Do you think that setup will be OK for this track too? It may be a little more technical in the infield.

http://redirectingat.com/?id=42X1295...%3DcwZAkBJDhJo

Thanks
Alan
mazmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 05:34 AM   #7728
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Gear a bit lighter or lower the Boost.
Boost 15
Turbo max
Turbo delay 0,7
Motor timing 8
6,0FDR to start with.
Play with the gearing a bit.
For more top speed don't gear a lot heavier but ad some Boost.

It's the same setup as my home track but I think 6.0FRD will be ok.
As you higher your timing, you can also set your motor to 12.
Set than the Turbo delay to 0,8-0,9sec.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 05:51 AM   #7729
Tech Addict
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
Gear a bit lighter or lower the Boost.
Boost 15
Turbo max
Turbo delay 0,7
Motor timing 8
6,0FDR to start with.
Play with the gearing a bit.
For more top speed don't gear a lot heavier but ad some Boost.

It's the same setup as my home track but I think 6.0FRD will be ok.
As you higher your timing, you can also set your motor to 12.
Set than the Turbo delay to 0,8-0,9sec.
OK thank you
mazmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 07:12 AM   #7730
Tech Master
 
poochy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,456
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW141 View Post
Did you unload the old version from your computer 1st?
i did not, but when i did and re-intsalled the 200 version it worked! thanks man.
poochy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 09:49 AM   #7731
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 5,058
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poochy View Post
i did not, but when i did and re-intsalled the 200 version it worked! thanks man.
I'm glad it worked. See you at the track this weekend. If you need some help with anything, just ask.
__________________
Steve Walter
Sweep Racing USA/ Speed Passion USA/ Karens Famous Cookies (Transporter)
SRW141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 03:40 AM   #7732
Tech Regular
 
Uziman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Burton SA
Posts: 298
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Is there a way of viewing the entire hotwire interface on a 800x600 screen?
It's just i have a old laptop perfect for taking to the track but you can't view the whole interface or the version slide out..

Cheers
__________________
Corally RDXΦ'09 ★ Airtronics/Spektrum ★ Tekin ★ Fantom
-------------------------------------------------------
★ www.aerccc.org.au ★
-------------------------------------------------------
Uziman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 05:20 AM   #7733
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,340
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW141 View Post
I'm glad it worked. See you at the track this weekend. If you need some help with anything, just ask.
Hey Steve, How are you?
Quick question guys. I just installed the latest "vegas" software. With this version you dont have to update the ESC? I was able to lower the delay without doing it.
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Team CRC|Awesomatix USA|TQ Wire|
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 05:29 AM   #7734
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrobeast View Post
Hey Steve, How are you?
Quick question guys. I just installed the latest "vegas" software. With this version you dont have to update the ESC? I was able to lower the delay without doing it.
No you don't have to do that.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 07:02 AM   #7735
Tech Champion
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,699
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Slotmachine
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uziman View Post
Is there a way of viewing the entire hotwire interface on a 800x600 screen?
It's just i have a old laptop perfect for taking to the track but you can't view the whole interface or the version slide out..

Cheers
Cant you just change the screen resolution?
Slotmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 12:37 PM   #7736
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

Hi Guys
One of my friend got himself a 13.5T Redline Motor but motor came with 12 degree timing on it Should we Turn it back To 0?
Timing boost =25 on RS PRO
Thanx in advance
yokemad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 12:50 PM   #7737
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,582
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yokemad View Post
Hi Guys
One of my friend got himself a 13.5T Redline Motor but motor came with 12 degree timing on it Should we Turn it back To 0?
Timing boost =25 on RS PRO
Thanx in advance
Go for it. That's what I did.
__________________
John Higgins former student of The Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driving School. The "Team Principal".
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 01:24 PM   #7738
Tech Elite
 
evostyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 3,700
Trader Rating: 102 (98%+)
Default

I understand how the mechanical timing on the motor works, however I'm not sure exactly how the "sofware timing" / timing boost works with the motor. Is the full timing boost added from the moment the throttle is applied or is it gradually added up to the amount selected when the throttle reaches 100%

I know this sounds confusing, but can someone with the correct info explain how the timing boost works.
__________________
"If you no longer go for the gap that exist, you are no longer racing". Ayrton Senna
evostyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 03:01 PM   #7739
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evostyle View Post
I understand how the mechanical timing on the motor works, however I'm not sure exactly how the "sofware timing" / timing boost works with the motor. Is the full timing boost added from the moment the throttle is applied or is it gradually added up to the amount selected when the throttle reaches 100%

I know this sounds confusing, but can someone with the correct info explain how the timing boost works.
This is a gross simplification, so apologies in advance to the engineers who really understand DC electric BL motors...

Advance that you put on the motor is always there, no matter what. Boost comes in as the revs rise, and adds the amount of timing you select. Turbo comes in after the throttle is wide open, at the time delay you select. So...

If you have 10 deg on the motor, it's always there. As the revs rise, the amount of boost you have added comes in. Once you reach full throttle, the speedo waits until the delay is over and then adds the amount of timing you selected for the turbo.

The motor will gain speed using its torque. It has maximum torque at zero revs, and the torque dies off as the revs rise. To get the motor to go faster in this situation, you need to add timing. The boost and turbo add timing after the motor has gianed speed using the torque, so if you add the turbo too early, you kill the torque and the motor slows down. It will then increase speed very slowly. Resist the temptation to throw all the timing at it (boost and turbo) until you have sorted out its performance in the infield.

I set my car by turning the turbo right down to 5 with about 0.7 delay. I set the gearing/motor timing, and the boost, to get the best rip between the corners. Depending on how long the straight (and any sweepers) are depends how much turbo you can use. The delay depends on how quickly you can get the car up to speed. HTH
SlowerOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 03:51 PM   #7740
Tech Elite
 
evostyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 3,700
Trader Rating: 102 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowerOne View Post
This is a gross simplification, so apologies in advance to the engineers who really understand DC electric BL motors...

Advance that you put on the motor is always there, no matter what. Boost comes in as the revs rise, and adds the amount of timing you select.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowerOne View Post
If you have 10 deg on the motor, it's always there. As the revs rise, the amount of boost you have added comes in.
Thanks for the detailed reply.

Let me rephrase my question. When and how is the "timing boost" added? Is it all (the amount selected) added at once or is it gradually added. Also, at what point is the "timing boost" added.

ie.... motor has 10 degrees of mechanical timing. User selects 10 for timing boost. As the throttle is pulled how is the timing boost added to the motor?

Is the 10 degrees of timing boost instantly applied to the motor?

Is the 10 degrees of timing boost added in a linear fashion until reaching 100% throttle (at 50% you would have 10 degrees mechanical and 5 degrees of software timing applied).

This is what I don't understand. There must be some reason we are able to adjust both. Otherwise, the motors would be just designed with 0 degrees of timing and you would set it via the esc. Once we understand how one effects the other then and only then will we be able to utilize it to it's full potential.
__________________
"If you no longer go for the gap that exist, you are no longer racing". Ayrton Senna
evostyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:01 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net