R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-08-2009, 08:24 PM   #7471
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitro neil View Post
lights are on but they don't go to the neutral position there are 3 lights in the middle that light up.
Recalibrate your esc again to your radio?
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 08:25 PM   #7472
Tech Elite
 
nitro neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: zion,il
Posts: 2,179
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
Check your solder joints to make sure that you don't have any bridges built or cold joints.
no bridges and solder joints are nice and shiney
__________________
TLR, SPEKTRUM,HORIZON HOBBIES, JCONCEPTS, Tekin, MIP, ONeill Brothers Racing, Axis RC, Large Scale RC, Boom rc, Team Chase,
nitro neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 08:26 PM   #7473
Tech Elite
 
nitro neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: zion,il
Posts: 2,179
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukil View Post
Recalibrate your esc again to your radio?
I will give this a try
__________________
TLR, SPEKTRUM,HORIZON HOBBIES, JCONCEPTS, Tekin, MIP, ONeill Brothers Racing, Axis RC, Large Scale RC, Boom rc, Team Chase,
nitro neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 08:39 PM   #7474
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Madsion Heights, Michigan
Posts: 173
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Check the sensor wire going into the esc. I had a brand new Novak 13.5 I put in my 12th scale and the blue wire basically fell out of the connector in a fellow drivers hand as he was trying to help trouble shoot the exact same problem.
mav913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 08:51 PM   #7475
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Well if the motor isn't new you might want to try cleaning it out...I had a similar issue and it turned out it was just a little dirt on the sensors.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 10:06 PM   #7476
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
why set turbo so late,do you just want it the last 20ft of the straight
I'll bring this up again since it's been a few pages.

Depending on your track, increasing the turbo delay can make your car faster.

If turbo starts throwing timing at the motor before it's spooled up all the way, acceleration will suffer and the car will feel mushy in the midrange. A little more delay and you'll have that lower-timing torque to wind it up and then turbo will hit just when you would normally flatten off.

That's why it's key to turn turbo off to set up your car. Gear it to be perfect for the infield, and then estimate the time it takes you to hit top speed entering the straight. Set the turbo delay equal to that time.

Fine tune to taste and you're good to go.

Methinks this will be a moot point before too long. I would wager that the next BIG update will take the user (and thus the user error) out of the loop. The ESC will sense via RPM, current draw, and the rate of change of each when it's appropriate to add timing, and how much, and will continually optimize it.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 10:39 PM   #7477
Tech Master
 
padailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasons56 View Post
I wish it was that huge on my track. But the RS isn't the only fast spec speed control. When I set up the RS to blow buy people on the straight then its slower in the infield or starts to get the motor hot enough that it fades a little.
V200 really is a distinct advantage... if you haven't run it yet you'll understand when you do. Curtiss and I are not running full out with our gearing/settings and we still have the fastest cars out there.
__________________
www.hobbyplexraceway.com

Tamiya TRF417X (Lion's Automotive GTR)
Tamiya TRF416X
Tamiya F104W MP6/4 converted to F104X1 (Renault R30)
padailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 11:30 PM   #7478
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by liljohn1064 View Post
All I can say in response is that it was in the spirit of the class as it originally was intended/designed 2+ years ago: (much) slower cars, more skill based driving, vintage bodies and smiles. RobK has done a tremendous amount of testing already and has the simple recommendation of not using turbo. Each new controller being brought on the market and into VTA will end up with some sort of restriction to create a level playing field. Even if everyone had and RS, turbo still doesn't belong in this class. I have an RS in my 17.5. Its dialed and goes 13.5 speeds down our little straight. If my driving were better, I'd be winning the 13.5 class I'm driving my sedan in. We'll see what the future brings. For other classes, bring on the heat. I'm with Mikky, WHERE'S MY NEW SOFTWARE!
There's no need for any of that. If you want to level the playing field in the speedo department, change the Rules to run everything sensorless. That's the fix for Stock - no sensors, no timing increase. Now you're back to where we started with BR, without the comm skimming.

If you want to fix the problem, remove the cause of the problem...
SlowerOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 11:42 PM   #7479
Tech Master
 
pcar951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cow Town
Posts: 1,705
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reenmachine View Post
Depending on your track, increasing the turbo delay can make your car faster.

If turbo starts throwing timing at the motor before it's spooled up all the way, acceleration will suffer and the car will feel mushy in the midrange.
I experienced this "turbo lag" the other night in my TC. Got a little greedy with the boost, increased it a bunch and turned down the delay. Voila....instant slug in the infield, cost me 2 tenths a lap, easy.

It seems like, on a smaller tight track you gotta be a little conservative with the turbo to get the most rip.
pcar951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 11:48 PM   #7480
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
A few more days for your next dose...

Next dose.....jajaj
__________________
http://jlsabucedo.wordpress.com
higbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 12:17 AM   #7481
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Just finished up my 416WE! Still needs a visit to the scale, the setup board, and the Hotwire, and this Sunday will be the shakedown run.

Tekin RS
Tekin Redline 13.5
KO Propo PDS-2413ICS servo
ThunderPower 5000mAh 40C
Futaba FASST
Speedworld SJ-R



__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 01:54 AM   #7482
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,586
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowerOne View Post
There's no need for any of that. If you want to level the playing field in the speedo department, change the Rules to run everything sensorless. That's the fix for Stock - no sensors, no timing increase. Now you're back to where we started with BR, without the comm skimming.

If you want to fix the problem, remove the cause of the problem...
Ugh. Have you ever run a trans am race? We have this under control.
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 07:41 AM   #7483
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcar951 View Post
I experienced this "turbo lag" the other night in my TC. Got a little greedy with the boost, increased it a bunch and turned down the delay. Voila....instant slug in the infield, cost me 2 tenths a lap, easy.

It seems like, on a smaller tight track you gotta be a little conservative with the turbo to get the most rip.
there's only so much power you can utilise at a given track with the turbo, the rest might harm the motor, from my understanding wasted energy is simply turned into heat build up

Very small tracks may not even get to use the turbo, as there isnt enough time for it to kick in and work effectively.

we all love power, but sometimes it works against you. Kind of similar to under/overgearing.

Anyone feel free to correct me if im wrong
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 07:44 AM   #7484
Moderator
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,609
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
there's only so much power you can utilise at a given track with the turbo, the rest might harm the motor, from my understanding wasted energy is simply turned into heat build up

Very small tracks may not even get to use the turbo, as there isnt enough time for it to kick in and work effectively.

we all love power, but sometimes it works against you. Kind of similar to under/overgearing.

Anyone feel free to correct me if im wrong
I think you are dead on. The track I run at has a small straight with a technical infield. I have played with gearing and the turbo setting quite a bit and have not seen any evidence of it being of any value on the very short straight. From entering the straight to breaking for the corner, there is probably 1.5 seconds of full throttle if that, barely enough time for the motor to get into the higher rev bands.
__________________
Joe Kelly - JK720.net
5280 Raceway |5280raceway.com | 5280 Raceway Facebook
Clegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 08:10 AM   #7485
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

I think that I don't need my Turbo Boost on the track were I'm going to tomorrow.
I use a 10,5T with lipo on a small indoor track. The straight is only 82 Feet long.
I start with a 7.0FDR.
Boost 20
Turbo 10
Turbo delay 0,9
Throttle 5
Motor 10,5 LRP X11. (not allowed to use an other in the races so I practice with it.)
I think that the Boost is a bit to high but I will lower it to see what it does.
I now the LRP motor loves some more Boost than other motors.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:46 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net