R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-05-2009, 05:25 PM   #7396
Tech Regular
 
jhock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 462
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Your voltage cutoff is wrong, change it to what your battery pack is.
__________________
Team Driver Schumacher USA
SVR
SX3
Tekin
KO Propo
jhock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 06:53 PM   #7397
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Sharpe View Post
My RS ran great for the first day and a half, then with the switch turned on it started blinking (from left to right) the 1st, 3rd, and 5th LEDs but won't operate the motor. I have swapped everything in an attempt to isolate the problem, litterally changing everything including the radio, receiver, motor, battery.... I even swapped to a brand new RS, it worked immediately after the one-touch setup, but then began blinking the same 1st, 3rd, and fifth LEDs.

Anybody have suggestions on what to try next?
This is indicating that the Voltage Cutoff is in affect. Try verifying that you're VC is on the right cell type. For 2s it should show led's 1 and 2 lit.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 07:09 PM   #7398
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 99
Default

I just want to give a quick big thanks to Chris from Tekin for assistng me with the set-up on the new v200 on my RS pro. I really appreciate it. That was my second time calling Tekin on the phone and they have always been very helpful. However, this time I spoke with Chris about a good 30min. and he was extremetly patient and gave me the right set-up that I needed. Thank You very much.
Shawn Buchanan
__________________
Race Hard baby!
bucatl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 09:07 PM   #7399
Tech Elite
 
Greg Sharpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ...building minis
Posts: 3,237
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhock View Post
Your voltage cutoff is wrong, change it to what your battery pack is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
This is indicating that the Voltage Cutoff is in affect. Try verifying that you're VC is on the right cell type. For 2s it should show led's 1 and 2 lit.
Good deal, thanks guys, I'll try that.

p.s.-Bought my RS used and the manual wasn't included, so big thanks to Tekin for having the manual online and the error codes listed there, which I will keep with me now that I downloaded it.
__________________
Why don't we endurance race more often?

Last edited by Greg Sharpe; 10-05-2009 at 09:18 PM.
Greg Sharpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 09:35 PM   #7400
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,998
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrimeAKF11 View Post
Guys,

If my car accelerates for a while, falls flat for some time and THEN starts to accelerate again, is it an indication that I am geared too tall?

I was using a 13.5 motor with 4.5 FDR on a big outdoor track with 180+ft straight. Motor temp after 6 minutes or so was 143 to 134 degrees. I would think that my gearing is not tall enough, no?

When the car takes off again, it is already 2/3 past the straight so I have to let off anyways. I'd much prefer it to accelerate continuously and smoothly until the end of the straight.

I am using 25 timing boost with max turbo and 0.5 sec delay. It is a Trinity Duo 13.5 motor.

Thanks in advance!

I'd adjust your gearing and possibly post your motor timing settings? It's either 0 or 10 degrees on the motor with a duo.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 03:13 AM   #7401
Tech Elite
 
vazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 2,719
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
I run on about the same size track with 10,5 5 cell.
I run with the Tekin the folowing setup
Boost 15
Motor 10
Turbo Max
Turbo delay 0,8
6.00FDR

I would go with a lipo to 6,65FDR
Boost 15
Turbo Max
Turbo delay 0,8
Motor timing 8

Here is the Tekin faster than the LRP SPX.
Hey Mikky

Do u run any drag brake?
__________________
Gone riding, cya.........
vazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 05:25 AM   #7402
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Hi,

No I don't use any drag brake.
It only makes the motor hotter and as you have 1 or 2 corners were you want to roll the car true, you don't want to have drag brake.
I do all the braking by hand. I do it on the large and the small tracks.
I have tried it with the drag brake on and the car was very easy to drive but it was slower than when I didn't use it. I started to learn braking and I got only faster and faster.
When you get used to it you will love it. The fast corners will go a lot faster.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 08:06 AM   #7403
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

mikkey, what fdr did you use in rucphen? And did you drive once in gouda? Because i still have the same problem as primeafs has. Even another driver noticed it when he tried my car out and told me that it was a little weird. From a standstill acceleration is good and the same as other cars then after 15 to 20 meters it fades away till the turbo comes in and then it accelerates again. I can't seem to get rid of it. This is with the redline 10.5t on 2s. I am already down 5-6 teeth and i am touching modified 5.5t - 6.5t rollouts.
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 08:09 AM   #7404
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Randy,

I see Tekin has a booth at the iHobby Expo. Are you going to be there? And will there be new any new products on display?

__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 08:10 AM   #7405
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2wdrive View Post
mikkey, what fdr did you use in rucphen? And did you drive once in gouda? Because i still have the same problem as STLNST has. Even another driver noticed it when he tried my car out and told me that it was a little weird. From a standstill acceleration is good and the same as other cars then after 15 to 20 meters it fades away till the turbo comes in and then it accelerates again. I can't seem to get rid of it. This is with the redline 10.5t on 2s. I am already down 5-6 teeth and i am touching modified 5.5t - 6.5t rollouts.
My setup on rucphen was.
Boost 15
Motor 10 Tekin redline 10,5T
Turbo Max
Turbo dealy was 0,5 but set it to 0,8
Lipo
6.3FDR
Touring car. (Good top speed and great infield power)

Gauda
Boost 18
Turbo Max
Turbo delay 0,8 to 0,9
Motor 10,5 Speedpassion
4,747FDR
5 cell

Greetings Emiel
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 09:24 AM   #7406
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PitNamedGordie View Post
Randy,

I see Tekin has a booth at the iHobby Expo. Are you going to be there? And will there be new any new products on display?

As of right now I'm not scheduled to be there. I did attend last year though. I will be testing and racing in my local area as always...

New Products? Perhaps....
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 12:10 PM   #7407
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32
I run on about the same size track with 10,5 5 cell.
I run with the Tekin the folowing setup
Boost 15
Motor 10
Turbo Max
Turbo delay 0,8
6.00FDR

I would go with a lipo to 6,65FDR
Boost 15
Turbo Max
Turbo delay 0,8
Motor timing 8

Here is the Tekin faster than the LRP SPX.
Thank you very much, for your inputs, are very helpfull, when i can tested i post the results, now is time to prepare the 1/12, for National this weekend.

Somebody have a good starting setup, for 1/12 outdoor, large track, good grip, with RS-PRO, and 4 cell NiMh, modified, i normally run with Nosram 5.5T and Nosram ISTC esc.

Thanks, Luis C.
__________________
## NOSRAM ## YOKOMO BD5W ## BMI DB12RR+ ##
luic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 01:14 PM   #7408
Tech Adept
 
Andrew Knapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rapid Competition Rc Raceway
Posts: 100
Send a message via AIM to Andrew Knapp Send a message via Yahoo to Andrew Knapp
Default

Sorry if this is a repeat question, but im trying to find a good Setup with 200 profile for running 10.5 1s 12th scale. Also a starting rollout, on a track thats about 80ft long
Just wondering if anyone has any starter tips on that?
__________________
Team CRC www.teamcrc.com--Team Trinity--Revtech--Team Spektrum www.spektrumrc.com--protoform--SXT--Rapid Competition RC Raceway and my dad!
Andrew Knapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 09:51 PM   #7409
Tech Master
 
CarlosG.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Falls City,TX
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to CarlosG.
Default

Anybody know where I can get an RS esc? I can't seem to find one. It seems everyone is out. I looked at Stormer to Tower Hobbies.
CarlosG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 10:06 PM   #7410
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

There's a hobbyshop on ebay selling them as of yesterday. 169.99 with free shipping.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:29 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net