R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-24-2009, 09:59 PM   #7126
Tech Elite
 
mjc168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,808
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
32 bit or 64? We're not compatibleon 64bit yet.
I wonder why hotwire application do not support 64bits yet. I don't think it is a complicated task to compile a 64bits application in .net net environment (if hotwire using .net framework). I am a software developer and successfully converted all the applications in 64bits mode for my company. Please let me know anything I can help.
__________________
http://www.pprcc.com/

1/10 On-road Touring: Schumacher MI3 + Tekin RS Pro + Orca RX-1 11.5t BL Motor
1/10 On-road Touring: Xray T3 2011 + Tekin RS Pro + Tekin Redline 10.5t BL Motor
mjc168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 10:34 PM   #7127
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scr_achy View Post
64.... Are there plans to be lol? ty for ur help
You said x86... x86 = 32bit. x64 = 64bit. If you are running Vista 64 (x64) then the hotwire application isn't supported.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 10:36 PM   #7128
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,999
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Not much. Give me a call tomorrow when you get time. I've got a question for you.
Will do.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 10:47 PM   #7129
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: oregon
Posts: 1,059
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to scr_achy Send a message via Yahoo to scr_achy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
You said x86... x86 = 32bit. x64 = 64bit. If you are running Vista 64 (x64) then the hotwire application isn't supported.
My system specs on my computer say its a 64bit system.. Program Folder is labeled x86.... I guess thats because the 32bit programs are in that folder? lol. Man I hate vista and its backward ways of doing things.
__________________
Founder- RcBros.com
It's all about the fun!
Toys: MF2,E X1-CR, 8ight, LCC, MRC, Axial, T209, Baja 5B
scr_achy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 11:38 PM   #7130
Tech Elite
 
mjc168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,808
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scr_achy View Post
My system specs on my computer say its a 64bit system.. Program Folder is labeled x86.... I guess thats because the 32bit programs are in that folder? lol. Man I hate vista and its backward ways of doing things.
On a 64-bit operating system, 32-bit applications run on top of an emulation of a 32-bit operating system that is called Windows on Windows 64, or WOW64 for short. WoW64 intercepts system calls to the operating system made by a 32-bit application. I think hotwire application depend on 32-bit drivers (or not WoW64 enabled), and it cause not run on a 64-bit Windows.
__________________
http://www.pprcc.com/

1/10 On-road Touring: Schumacher MI3 + Tekin RS Pro + Orca RX-1 11.5t BL Motor
1/10 On-road Touring: Xray T3 2011 + Tekin RS Pro + Tekin Redline 10.5t BL Motor
mjc168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 04:57 AM   #7131
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: All 48 states...
Posts: 2,053
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Randy...emailed you a question or two....lol
__________________
Schuurspeed / Aero-model / Gear One / LG1
www.OHRCR.com
Gitsum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 06:33 AM   #7132
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Behind my Tx
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Hardware timing advance vs software timing advance

Hi. Just a question that's been bugging me for awhile.

I know we can advance the timing in Hotwire and 1% roughly equates to 0.3 degrees?

So lets say I retard my motor's end bell timing by 5 degrees. Following which I set timing advance in Hotwire to 17%. Does that give me the same performance as setting the motor endbell to 0 degrees with no Hotwire timing advance?

Does either way have certain advantages over the other?

Thanks in advance to anyone who can enlighten me.
radwerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 07:04 AM   #7133
Tech Master
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,701
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

In your calculations, don't forget that most motors on the market start with 30 degrees of internal timing...
__________________
Speed Merchant Rev7, Tekin, TQ Racing (wire), Team Tamale
RC Excitement - Buy where you race, support your local tracks.
ROAR #105242
timmay70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 07:09 AM   #7134
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Behind my Tx
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmay70 View Post
In your calculations, don't forget that most motors on the market start with 30 degrees of internal timing...
That's not really my main focus currently. Reason being the X-12 I just bought comes with 10 degrees timing retard as default and recommended by the factory (likely due to earlier bearing failure issues). I have thus been running it in this config but am interested to know if I can regain the 'so called 0 deg timing' just by advancing the esc software
radwerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 07:27 AM   #7135
Tech Adept
 
Bob~H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sullivan, IN
Posts: 136
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radwerx View Post
That's not really my main focus currently. Reason being the X-12 I just bought comes with 10 degrees timing retard as default and recommended by the factory (likely due to earlier bearing failure issues). I have thus been running it in this config but am interested to know if I can regain the 'so called 0 deg timing' just by advancing the esc software
If this factory recommendation is because of previous bearing failure I would assume that the bearing cannot handle the higher RPM of advanced timing. Even if you retard the endbell timing and program in timing on the Tekin your motor is going to have higher RPM.
Bob~H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 08:01 AM   #7136
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Behind my Tx
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob~H View Post
If this factory recommendation is because of previous bearing failure I would assume that the bearing cannot handle the higher RPM of advanced timing. Even if you retard the endbell timing and program in timing on the Tekin your motor is going to have higher RPM.
Yes I understand that. It seems the failures were due to general overheating rather than too high rpms. Just wanted to find a more convenient way of tuning as the mechanical timing is limited to intervals of 5 degrees.
radwerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 08:08 AM   #7137
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 242
Default

Is best to maintain the timming in this motor in -10, more efficient, and leave the esc have the dirty work, you need to test with some software timming advance vs gearing, a combination of both, for adecuate at your driving and track.

Greetings, Luis C.
__________________
## NOSRAM ## YOKOMO BD5W ## BMI DB12RR+ ##
luic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 08:42 AM   #7138
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Behind my Tx
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by luic View Post
Is best to maintain the timming in this motor in -10, more efficient, and leave the esc have the dirty work, you need to test with some software timming advance vs gearing, a combination of both, for adecuate at your driving and track.

Greetings, Luis C.
Hmm. i see. So software timing is not Quite the same as mechanical timing? As that why we are advised to run MAX boost in sensored only mode with higher turn motors?
radwerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 08:58 AM   #7139
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

I know I may get flamed for printing this but.....

the way I see it, there is no difference between

a) 0 motor timing & 0 esc timing with normal fdr
and
b) full motor timing & 0 esc timing with higher fdr
and
c) 0 motor timing & max esc timing with higher fdr

im finding this after a whole year of testing, and comparing my cars to others with no esc timing. Just when I think one option is better then the other, I go try the other 2, and can lap comparable times.

The real benefit is with the small footprint of the tekin speed control.

I've found, and am keeping to my set up of full motor timing, plus esc 10 boost just to give it abit more then what the physical motor can, and play with my gearing til I get 150F at the end of my runs.

thats my honest opinion!

have fun finding out for yourself!
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 10:29 AM   #7140
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,041
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
I know I may get flamed for printing this but.....

the way I see it, there is no difference between

a) 0 motor timing & 0 esc timing with normal fdr
and
b) full motor timing & 0 esc timing with higher fdr
and
c) 0 motor timing & max esc timing with higher fdr

im finding this after a whole year of testing, and comparing my cars to others with no esc timing. Just when I think one option is better then the other, I go try the other 2, and can lap comparable times.

The real benefit is with the small footprint of the tekin speed control.

I've found, and am keeping to my set up of full motor timing, plus esc 10 boost just to give it abit more then what the physical motor can, and play with my gearing til I get 150F at the end of my runs.

thats my honest opinion!

have fun finding out for yourself!
You're absolutely right. Bring out the fire extinguisher!
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:52 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net