Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS ESC sensored > Tekin RS ESC sensored

Tekin RS ESC sensored


Old 09-24-2009, 08:59 PM
  #7126  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (25)
 
mjc168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,808
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
32 bit or 64? We're not compatibleon 64bit yet.
I wonder why hotwire application do not support 64bits yet. I don't think it is a complicated task to compile a 64bits application in .net net environment (if hotwire using .net framework). I am a software developer and successfully converted all the applications in 64bits mode for my company. Please let me know anything I can help.
mjc168 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 09:34 PM
  #7127  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,083
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by scr_achy View Post
64.... Are there plans to be lol? ty for ur help
You said x86... x86 = 32bit. x64 = 64bit. If you are running Vista 64 (x64) then the hotwire application isn't supported.
Cpt.America is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 09:36 PM
  #7128  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (22)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,045
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Not much. Give me a call tomorrow when you get time. I've got a question for you.
Will do.
STLNLST is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 09:47 PM
  #7129  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: oregon
Posts: 1,059
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
You said x86... x86 = 32bit. x64 = 64bit. If you are running Vista 64 (x64) then the hotwire application isn't supported.
My system specs on my computer say its a 64bit system.. Program Folder is labeled x86.... I guess thats because the 32bit programs are in that folder? lol. Man I hate vista and its backward ways of doing things.
scr_achy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 10:38 PM
  #7130  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (25)
 
mjc168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,808
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by scr_achy View Post
My system specs on my computer say its a 64bit system.. Program Folder is labeled x86.... I guess thats because the 32bit programs are in that folder? lol. Man I hate vista and its backward ways of doing things.
On a 64-bit operating system, 32-bit applications run on top of an emulation of a 32-bit operating system that is called Windows on Windows 64, or WOW64 for short. WoW64 intercepts system calls to the operating system made by a 32-bit application. I think hotwire application depend on 32-bit drivers (or not WoW64 enabled), and it cause not run on a 64-bit Windows.
mjc168 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 03:57 AM
  #7131  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: All 48 states...
Posts: 2,053
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Randy...emailed you a question or two....lol
Gitsum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 05:33 AM
  #7132  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Behind my Tx
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Hardware timing advance vs software timing advance

Hi. Just a question that's been bugging me for awhile.

I know we can advance the timing in Hotwire and 1% roughly equates to 0.3 degrees?

So lets say I retard my motor's end bell timing by 5 degrees. Following which I set timing advance in Hotwire to 17%. Does that give me the same performance as setting the motor endbell to 0 degrees with no Hotwire timing advance?

Does either way have certain advantages over the other?

Thanks in advance to anyone who can enlighten me.
radwerx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 06:04 AM
  #7133  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,701
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

In your calculations, don't forget that most motors on the market start with 30 degrees of internal timing...
timmay70 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 06:09 AM
  #7134  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Behind my Tx
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by timmay70 View Post
In your calculations, don't forget that most motors on the market start with 30 degrees of internal timing...
That's not really my main focus currently. Reason being the X-12 I just bought comes with 10 degrees timing retard as default and recommended by the factory (likely due to earlier bearing failure issues). I have thus been running it in this config but am interested to know if I can regain the 'so called 0 deg timing' just by advancing the esc software
radwerx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 06:27 AM
  #7135  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (13)
 
Bob~H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sullivan, IN
Posts: 136
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by radwerx View Post
That's not really my main focus currently. Reason being the X-12 I just bought comes with 10 degrees timing retard as default and recommended by the factory (likely due to earlier bearing failure issues). I have thus been running it in this config but am interested to know if I can regain the 'so called 0 deg timing' just by advancing the esc software
If this factory recommendation is because of previous bearing failure I would assume that the bearing cannot handle the higher RPM of advanced timing. Even if you retard the endbell timing and program in timing on the Tekin your motor is going to have higher RPM.
Bob~H is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 07:01 AM
  #7136  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Behind my Tx
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bob~H View Post
If this factory recommendation is because of previous bearing failure I would assume that the bearing cannot handle the higher RPM of advanced timing. Even if you retard the endbell timing and program in timing on the Tekin your motor is going to have higher RPM.
Yes I understand that. It seems the failures were due to general overheating rather than too high rpms. Just wanted to find a more convenient way of tuning as the mechanical timing is limited to intervals of 5 degrees.
radwerx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 07:08 AM
  #7137  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 242
Default

Is best to maintain the timming in this motor in -10, more efficient, and leave the esc have the dirty work, you need to test with some software timming advance vs gearing, a combination of both, for adecuate at your driving and track.

Greetings, Luis C.
luic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 07:42 AM
  #7138  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Behind my Tx
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by luic View Post
Is best to maintain the timming in this motor in -10, more efficient, and leave the esc have the dirty work, you need to test with some software timming advance vs gearing, a combination of both, for adecuate at your driving and track.

Greetings, Luis C.
Hmm. i see. So software timing is not Quite the same as mechanical timing? As that why we are advised to run MAX boost in sensored only mode with higher turn motors?
radwerx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 07:58 AM
  #7139  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (141)
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,137
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

I know I may get flamed for printing this but.....

the way I see it, there is no difference between

a) 0 motor timing & 0 esc timing with normal fdr
and
b) full motor timing & 0 esc timing with higher fdr
and
c) 0 motor timing & max esc timing with higher fdr

im finding this after a whole year of testing, and comparing my cars to others with no esc timing. Just when I think one option is better then the other, I go try the other 2, and can lap comparable times.

The real benefit is with the small footprint of the tekin speed control.

I've found, and am keeping to my set up of full motor timing, plus esc 10 boost just to give it abit more then what the physical motor can, and play with my gearing til I get 150F at the end of my runs.

thats my honest opinion!

have fun finding out for yourself!
hacker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 09:29 AM
  #7140  
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,069
Default

Originally Posted by hacker View Post
I know I may get flamed for printing this but.....

the way I see it, there is no difference between

a) 0 motor timing & 0 esc timing with normal fdr
and
b) full motor timing & 0 esc timing with higher fdr
and
c) 0 motor timing & max esc timing with higher fdr

im finding this after a whole year of testing, and comparing my cars to others with no esc timing. Just when I think one option is better then the other, I go try the other 2, and can lap comparable times.

The real benefit is with the small footprint of the tekin speed control.

I've found, and am keeping to my set up of full motor timing, plus esc 10 boost just to give it abit more then what the physical motor can, and play with my gearing til I get 150F at the end of my runs.

thats my honest opinion!

have fun finding out for yourself!
You're absolutely right. Bring out the fire extinguisher!
cyanyde is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service