R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-19-2009, 10:23 PM   #7051
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

That can be shown because of multiple settings overlapping. We only have 7 led's and if we show you say profile 7 randomly it's because it's ran out of led's to use.

If when you plug back into the Hotwire and all your settings are shown current, you're good.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 04:41 AM   #7052
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Behind my Tx
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hi. Just hooked up my RS Pro to an X-12 5.0 turn (with factory default -10deg timing).

Started off with MIN timing advance in the ESC and the temps seem good (abt 70 deg C). However there didn't seem to be much punch coming from the motor (compared to a 4.5t), just a very smooth takeoff.

Is this due to me running MIN timing or is this normal when one downgrades by 0.5turns ? If this is the case how much shld I advance at a time while doing further test runs? I'm running on Dual Mode currently.

In addition could this be due to my batteries not being able to supple enuf current (4000mah, 20C)? I did run the same pack with my 4.5turn previously and the speed was definitely there.
radwerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 07:13 AM   #7053
Tech Master
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,721
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
That can be shown because of multiple settings overlapping. We only have 7 led's and if we show you say profile 7 randomly it's because it's ran out of led's to use.

If when you plug back into the Hotwire and all your settings are shown current, you're good.
Thanks for that, gives me piece of mind
dontfeelcold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 09:20 AM   #7054
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,999
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
That can be shown because of multiple settings overlapping. We only have 7 led's and if we show you say profile 7 randomly it's because it's ran out of led's to use.

If when you plug back into the Hotwire and all your settings are shown current, you're good.
By this time Next week there should be a couple of Tekins in the A-main at the regionals. Hopefully all of the radio issue's are solved and I can start to run like MO Derek and I will be battling for who gets to sit in the front seat on any futre Tekin trips when you're driving I couldn't make it out to Ripon last night (had to watch the fight) but I know he was there and I'm sure he has his settings dialed in. With the amount of practice time before qualifying I know we'll have things rocking. Keep up the good work bro.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 03:56 PM   #7055
Tech Regular
 
Team Pink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 456
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
By this time Next week there should be a couple of Tekins in the A-main at the regionals. Hopefully all of the radio issue's are solved and I can start to run like MO Derek and I will be battling for who gets to sit in the front seat on any futre Tekin trips when you're driving I couldn't make it out to Ripon last night (had to watch the fight) but I know he was there and I'm sure he has his settings dialed in. With the amount of practice time before qualifying I know we'll have things rocking. Keep up the good work bro.
You're funny Clint. Yea if we both make the show, you can be my defense shield. Any ways last night I finished 2nd in 13.5tc behind Doug Lemmons. Any ways I'll se you this comming weekend as I'll be rocking 13.5, WGT, and open modified. Are you going to be there friday night.
__________________
Team Losi Racing/ Spektrum/ Horizon Hobby/ JConcepts/ Hobby Star/ Schelle Racing
Team Pink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 04:50 PM   #7056
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Pink View Post
You're funny Clint. Yea if we both make the show, you can be my defense shield. Any ways last night I finished 2nd in 13.5tc behind Doug Lemmons. Any ways I'll se you this comming weekend as I'll be rocking 13.5, WGT, and open modified. Are you going to be there friday night.
Cool dog. I'll be rocking my 13.5 too. After that I plan on runnin people down like MO. Hope to see ya in the show dog. For real do. word.
march to my own is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 06:18 PM   #7057
Tech Fanatic
 
runinonempty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: IN FRONT OF YOU
Posts: 852
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Hi Guys

Can I get some advise on setting up my Tekin rs pro/17.5 V200 (for touring car stock racing)

Track: Medium size, average lap times in 19 sec, medium to long straight with a tightish infield, track surface is asphelt.

Tyres: Rubber

Car: TC5R

And also what FDR would be best too.



Cheers



Steve.
__________________
Xray T4, Tamiya M05 S-Spec
with lots of dust

Last edited by runinonempty; 09-20-2009 at 06:20 PM. Reason: .
runinonempty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 06:21 PM   #7058
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,999
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Pink View Post
You're funny Clint. Yea if we both make the show, you can be my defense shield. Any ways last night I finished 2nd in 13.5tc behind Doug Lemmons. Any ways I'll se you this comming weekend as I'll be rocking 13.5, WGT, and open modified. Are you going to be there friday night.
Not going to practice Friday. I want to practice during actual race times
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 07:50 PM   #7059
Tech Elite
 
B4james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,162
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by runinonempty View Post
Hi Guys

Can I get some advise on setting up my Tekin rs pro/17.5 V200 (for touring car stock racing)

Track: Medium size, average lap times in 19 sec, medium to long straight with a tightish infield, track surface is asphelt.

Tyres: Rubber

Car: TC5R

And also what FDR would be best too.



Cheers



Steve.

Hey Steve,


What track are you running at in Sydney, If it is SMA below is what I would recommend as a starting point.

Motor 0 timing, Timing boost - 30, Turbo - 20 with around a 1 second delay, FDR of 4.0-4.2 to start with. You will obviously need to do a few practice runs and come in to temp check it at about 3-4 minutes. Look at temps of the motor and also see how it feels on the track, you should be able to feel the punch out of the corners but still good speed on the straight.
__________________
Follow me on Facebook - James Ainslie Designs or on Instagram - JA_Designs

*HEI International for Protoform/Proline/Spaz Stix
*Bitty Design Australia for Bodies and Liquid Mask
* Airbrushmegastore.com for all paint and airbrush supplies
B4james is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 08:30 PM   #7060
Tech Master
 
picco007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: TX.
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to picco007 Send a message via Yahoo to picco007
Default Tekin Hotwire and software

Hey guys, I'm hoping you can answer this question. I have been thinking of getting the Tekin RS for 1/12 scale but wanted to know if anyone is using the software on a Macbook with windows xp on it running through VMWare?

thanks in advance.
__________________
EA Motorsports
picco007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 08:30 PM   #7061
Tech Fanatic
 
runinonempty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: IN FRONT OF YOU
Posts: 852
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B4james View Post
Hey Steve,


What track are you running at in Sydney, If it is SMA below is what I would recommend as a starting point.

Motor 0 timing, Timing boost - 30, Turbo - 20 with around a 1 second delay, FDR of 4.0-4.2 to start with. You will obviously need to do a few practice runs and come in to temp check it at about 3-4 minutes. Look at temps of the motor and also see how it feels on the track, you should be able to feel the punch out of the corners but still good speed on the straight.
Thanks for the advise

And yes it is for SMA



Cheers,



Steve
__________________
Xray T4, Tamiya M05 S-Spec
with lots of dust
runinonempty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 08:33 PM   #7062
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Speedo when sitting flashes to the first acceleration led every five seconds. Normal? Lately I have been getting no power all of a sudden. Not the radio as I am on my 2nd system and it's doing the same thing with my newest system as it did with the M11 (now) KO. When it's on (working) it's beautiful.
Isaac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 08:39 PM   #7063
Tech Elite
 
B4james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,162
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by runinonempty View Post
Thanks for the advise

And yes it is for SMA



Cheers,



Steve

No probems, you could probably even max out the turbo boost and bring the delay down to .7 or .8 depending on your temperatures.

The TC5 is not as efficient out of the box as some of the recent tourers so definitely make sure of the temps, I had one in the past and found that the bomber belt in the front and Associated high efficiency belt in the rear helped a fair bit with this.
__________________
Follow me on Facebook - James Ainslie Designs or on Instagram - JA_Designs

*HEI International for Protoform/Proline/Spaz Stix
*Bitty Design Australia for Bodies and Liquid Mask
* Airbrushmegastore.com for all paint and airbrush supplies
B4james is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 08:44 PM   #7064
Tech Regular
 
MaxSp97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Camarino
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by picco007 View Post
Hey guys, I'm hoping you can answer this question. I have been thinking of getting the Tekin RS for 1/12 scale but wanted to know if anyone is using the software on a Macbook with windows xp on it running through VMWare?

thanks in advance.
I used XP with Bootcamp is worked fine, but with VMware is worked. Why don't you setup your windows XP with Bootcamp if your is Intel?
__________________
Calvin. L
JOY IS IMPATIENT...
COTA Home Of The F1 US Grand Prix
MaxSp97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 09:07 PM   #7065
Tech Master
 
picco007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: TX.
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to picco007 Send a message via Yahoo to picco007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxSp97 View Post
I used XP with Bootcamp is worked fine, but with VMware is worked. Why don't you setup your windows XP with Bootcamp if your is Intel?
I already set it up with VMware.....so it does work?

Thanks
__________________
EA Motorsports
picco007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:00 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net