R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-06-2009, 08:35 PM   #6856
Tech Elite
 
DENNIS STORTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Horsham
Posts: 2,400
Trader Rating: 42 (94%+)
Send a message via AIM to DENNIS STORTI
Default

hey randy what do u think will be the speedo setting to start off on these new speed passion motors fpr the 17.5 class at the IIC



and where should i start my gearing at if u have any idea thanks
DENNIS STORTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 08:36 PM   #6857
Tech Master
 
HB Moose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Surf City, USA
Posts: 1,080
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkBrown View Post
I've revised my RS/HotWire document to reflect the changes in firmware version 200.

Other changes:

* Improved explanation of motor timing

* More troubleshooting tips

* Lots of miscellaneous fixes based on feedback.

If you've read the previous version, use the compare function in Word to highlight the changes in this one.

If you donít have Word on your PC you can still read the document by downloading the free reader:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

Please provide feedback via PM rather than cluttering up the thread. Cheers,
Thanks for spending the time
__________________
Bruce "Moose" Riedinger
HB Moose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 09:30 PM   #6858
Tech Addict
 
MarkBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 712
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fastforward View Post
Guys-

I am having trouble with "radio calibration". The speedo will recognize neutral and full throttle, it just won't recognize the brake end point.

I have tried opening up the neutral dead band in the program, radio epa's and even reversed the throttle servo in the radio. Noting works, it won't recognize the throttle end point.

Transmitter is Futaba 3PM 2.4ghz

Suggestions?
Try following the directions in section 9.2 of the doc attached here: http://www.rctech.net/forum/6309929-post6855.html
MarkBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 09:34 PM   #6859
Tech Addict
 
MarkBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 712
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by auzzy_mate View Post
What motor timing is the standard for the Tekin 17.5? What happens if it is changed:

Up 4?

Down 4?

Ben
Try reading sections 8.1 and 8.2 of the doc attached here: http://www.rctech.net/forum/6309929-post6855.html .

Generally, less motor timing is preferred for more technical tracks with hard acceleration from slow corners. More motor timing is preferred for flowing tracks where you carry speed through most of the turns.
MarkBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 10:33 PM   #6860
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Something like this:
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS ESC sensored-17.5handoutsetupiic09.jpg  
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 10:36 PM   #6861
Tech Elite
 
DENNIS STORTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Horsham
Posts: 2,400
Trader Rating: 42 (94%+)
Send a message via AIM to DENNIS STORTI
Default

Cool! Thanks Randy, You will be in Vegas ?
DENNIS STORTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 11:38 PM   #6862
Tech Master
 
pcar951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cow Town
Posts: 1,705
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default RS running 1s lipo

Ive been out of the loop for a few months. Wondering if I can run the RS pro with 1S lipo for 10 & 12 pan? Do I need a booster? What else do I need to know? Sorry to be a PITA but, I don't want to read back 50 pages.

Randy was kind enough to send me V200 recently so, got that covered....
pcar951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 11:44 PM   #6863
Tech Master
 
c-lyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,723
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Hyper Mike was running one tonight in 1/12. I think he's gonna post on KARZ.
c-lyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 12:01 AM   #6864
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 833
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Jim,

As Colin said I ran 1s lipo in my 12R5 tonight using an RS Pro.

I had a Novak booster wired to the +/- post on the speedo and the receiver plug in the receiver and since I hadn't yet upgraded to Ver 200 I DID NOT turn on the ESC but rather turned on the Booster only and everything worked GREAT!

Apparently with version 200 you can run the ESC on and get the benefit of the Lipo cutoff but I was only pulling ~1450 Mah out of my 5000 pack for a 6 minute race so it really isn't much of an issue.

The whole thing really is slick and I'm really looking forward to trying it with Ver. 200.

Cheers,
Mike

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcar951 View Post
Ive been out of the loop for a few months. Wondering if I can run the RS pro with 1S lipo for 10 & 12 pan? Do I need a booster? What else do I need to know? Sorry to be a PITA but, I don't want to read back 50 pages.

Randy was kind enough to send me V200 recently so, got that covered....
__________________
Mike
Hyper_Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 12:05 AM   #6865
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yokemad View Post
Prodriver is an ex UK NAtional Champ
I was thinking to solder my speedpassion esc supercap, is that performe better than the one comes with RS Pro?
I bought my RS Pro 2nd hand and the previous owner kept blowing the std caps.
I had a s[are SP cap and am using it with no issues.
esc never goes above 3 led's

__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 02:04 AM   #6866
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Losi123,

There should be NO cogging with an RS. Have you used the sensor checker feature to verify your getting good sensor input to the speedo?

The RS will not cog in either dual mode or sensored only mode if it's working properly and the sensor harness,etc are in good order.

Something is clearly off with your setup.
Randy, The sEnsor Check is fine , all three leds rotate on and off with mtr rotation

Also the exact same every thing but swap out with different esc, it doesnt do it.
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 11:28 AM   #6867
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Yes I will be in Vegas.

Losi123, are any "trouble" lights displayed on the unit when it's powered up?

What is the setting/software you're using? Can you post a screen shot of your settings?

Describe the cogging a little better for me. Just on start, or does it cog during a run as well?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 11:47 AM   #6868
Tech Champion
 
John Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 8,925
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default ?

Randy U have PM
__________________
www.express-motorsports.net for all your motor needs
Multi time National Champions,Reedy Champs,Vegas Champs,Birds, Champs,[email protected]

Team Associated-Express Motorsports-Trinity-Reflex Racing-A Main Hobbies-ProtekRC
John Tag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 01:18 PM   #6869
Tech Adept
 
amnesia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 119
Default

Can anyone please post up a good close-up pic of how you solder the wires to the solder posts on the RS Pro ?

Do you butt the wire to the post (and hence leave a hole where the slot is) or what ? Not sure the best or most secure way to wire my new speedy up.

Cheers,
Daniel.
__________________
.-= T.O.P. Photon =-.

Titanium Racing (Team TR Driver) / Tekin RS Pro / Novak Ballistic 13.5t / Spektrum

www.titaniumracing.com
amnesia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 03:49 PM   #6870
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Yes I will be in Vegas.

Losi123, are any "trouble" lights displayed on the unit when it's powered up?

What is the setting/software you're using? Can you post a screen shot of your settings?

Describe the cogging a little better for me. Just on start, or does it cog during a run as well?

I dont think there is any error lights, what is normal lights? that way i can tell.

I can try do a screen shot if you want (how do i do it) , but i have tried almost every software version & every different setting of everything (like i mean i have spent hours and hours on this.

it is not major cogging, it is when the trigger is applyed from a standing start slowly, it will make a miss comutation noise from the motor and "Cog" then a little more throtle and it gets started. When i take the sensor cable out totally it is much worse, so the sensor cable must be doing something.

I have also tried all my radio settings , ie: no exp, all epa's to 100 , trim to 0, i have a spektrum dx3.0, no mixxing, default 0% deadband. and then tried re-calibrating esc again, still no joy.

If it matters, My RS Pro staright from the box has the sensor socket/ pcb that it goes to on an angle, like as if when it was made the top cct board or sensor plug has been put on miss aligned, you can see it when looking at the unit compared to the case.

Last edited by LOSI123; 09-07-2009 at 04:00 PM.
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:36 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net