R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2009, 04:46 PM   #6391
Tech Addict
 
Mac The Knife's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Push control would be used if you were running a brushed motor,
Mac The Knife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 04:52 PM   #6392
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by da_John_wee View Post
Thanks

12deg? on my motor? what does Losi or Trinity comes with Zero? thats how I have

what is diffrent bet timing boost amd a turbo boost?
is it timing boost is like advancing timing on the motor and Turbo xtra add on RPM kicks in after set delay?

also what is push control does?

so many question yike!
Yes the Turbo ads extra timing after a delay.

The push control ads some extra roll as you go of the throttle. It does the opposite of drag brake. You can use it also with Brushless but i have never used it.

If the motor is on 0 set your boost on 25 to 30.
I don't now if the motor you use is standard on 0.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 09:54 PM   #6393
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 667
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Randy when is you look alike doll coming. i bet the molders told you that they cant make it cuz your heads to big for your body.
__________________
Speedpassion USA Team Driver
Schumacher USA Team Driver
Lucky 13 rc graphics
Remember this..... Heaven and Hell are really not places, just your state of mind.
JdogL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 03:15 AM   #6394
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 211
Default

High guys going to a track this size can anyone advise settings for v200 ,The outer dimensions of the tarmac surface are 41m x 29m or about 135ft x 95ft

Thanks

Ricky
prodriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 10:56 AM   #6395
Tech Fanatic
 
TimNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys,
I've noticed that there hasn't been much, if any talk about RS setups for 1/12 scale with a 1S/13.5 setup, so I figured I'd post some of my findings in case it might be of use to anyone.

This is on a medium grip, very small/tight/technical carpet track and I run a 12R5 with the Tekin RS (V200), Tekin Redline 13.5 and SMC 4900 40C 1S lipo pack, Novak Smart Boost & 9650 servo.

Initially, I started out pretty conservative with gearing and settings in the RS:
10 boost
12 physical timing
0 drag brake
100 brake
78/46 gearing on 45mm tires (then worked my way up to 75/47 and 30 degrees of total timing by going to "18" on the boost)
0 Turbo
TP: 4

The car was good like this, but lacked a bit on both the top and bottom ends. I played with a bunch of different gearing combos and found 75/47 to be better, but never quite got the feel I wanted.

So last night I made some big changes and got the car pretty darn near perfect on this track. It was almost as if I had put a different speedo and motor in the car:
Full boost
0 physical timing
0 drag brake
100 brake
75/47 gearing on 44mm tires
0 turbo
TP: 4

The car has plenty of bottom end rip now, is great in the midrange, and only lacks a tiny bit on the top end, which I will cure with the turbo feature and/or making a slight change in rollout.

You just can't beat the RS for tunability and performance. In just 2 races back on the rug this year, with the same car and nearly the same setup as I used with 17.5/4 cell, I'm already .2 - .3 per lap better than I was at the end of last season running a competitor's ESC and motor package.

Just thought I'd post all of that in case it might help someone who is new to running the RS 1S/13.5 in 1/12 scale.
__________________
Trinity - Caster Racing USA - Panther Racing

Race Videos: http://www.youtube.com/TrackMasterTim
TimNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 11:35 AM   #6396
Tech Master
 
Danny-b23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 1,336
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hey Randy,

Could you send v200 to [email protected]?
Thanks,

Danny
__________________
RC America|XRAY|ORCA|Motiv|EA Motorsports
Danny Buck
WCICS Rep - Round 1, Saskatoon, SK
Danny-b23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 12:54 PM   #6397
Tech Master
 
TeamCarnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Highland In. USA
Posts: 1,625
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

TimNJ- Thanks for posting that info. I'll put it to use when the weather makes us go inside for the winter. I plan on running that same el. setup in my crc car. I'm looking forward to going lipo. I have to do a little more reseach on getting voltage to the speedo. Either a small rx pack or a booster. what did you do? GoodRacing, NickA
TeamCarnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 01:14 PM   #6398
Tech Master
 
jkirkwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,232
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimNJ View Post

So last night I made some big changes and got the car pretty darn near perfect on this track. It was almost as if I had put a different speedo and motor in the car:
Full boost
0 physical timing
0 drag brake
100 brake
75/47 gearing on 44mm tires
0 turbo
TP: 4
TimNJ, That's the setup I have nearly but with 25 on boost on a Duo 2 13.5/1s Thunder Power 40c, no turbo. My roll out is shorter at 81mm but I run on a 55'x30' track. I think maybe I could go up to a 82-83mm rollout.

TeamCarnage, I use a novak booster because it was easily available.
jkirkwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 03:09 PM   #6399
Tech Fanatic
 
TimNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamCarnage View Post
TimNJ- Thanks for posting that info. I'll put it to use when the weather makes us go inside for the winter. I plan on running that same el. setup in my crc car. I'm looking forward to going lipo. I have to do a little more reseach on getting voltage to the speedo. Either a small rx pack or a booster. what did you do? GoodRacing, NickA
You're welcome. I opted for the Novak Smart Boost. No complaints so far. The servo seems plenty fast enough for my liking and there is no additional pack to charge. To me, it's a win-win.
__________________
Trinity - Caster Racing USA - Panther Racing

Race Videos: http://www.youtube.com/TrackMasterTim
TimNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 03:19 PM   #6400
Tech Fanatic
 
TimNJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkirkwood View Post
TimNJ, That's the setup I have nearly but with 25 on boost on a Duo 2 13.5/1s Thunder Power 40c, no turbo. My roll out is shorter at 81mm but I run on a 55'x30' track. I think maybe I could go up to a 82-83mm rollout.

TeamCarnage, I use a novak booster because it was easily available.
That makes pretty good sense because the track I listed is 60' x 36'. It sounds like we're both very VERY close to where we need to be for our particular tracks.

I'm just thinking out loud, but rRight now, I see 3 options for getting just that tiny bit more on the top end;
1. Turbo
2. Increase rollout just a hair
3 Increase physical timing by a degree or two

I think, for me, the turbo will be the best option since my low end is exactly how I want it right now.

So now a question for the turbo experts: The runline of the longest straight on this small track is approximately 50' - 52' long and begins after a low-speed "S" turn section. It seems that I'm hitting full speed by the 1/3 - 1/2 way mark down the straight. There are 2 other shorter straight sections where I hit full throttle but only for maybe a second at most. My question is, approximately how much turbo should I try and how long/short of a delay should I try? Bear in mind that I'm only looking for a little more top end, not a whole lot.
__________________
Trinity - Caster Racing USA - Panther Racing

Race Videos: http://www.youtube.com/TrackMasterTim
TimNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 04:46 PM   #6401
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,041
Default

0.5 delay, max turbo.
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 05:05 PM   #6402
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

+1
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 05:55 PM   #6403
Tech Master
 
Danny-b23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 1,336
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Never mind.
__________________
RC America|XRAY|ORCA|Motiv|EA Motorsports
Danny Buck
WCICS Rep - Round 1, Saskatoon, SK

Last edited by Danny-b23; 08-22-2009 at 05:58 PM. Reason: Some days I wonder how I remember to breathe.
Danny-b23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 06:44 PM   #6404
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scott City, MO
Posts: 105
Default

Just thought that I would post a little bragging rights for all of us RS/RS Pro users.

I put my Cyclone S up against a TC3 and completely drove off from him doing a little parking lot drag racing. My car has a RS Pro (v200 with Randy's recommended starting point)/Redline 13.5 powered with a SMC 5200 24c 2s lipo and geared at 6.58 fdr, his is equipt with a mamba max ESC and 4600kv motor powered by a 3300 ni-mh 6 cell (he doesn't know the gearing).

We both lined up the nose of our cars with a seam in the lot. Then when he said go, my car just took off. By the time the back of his cars body passed the seam mine already had a cars length between them. By the third seam, there was about a 20 foot gap between the cars.

Needless to say, I was very impressed with the RS Pro/Redline performance.
Fllyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 10:52 PM   #6405
Tech Elite
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

my tekin comes off the track @ 140 F after 6 minute qual, the ambient
air is 87 F. What's wrong? or is that normal?
__________________
Hotbodies USA
SweepRacing USA
SammyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:55 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net