R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-16-2009, 12:19 PM   #6121
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

@ cosworth
Did you notice any difference between the 13mm and the standard 12.5mm rotor?

I am looking towards the 12.3mm myself because i drive on big tracks and need all the rpm's i can get but i am getting confused as it says on the website that the 12.3mm is stock legal rotor. So does the 10.5t redline motor come with a 12.5mm or 12.3mm rotor? ( i thought it came with 12.5mm)
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 01:32 PM   #6122
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2wdrive View Post
@ cosworth
Did you notice any difference between the 13mm and the standard 12.5mm rotor?

I am looking towards the 12.3mm myself because i drive on big tracks and need all the rpm's i can get but i am getting confused as it says on the website that the 12.3mm is stock legal rotor. So does the 10.5t redline motor come with a 12.5mm or 12.3mm rotor? ( i thought it came with 12.5mm)
It comes with a 12.5mm rotor. I use a 13mm rotor because the track i race at is relativley small so i want as mush punch and torque as possible because alot of the track it is piont and squirt. I did notice a difference. The 13mm rotor gets to it's top RPM quicker than the 12.5mm rotor. The longer the track, the smaller the rotor. The shorter the track, the bigger the rotor. That's what i do but other racers may be different.
RSCosworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 01:34 PM   #6123
Tech Elite
 
twelvegauge's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: sycamore il
Posts: 2,547
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to twelvegauge Send a message via MSN to twelvegauge
Default

I was sent the nwe v200 software for the tekin and I am still having problems getting it to download on my laptop it is a toshiba with windows vista 32bit does anyone else have this problem or is it me or my laptop? It worked fine on my desktop dell with windows xp it is driving me crazy I can only set my car up at home and hope someone else has one at the track.
twelvegauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 01:53 PM   #6124
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RSCosworth View Post
It comes with a 12.5mm rotor. I use a 13mm rotor because the track i race at is relativley small so i want as mush punch and torque as possible because alot of the track it is piont and squirt. I did notice a difference. The 13mm rotor gets to it's top RPM quicker than the 12.5mm rotor. The longer the track, the smaller the rotor. The shorter the track, the bigger the rotor. That's what i do but other racers may be different.
Thanks!
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 02:19 PM   #6125
Tech Addict
 
Mac The Knife's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twelvegauge View Post
I was sent the nwe v200 software for the tekin and I am still having problems getting it to download on my laptop it is a toshiba with windows vista 32bit does anyone else have this problem or is it me or my laptop? It worked fine on my desktop dell with windows xp it is driving me crazy I can only set my car up at home and hope someone else has one at the track.
If yu had the Hotwire program on your laptop, you do need to remove the old version per Randy's video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tTp3tUL9u8Y.
Mac The Knife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 04:43 PM   #6126
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Okay, talked to another racer today who is experiencing the same thing with brakes. And I conclude that for some reason Drag Brake setting is more like Brake Strength setting instead of an actual Drag Brake setting.

Example:
I was running a oneway, and wanted to take off my drag brakes or minimize it. So I brought it down to like 10. When I did this, I lost all my trigger brake. My car would just coast right into the wall if I tried to come to a stop using my trigger brake. So I would turn up my drag brake to 25. Now I had trigger brake, but it was weak. (This is all with 100% brake strength.) The more you turned up the drag brake setting, the stronger and stronger your trigger brake became. So drag brake setting was acting like brake strength setting. Setting drag brake setting didn't really have a huge factor in actual drag braking of the car. Kind of weird. This is the finding of another or runs a Novak 17.5.

I used to run 50-60 on my drag brake and didn't worry too much about trigger brake. It seemed strong enough in the past. But now that I cut down on drag brake setting, my trigger brake is suffering. I think that's another reason why Tag has huge brakes on his car, he has tons of drag brake setting programed in.

So if anyone is experiencing weak brakes, turn up your drag brake to 60-70 and try again. See if that works.

Another note, about turbo delay..... when does this setting actually kick in? Say, if I set it to 0.5delay, does it kick in half a second from the time I go full throttle on the trigger? Or does it kick in half a second from a preset rpm or when your car hits top rpm? My experience is the latter. But this is a question from many locals.

Thanks for any input.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 04:55 PM   #6127
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The delay timer on Turbo starts as soon as you get full throttle. So, once you hit wide open there is a delay (0.5 sec) and then the timing starts to ramp up.

At full turbo it takes a full second to completely ramp up the timing to max. That's probably the extra delay you're seeing.
Fred_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 04:59 PM   #6128
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred_B View Post
The delay timer on Turbo starts as soon as you get full throttle. So, once you hit wide open there is a delay (0.5 sec) and then the timing starts to ramp up.

At full turbo it takes a full second to completely ramp up the timing to max. That's probably the extra delay you're seeing.
As soon as I get full throttle on the trigger? Or full throttle on the straight?
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 05:04 PM   #6129
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Full throttle on the trigger. Turbo won't care where you're at on the track it's going to start ramping up a half second after you get to the full trigger. Or whatever value you set.
Fred_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 05:24 PM   #6130
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Well if it's full throttle on the trigger, that's not what we are experiencing. Seems like it kicks in 0.5 after top end is reached on the straight. I think I'll go back to 199-2. I'll play with it more in detail next weekend.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 05:33 PM   #6131
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyMac View Post
Well if it's full throttle on the trigger, that's not what we are experiencing. Seems like it kicks in 0.5 after top end is reached on the straight. I think I'll go back to 199-2. I'll play with it more in detail next weekend.
If it's kicking in too late try more boost and less turbo. Some tracks and classes just need a little tweaking to get things sorted out.
Fred_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 06:29 PM   #6132
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred_B View Post
If it's kicking in too late try more boost and less turbo. Some tracks and classes just need a little tweaking to get things sorted out.
I had to tune a little differently that I thought I would too. In 13.5 1/12 the boost was coming in a little late for me. I rolled the Turbo back to 10-deg from Max, and Boost up to 15-deg from 10-deg, with a base motor timing of 10-deg.
kn7671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 06:35 PM   #6133
Tech Elite
 
twelvegauge's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: sycamore il
Posts: 2,547
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to twelvegauge Send a message via MSN to twelvegauge
Default tekin rs esc help

I got the you tube video but I dont have the file icon on my screen and dont know how to do it so I can change the format. what part of the program do you need to create a shortcut for to access this. Yes I suck with cpu's
twelvegauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 06:37 PM   #6134
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,041
Default

JimmyMac: Have you tried different motors? I'm on Speedpassion and could burst the belts with the brakes I have on V200.

And guys, I believe that Tekin designed the Turbo function to compensate for the speed loss on the straights if we were to tweak the esc only for infield performance. Put this in your head and you'll find it much easier to get max performance out of the RS.
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 06:44 PM   #6135
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 140
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default 200 software

Twelvegauge,

You have a PM

Robert
robert s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:47 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net