R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-14-2009, 11:29 AM   #6061
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

Is v200 on the Tekin website?
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 11:46 AM   #6062
Tech Apprentice
 
kenny myers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
If you had an older version of the hotwire software installed on your computer, simply go to your control panel, add/remove programs, and uninstall the Tekin software there. Reboot for good measure... and then install a fresh copy of 200. Vuala.
So finally was able to get v200 on my speedy thank you for your help,I haven't had a chance to try it yet but I'm sure It will be kick ass
kenny myers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 11:49 AM   #6063
Tech Apprentice
 
kenny myers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by liljohn1064 View Post
Yes, via Add Remove programs. I had to remove 3.25 to install 3.30 last night. Remember V200 is the ESC firmware version, the desktop app has a different revision number.
Thank you for your help with the v200 software I finally got it to work
kenny myers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 12:10 PM   #6064
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 667
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecatts View Post
Hi all....after waiting very patiently for the "v200"........et as per instructions...Im no dummy...And guess what guys...no bakes.....what a joke.......the SPX is heaps better in the brakes...and so is the KO.even the "cheap" 30amp esc out brakes these joke items...so what gives?
I have3 RS Pro's...going cheap..1 still in new-unopened packet..
Pm me..
as you can see..I have given up...
Mike
mike it sounds like this is not a tekin thing but more a user error. you are the only on here that complains of this problem. if this is not a programming thing then its definatly a driver thing. maybe try driving your driving style!!! maybe its they way the track is laid out!!!
__________________
Speedpassion USA Team Driver
Schumacher USA Team Driver
Lucky 13 rc graphics
Remember this..... Heaven and Hell are really not places, just your state of mind.
JdogL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 12:19 PM   #6065
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,039
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikecatts View Post
I have..
Cheap RS pro's
How cheap? I'll take them all. RS Pro is simply awesome. No issues with brakes for me. Nice and strong.

Randy, is it normal for the esc to disable the turbo when the temps reach 3 led's (about 50+ deg C on the posts)?

My setup was on a medium sized track, with about an 80 foot straight with sweepers before and after. I was running SP 11.5T, stock timing, 25 boost and max turbo. FDR was 5.8 with 63mm rubber. This gave me good infield and speed on the straights but the turbo dissapears after about 2 minutes of driving. From what I understand, anything above 10.5T will not require any fans for the esc. Ambient was 28 deg C, motor was cool at about 50+ deg C. I wouldn't want to lower timing boost as this will take away the infield performance and also cause slow approach to the straight. Btw, an adjustable turbo delay to 0 and 'ramp up' time feature would be excellent! I have so much traction amd having 'istant turbo' will be super..
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 12:49 PM   #6066
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyanyde View Post
How cheap? I'll take them all. RS Pro is simply awesome. No issues with brakes for me. Nice and strong.

Randy, is it normal for the esc to disable the turbo when the temps reach 3 led's (about 50+ deg C on the posts)?

My setup was on a medium sized track, with about an 80 foot straight with sweepers before and after. I was running SP 11.5T, stock timing, 25 boost and max turbo. FDR was 5.8 with 63mm rubber. This gave me good infield and speed on the straights but the turbo dissapears after about 2 minutes of driving. From what I understand, anything above 10.5T will not require any fans for the esc. Ambient was 28 deg C, motor was cool at about 50+ deg C. I wouldn't want to lower timing boost as this will take away the infield performance and also cause slow approach to the straight. Btw, an adjustable turbo delay to 0 and 'ramp up' time feature would be excellent! I have so much traction amd having 'istant turbo' will be super..
I thought when you decrease your timing boost, you achieve better torque - which is ideal for the infield speed . If you are worried about your infield, then shouldn't lowering your timing boost be more logical thing to do? Consequently, when you lower your timing boost down .... you hit your peak rpm faster .. then turbo kicks in earlier.

Am I getting this correct?
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 02:18 PM   #6067
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryN View Post
It's the entire rear end with the plastic cap. I almost crapped my pants when I saw it. I do not know how it happened. We don't have any barriers setup on our track yet and all I was doing was going up and down, testing the turbo out. It wasn't until the 4th time down, I heard a wierd sound, sort of the same sound you hear when a pebble gets caught in between the spur and pinion. I pick up the car, look around, and notice the back part of the motor was dislodged!!! It wasn't fully off, but it was dislodged. I pushed it back in and the motor sounded fine. After a few more runs, the sound came back and it was the same issue!!

Is the motor gone? I sure hope not, we have our first major race coming at the end of August. I love this motor to death!!
No it should be ok. Take it all part. Clean the portion that slides into the rest of the can. Take a few drops of CA glue and jam it all back together. Let it sit for 24 hrs and run it. Make sure the bearings all spin free.

It's not common but usually occurs whit a hotter than average motor getting whacked.


The turbo feature doesn't get affected by esc temp. Re calibrate your esc to the radio. Make sure you're epa's are set properly. What radio is this? 199 or 200? You need to be sure...
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 02:28 PM   #6068
Tech Master
 
over gear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,096
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

is it possible to set zero timing delay on the turbo? the lowest i could go is 0.5sec
over gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 02:39 PM   #6069
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,850
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by over gear View Post
is it possible to set zero timing delay on the turbo? the lowest i could go is 0.5sec
You answered your own question. .5 delay is the lowest it can go. If you want 0 delay, just turn the timing advance up to the desired level and don't use turbo.
__________________
Serpent SRX8 electric
Serpent Cobra 811TE-E
Serpent S120LTR 17.5 1/12th and S100LTR Pro-10
Serpent S411 Eryx 4.0 USGT
Team Serpent America and Desoto Racing
Stealth_RT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 03:40 PM   #6070
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyanyde View Post
How cheap? I'll take them all. RS Pro is simply awesome. No issues with brakes for me. Nice and strong.

Randy, is it normal for the esc to disable the turbo when the temps reach 3 led's (about 50+ deg C on the posts)?

My setup was on a medium sized track, with about an 80 foot straight with sweepers before and after. I was running SP 11.5T, stock timing, 25 boost and max turbo. FDR was 5.8 with 63mm rubber. This gave me good infield and speed on the straights but the turbo dissapears after about 2 minutes of driving. From what I understand, anything above 10.5T will not require any fans for the esc. Ambient was 28 deg C, motor was cool at about 50+ deg C. I wouldn't want to lower timing boost as this will take away the infield performance and also cause slow approach to the straight. Btw, an adjustable turbo delay to 0 and 'ramp up' time feature would be excellent! I have so much traction amd having 'istant turbo' will be super..
I think that the FDR is too high at 5.8 on an 11.5T, some of the "Turbo setups " the guys are posting on here have 13.5T on about 5.7 FDR. I would think you need to gear down to around the 6.0 to 6.2 for the 11.5T
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 04:00 PM   #6071
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skitee View Post
I think that the FDR is too high at 5.8 on an 11.5T, some of the "Turbo setups " the guys are posting on here have 13.5T on about 5.7 FDR. I would think you need to gear down to around the 6.0 to 6.2 for the 11.5T
I run 6,3FDR on a large track. This is with a Tekin Redline.
With a LRP I'm heavier and with a Speedpassion I'm on 5,4FDR.

On my home track I have 6,87FDR Tekin motor.
5,5FDR LRP and 5.0 Speedpassion.
I run also with my Tekin on 5,5FDR but than I use a lower boost and 0 on the motor.

It depends on the motor, Track, Boost and motor timing you use or are what FDR you need.

I will post some of my setups on the Tekin setup topic.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 06:36 PM   #6072
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,039
Default

Yeah, speed passion motors seem to work better with heavier ratios. I tried 6.2, which was very slow even with max turbo. But turning up timing boost and turbo to max gives back the speed but I'm not comfy with such high revving.

bukil, I started off with timing boost 10. Good initial take off but when combined with max turbo it wasnt fast. I noticed that turbo slowly adds up to 10 degrees of timing on the straigths. I could go with 10 boost but had to gear with a lower fdr, even lower than the same motor with speedpassion gt 2.0 esc to get the same top speed.

Randy, i'm on 200 and sanwa/airtronics MX3 FG. I can try recalibrating but I doubt this is the issue. Whenever I lose turbo, the esc shows 3 leds temps. I waited till it went down to 2 leds and turbo was on again. All without turning off the car or radio.
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 07:01 PM   #6073
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

The temp has NO affect on the turbo, period.

I'd like check your RS when this occurs: When you lose your turbo bring the car over where you can CLEARLY see the led tree. Hit full throttle, you should see ALL the led's flash, not just turn on but FLASH.

If this doesn't occur your calibration is off. You've got two options, recalibrate or calibrate with your epa's set at 95, then go up to 100 on the throttle side to over do the high point setting.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 07:31 PM   #6074
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

stupid question but

would there be any harm in using....
0 motor timing
max timing boost
max turbo?

fdr up 1.0 compared to usual
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 07:42 PM   #6075
Tech Elite
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker View Post
stupid question but

would there be any harm in using....
0 motor timing
max timing boost
max turbo?

fdr up 1.0 compared to usual
just tried it, and its good, just hope the motor will last half a season
hacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:11 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net